Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Relationship Between Relaxers And Fibroid In Black Women Identified.

Thursday, June 06, 2019

Relationship Between Relaxers And Fibroid In Black Women Identified.

The use of chemical hair relaxers may be the cause of the high incidence of fibroid in black women or women of African ancestry.

According to a study published in the American Journal of Epidemiology, the potentially harmful chemical exposure from hair relaxers is linked to the incidence of uterine fibroid in women and early puberty in young girls in the Black population.

Uterine fibroid, also known as uterine leiomyomata, is a benign tumor that grows on the walls of the uterus of an affected woman. It is most common in women of African descent and in women who have not given birth between the ages of 30 and 45 years old.

In more recent times, though, women much younger than 30 have been diagnosed with fibroid.

The study, which was led by Dr. Lauren Wise of Boston University’s Slone Epidemiology Center, tracked the lives of more than 23,000 pre-menopausal Black American women from 1997 to 2009.

The study points out that a significant majority of African-American women who were diagnosed with uterine fibroid also admitted to using chemical relaxer treatments on their hair at some point.

Researchers say chemical hair relaxers products may contain hormonally active chemicals, like parabens and phthalates which according to them have been known to cause harmful estrogenic effects on the cells of animals.

The researchers also found that women who got their first menstrual period before the age of 10 were also more likely to have uterine fibroids.

In a sample that included African, Caribbean, Hispanic, and White women, the average age of a woman’s first menstrual period varied anywhere from age 8 to age 19, but in African-American women, who were more likely to use chemical hair relaxers, the onset of menstruation came at a much earlier age.

While the study stayed clear of making any assertions, many have pointed out that the activities of the cosmetic industry, including the ingredients of chemical hair relaxers, are not regulated by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

The report points out that laboratory analysis of the ingredients of chemical hair relaxers showed that the active ingredient in “lye” relaxers is sodium hydroxide, which is potentially harmful to body tissues and can cause dermatitis, lesions, hair loss, chemical burns, and skin irritation. In addition, hair relaxers are known to contain hormonally active compounds, such as parabens and phthalates.

The study also suggested that some of the chemicals in hair relaxers, including phthalates which can be absorbed by the skin through lesions or “relaxer burns,” have been shown to have harmful estrogenic effects on the cells of experimental animals.
(Culled from www.face2faceafrica.com)

63 comments:

1. Jeeezzz omg...I am ditching relaxer straight away. Thanks for sharing this Stella.

1. Heard about this several years back. Some are even saying causes cancer as well.

2. I say ehn, Ever since I ditched relaxers and went natural, my periods have been bearable except during months when I eat junk food(ijekuje) and not enough vegetables.

I just have to be patient and let my natural grow to the point where I can put it in a bun. Until then, cornrows and hats/caps are part of my weekly regimen.

3. Okay i don hear. Though am team natural now.

4. This is the reason many black women abroad are now keeping their natural hair but women back home think it's just for fashion and they joined the trend, lol.

5. This is not news. Everyone who reads should have read the many researches point to the prevalence of UF in black women and the role hair relaxers. But it is also caused by estrogenic substances like Maggi which has soy, soy sauce etc beans, and many thinks we eat the makes it worse. Eating certain non estrogenic fruits and veggies etc is a good way to manage the growth of fibroids. Also, not carrying your stress inwards can help as well. Be happy, exercise and drink plenty of water and stay positive. Have natural hair, embrace it or use wigs so to avoid relaxers. Almost all women have UF, but it grows faster and bigger in some women. Latin women have it too a lot. Stay fit and carry on!

2. I thinj it is safer to use texturizer than relaxer abi na still the same thing....

1. I think relaxer is stronger oh, kai and some people relax their hair every 2 months.

2. Relaxers and texturizer have the same chemical content sodium hydoxide(lye) or potassium hydroxide. They are technically the same thing. Just stop using it altogether if you are afraid of the consequences. I have been using relaxers for 30 years. I stopped 2 years ago, I don’t have fibroid neither does anyone in my family.

3. I was discussing the same topic with my stylist and my friends yesterday. I only retouch my hair twice a year. No matter the pains I will massage it with dark and lovely moisturizer and braid it or make all back cornrow. That movement called naturalista started bcos of this fibroid wahala.

3. Wow..... Do we all have to go natural????
    And if I don't relax after 4months I start having headaches.

1. My hair is the same way (You probably have 4c hair type like me)but I went natural last year. Thej headaches stop after a while.

You can do it!

2. I use canto deepconditioning masque to tangle every 2 weeks. and I never touch my hair for anything unless its wet. also canto leave in conditioner every other day with shea butter and coconut oil. my hair is so soft and easy to manage.i ve been natural for 5 yrs

3. If you know what to do, natural hair can be very easy to manage.

4. Something must surely kill a man.No be relaxer go kill me.
    This TCB relaxer👹👹 showed me shege sha!I won't advise my enemy to use any of their products.
    I only Dark n lovely hair relaxer and it's good for my hair.

1. I USED TO CRY WHILE RELAXING WITH TCB

2. 😂😂😂😂 sorry @ pinklady.

5. men that use relaxer where will there own fibroid grow?

