Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC Arrests Nigerian Musician Naira Marley .....

Friday, May 10, 2019

EFCC Arrests Nigerian Musician Naira Marley .....

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has arrested Nigerian musician, Naira Marley, real name Afeez Fashola.

The fast-rising singer is currently being questioned at the EFFC office in Lagos.

Although the reason behind his arrest is yet to be made public, it might be in connection with his statements on social media which glorifies internet fraudsters, popularly called Yahoo boys.

The EFCC spokesperson could not be reached early on Friday, but a top source at the agency confirmed the arrest to PREMIUM TIMES.

Perhaps coincidentally, Naira Marley released the official video of his hit track, ‘Am I A Yahoo Boy’ featuring Zlatan on Thursday

Naira Marley during a recent Instagram live session, urged Nigerians to pray for internet fraudsters (Yahoo boys) saying they are the reason money circulates to the common man.

He said: “All you guys, all the money in your pockets, all the money you spend, you think it’s the government that is making the money go round?”

The video has since stirred reactions from Nigerians who described Marley as a disgrace and bad example to young Nigerians.
However, a few Nigerians supported Marley, staying that Yahoo boys were the reason some Nigerians can eat and survive.

The singer is popular for his 2017 hit song titled ’It’s a goal.’

from premium times

23 comments:

1. Very very good.

I really can't believe the way celebrities are coming out boldly to support and defend yahoo boys.

Like the boldness is seriously shocking me.

Simi, stay strong baby.

1. & the CBN governor who stole $2.5billon has been given another 4 years in office to steal more.. U are fooled by the governments mirror moves & consumed with spite for these inferior individuals called yahoo boys. what do u think happens to money collected from these guys? They are using it to develop Nigeria abi? Or develop their personal pockets(major extortion racketeering going on). That 2.5billion DOLLARS was for the poor masses & to make YOUR miserable life better.. Keep on thinking the ant stealing sugar that is not yours is YOUR problem, while the blood thirsty lion is left free to feast on you and the ants together. They should go & pick up CBN governor, tinubu ,ameachi & co Then we will know efcc are working for the interest of the average Nigerian & they should be transparent about what they do with seized money after. Nobody is saying that they should not put an end to internet fraud.

2. For supporting yahoo yahoo.oti ge

3. E reach to arrest am. He too talk

4. He had it coming. Such an ugly looking young man with a rotten e-attitude. And yeah, I did not create him so I shouldn't have typed this. Sorry in advance.

5. World cup was last year, so I think the song was released last year.

6. Wonderful development. A lot of entertainers are into Yahoo, good for him. #EradicateImternetFraud

7. Effc should focus on the politicians eating our monies and leave the poor musician that wants to trend so that his career can grow....next news pls

1. Fair enough. Effc can focus on politicians eating out money while EFCC focus on yahoo boys. Problem solved.
      AJ (ID coming soon)

2. Is that how to grow a career? Making young people think its okay to rob people of their sweat

8. In as much as i have no problem with his arrest.my only issue with the hypocritical EFCC is,why can’t they channel the same energy to our politicians who loot money here and there? Seriously it’s so annoying! Failed country,stupid system!

9. Replies
    1. I don't get it too. Supporting crime naija youth, tell me how other countries, would regard you guys? Stealing someone's sweat 😥.. Smh

10. #FREENAIRAMARLEY

11. Make una calm down efcc did not arrest him..is for promotion of his new single...Am I a Yahoo boy

Simi me see trouble

1. Yeah he wasn't arrested. He suddenly doesn't have bed in his house that Effc had to offer him one in their station

12. The boy is just everywhere like a heat rash with his Yahoo gospel. Let his yahoo disciples get him a lawyer. Shebi he was insulting Ruggedman who cautioned him; said Ruggedy's career was dead. I don't know who told him he has a career yet whether dead or alive. Yeye boy with his face like what I don't know.

13. Just as his statement is wrong, this is wrong too. How can they arrest someone because of what he has said. You know how many times politicians have talked recklessly, artistes talk recklessly and even bloggers sef. Some people glorify young women dating old men and taking their money. Something you can actually go to jail for because the old man might be doing things under your influence because he doesn’t know what he is doing as an old man. Google up and see how many girls have been jailed because of doing this. Did anyone arrest people that glorify it but not actually do it?

This is why naija will never grow. Brands should have just stayed away from him as a punishment but not that you will arrest him. What nonsense

14. About time! Bloody Nuisance. My 20k that developed wings from my account then as a corp member still hurts. Bloody thieves.