His piece goes....
''Exposing An Industry Through A Greeting Ignored
Iyabo Ojo’s star-studded premiere of The Return of Arinze exposed the ugly side of “make-believers,” one they couldn’t keep private but instead put on display for the world to see.
The optics beamed to the whole world were not pretty when Toyin Abraham was ignored by her elder colleague, Funke Akindele, as she walked up to her table to greet her. Toyin, bending slightly and tapping Funke before saying, “Aunty Funke, e kaasan ma” (Good afternoon, ma), showed a sign of genuine Yoruba respect—clear, polite, public, and humble.
Funke’s response? Shock and disbelief among lovers of the trade. Absolute silence, an extremely cold and deliberate look-away. There was no nod, no smile, no acknowledgment whatsoever—just a plain, expressionless face in a room full of witnesses and video recordings, including phones. Funke chose to publicly snub one of her own.
Interestingly, for some time now, I have been thinking that this may just be a well-rehearsed stunt to sell the movie The Return of Arinze. I don’t know why this thought keeps playing a loud song in my head that It may be a way to help the producer generate the necessary buzz for the new movie. And did it succeed in getting the buzz?
Well, this is just my brain doing the arithmetic it is meant to do anyway. However, if the picture I have painted is not in any way close to reality, then Funke’s act that night was simply classless and all shades of wrong, something that shouldn’t be associated with her person.
If Funke thought she rubbished Toyin, who came with an olive branch that night even if there was any issue, she definitely did not. In fact, she succeeded in humiliating Iyabo Ojo, the host,who sat next to her in front of the entire Nollywood family and the internet.
The action wasn’t just a “private disgrace” moment; it was a calculated public dismissal. And for what? Past movie rivalries? Box-office tension from Everybody Loves Jenifa versus Alakada and their latest flicks? Old issues many thought had been buried? Whatever the backstory, there is no justification for treating a fellow actress—a mother, a content creator, and a box-office force in her own right like she doesn’t exist.
Toyin’s reaction after the incident? Pure class. She simply unfollowed Funke on Instagram and dropped the now-viral line that says it all: “I have unfollowed her. God forbid bad thing. If I ever greet her again, that means I am a bastard.” No long epistle. No dragging. Just a quiet boundary drawn with dignity. That’s not pettiness; that’s self-respect.
Funke Akindele built her empire on strong, ever charming compassionate characters, but in real life, that moment showed a different side of her, one that seems to give her the right to treat others with disdain.
What Funke should know is that Toyin’s mission at the premiere was achieved despite being badly bruised, because she left with her head high, her brand intact, and the entire internet community seeing that she showed up as the bigger person.
Nollywood can keep preaching peace and unity on the red carpet, but actions like this expose the truth. While some are busy building themselves to be better in the industry, others are busy guarding fragile egos that won’t add a dime to their bank accounts.
Already, many are trying to mend the collapsed bridge between them, and soon—maybe soon—the so-called elusive peace in Nollywood will find its way home again.
This is still Kunle Rasheed reporting LIVE from his Inner''
Since the advent of the social media order in Nigeria today, it has been a case of one trouble per minute, with new issues developing just when the dust of another is yet to settle. This was the same case with Funke Akindele and Toyin Abraham, which quickly submerged the then-trending issue of Baba Ijesha and Biola Adebayo.
One thing you can’t take away from the scintillating world of Nollywood is that there will always be a war of egos among practitioners, a war that seems to be getting louder by the day than the movies themselves.
Iyabo Ojo’s star-studded premiere of The Return of Arinze exposed the ugly side of “make-believers,” one they couldn’t keep private but instead put on display for the world to see.
The optics beamed to the whole world were not pretty when Toyin Abraham was ignored by her elder colleague, Funke Akindele, as she walked up to her table to greet her. Toyin, bending slightly and tapping Funke before saying, “Aunty Funke, e kaasan ma” (Good afternoon, ma), showed a sign of genuine Yoruba respect—clear, polite, public, and humble.
Funke’s response? Shock and disbelief among lovers of the trade. Absolute silence, an extremely cold and deliberate look-away. There was no nod, no smile, no acknowledgment whatsoever—just a plain, expressionless face in a room full of witnesses and video recordings, including phones. Funke chose to publicly snub one of her own.
Interestingly, for some time now, I have been thinking that this may just be a well-rehearsed stunt to sell the movie The Return of Arinze. I don’t know why this thought keeps playing a loud song in my head that It may be a way to help the producer generate the necessary buzz for the new movie. And did it succeed in getting the buzz?
The answer is obvious for all to see. There is no way that you’ll talk about the beef without talking about The Return of Arinze, just as I’m doing right now. It reminds me of how, in the music industry, fake beef is sometimes created to sell an upcoming album or albums.
Well, this is just my brain doing the arithmetic it is meant to do anyway. However, if the picture I have painted is not in any way close to reality, then Funke’s act that night was simply classless and all shades of wrong, something that shouldn’t be associated with her person.
Now, if I may ask: ki lo wa ninu kiiki gan gan? (What’s exactly in greeting?) Why can’t she pretend for the cameras that wouldn’t have taken two seconds of her time to have peace?
If Funke thought she rubbished Toyin, who came with an olive branch that night even if there was any issue, she definitely did not. In fact, she succeeded in humiliating Iyabo Ojo, the host,who sat next to her in front of the entire Nollywood family and the internet.
The action wasn’t just a “private disgrace” moment; it was a calculated public dismissal. And for what? Past movie rivalries? Box-office tension from Everybody Loves Jenifa versus Alakada and their latest flicks? Old issues many thought had been buried? Whatever the backstory, there is no justification for treating a fellow actress—a mother, a content creator, and a box-office force in her own right like she doesn’t exist.
Toyin’s reaction after the incident? Pure class. She simply unfollowed Funke on Instagram and dropped the now-viral line that says it all: “I have unfollowed her. God forbid bad thing. If I ever greet her again, that means I am a bastard.” No long epistle. No dragging. Just a quiet boundary drawn with dignity. That’s not pettiness; that’s self-respect.
Funke Akindele built her empire on strong, ever charming compassionate characters, but in real life, that moment showed a different side of her, one that seems to give her the right to treat others with disdain.
What Funke should know is that Toyin’s mission at the premiere was achieved despite being badly bruised, because she left with her head high, her brand intact, and the entire internet community seeing that she showed up as the bigger person.
Nollywood can keep preaching peace and unity on the red carpet, but actions like this expose the truth. While some are busy building themselves to be better in the industry, others are busy guarding fragile egos that won’t add a dime to their bank accounts.
Already, many are trying to mend the collapsed bridge between them, and soon—maybe soon—the so-called elusive peace in Nollywood will find its way home again.
This is still Kunle Rasheed reporting LIVE from his Inner''

It's not only in Nollywood. Entertainment industry worldwide is the same. The only difference here,is that many of them are crude and don't know basic etiquette. 🙄🙄🙄
ReplyDeleteKunle do you have anything against Funke, your piece is too one sided??
ReplyDeleteWell I love Toyin ati Funke but thier beef will not stop me from eating my mother's food this blessed Easter
In Anita's ex Mrs. Fish handwriting, "Shallom and kpichikom"
"The one of her own" that likes to do too much, that shaded Funke. Abeg he should getat. Funke won't kuku respond to this nonsense.
ReplyDeleteThe only classless one I saw there was Toyin,you shade her all the time,why come to pretend when you saw her?See her mouth like Aunty Funke,aunty tiwa gi onu there.I like Funke,no time for pretense at all.That Toyin's post about unfollowing her was also as classless as her initial pretence,you unfollowed someone who didn't even acknowledge your presence,why did you feel that you need to tell us.People should keep running on emotions;I stan,restan and pakistan Funke
ReplyDeleteThat one that likes to manipulate Funke! I’m glad Funke decided to bullshit her yeye eye service! Let the whole world know where they all stand!
DeleteSimple,I love it
DeleteIn opinion , all these is just publicity stunts for their movie and for people to keep talking about them.
ReplyDeleteThis piece is so one sided. Well, I love the two women and I hope they squash this their long time beef/rivalry.
ReplyDeleteOld aunties misbehaving
ReplyDeleteIt's even possible this piece was sponsored by .....
ReplyDeleteYou gerit!
DeleteOponu Ode! Half of them won’t greet who they have beef with but because of camera, you are claiming someone maintaining her stance in a beef is wrong!
ReplyDeleteThank God una hate didn’t do anything to ruin her! Go and look at how BTS is doing on Netflix to confirm!