1. Fibroid has been linked with Oestrogen and men don't have it.

6. Good I don't know what brought about this deadly tumor called fibroid.

I had fibroid removed on 27th may, I started bleeding after the surgery, the following day the bleeding stopped was very happy. The next day evening the bleeding started, they had to put pad inside my v to allow the utrus tight. The bleeding was coming that I was rushed back to te theater for second operation, thank God they didn't open me up. Before it was noticed that it was my menstrual cycle, I was discharged on 1st the bleeding gradually stopped.

I went for check up on Tuesday, the plaster was removed. Since Tuesday I have been n pains, the bleeding has started again,I have appointment with the doctor this Saturday, I am having pains small small. Who has been through this and how did you overcome it, should just relax and watch or I should e worried, I told the doctor n Tuesday the bleeding as stopped now the bleeding has started. I don't wish my enemy to go through his deadly tumor.

1. Sorry Dear wish you Heavenly Gracious Healing..

2. Haaaaaa..... Why the bleeding
      Please go back to the hospital. Don't relax and watch anything oo

3. Oh my God, so sorry for your pains..
      I pray healing to every part of your body 🙏🏾🙏🏾🙏🏾

I read is rampant among African and Phillipines women. But somethings people eat or apply to their body usually gives it strength to grow.

May healing be restore to all those suffering from fibriods.

4. Sorry,my mum never experienced that bleeding because she has reached her menopause then and her womb was removed together with d fibroids

5. Pls go back to the hospital o. Don't take it lightly. I had surgery and lost blood, fell ill because my body rejected the blood. But thank God.

6. So sorry for your pains. I think you should go back to the hospital immediately. Please if they are not saying anything reasonable, seek a second opinion. I know people that have done fibroid and none experienced such.

7. Darling, if the bleeding isn't too heavy then you shouldn't worry. If you had an open myomectomy, i.e your belly was cut open either vertically or horizontally, to remove the fibroids, then light bleeding is normal for 2-4 weeks. Some ladies bleed or have a brownish discharge for 6 weeks after surgery. It depends on the number of fibroids removed and their location. However, to be on the safe side, go back to see the surgeon or gynecologist who operated on you, don't see any other doctor.

Sweetheart, I hope you know you shouldn't carry anything heavier than a 1 litre bottle until you reach the 6th week? No carrying of buckets, no heavy lifting of any kind. Get family members or friends to help you out. The first 2 weeks after surgery should be spent in bed RESTING. Unless when you get up to take walks, you should try to walk around to you can heal faster, prevent pneumonia and blood clots. Don't overdo it though, once you feel tired, go back to bed.

Make sure you have a small pillow, like a throw pillow around so if you need to cough, sneeze or laugh, you press the pillow against your belly. If you don't, you will see stars, literally. Avoid standing for too long, rather sit. Make sure you wear free gowns and big granny pants, lol, nothing tight for now. Resist the urge to keep touching the scar, you can get it infected and you don't want that. Make sure you drink a lot of fluids, water and fruit juices. Avoid carbonated drinks like Sprite, Fanta etc. There's already gas in your stomach that needs to come out. If you are allowed to bathe, use a plastic seat in the bathroom, don't stand unless it's unavoidable. As soon as you are done, go straight to bed and rest for about 15 minutes before you start moisturizing and dressing up.

Your body went through a huge ordeal and it needs all the energy you have to recover, that's why you feel very tired. The good news is you will start feeling better with each passing day. Remember, don't do too much even when you start getting your energy back. No heavy lifting till 6 weeks, even after 6 weeks you still have to take it easy. When you stress yourself, you can start bleeding and if you are not careful the internal stitches on your uterus can snap. It needs at least 3 months to heal.

Recovery can be daunting, my darling, the first 2 weeks are the worst but hang in there, it actually gets better.
      e-hugs and kisses.

8. Pain is very normal as long as it's not severe and you aren't running temperature, as in your body isn't hot. Didn't they give you pain medication? They ought to have. After 2 weeks the pains become bearable so you wouldn't need them. You will have a bit of discomfort that can last up to 6 months. Remember your belly was cut, your uterus was pulled out and cut, then the fibroids were "peeled" out and your uterus reconstructed, stitched up and pushed back to its original position. Then your abdominal muscles were stitched up before your skin was finally stitched to close up the incision. As your body heals all the cuts heal as well. You must feel some pains and discomfort for months.

I forgot to add that you may notice your stomach looks bloated or big. The bottom left side of your stomach may be more swollen than the right. Don't worry, it's totally normal. It will reduce gradually and take the normal shape between 2-3 months. You just have to be patient. I will send you more tips when I remember.

7. Indian women also have fibroid and they don't use relaxers. ABEG before you go natural research well

8. Indian women also have fibroid and they don't use relaxers. ABEG before you go natural research well

9. Just had my fibroid surgery in London, started three nights and it was an open abdominal myomectomy, I am still trying to heal .. how long do I wait to start trying for kids?

1. About six months

2. At least a year for proper healing. Good luck!

3. 6 months is too long my dear. From 3 months start trying jare, you would have healed reasonably after 3 months.I took after 2 months of surgery. These fibroids are from hell, they grow back.

4. 3 months o ..

5. 3months max. I know someone that even got pregnant after 2months

10. ThankGod Am on Natural.. Before Relaxer turn Person to Bull-Dog..

11. I've been on natural hair for over 5years. Relaxers nearly destroyed my sanity. I applied different relaxers ,sometimes I sit for longer hours just to get it relaxed but after the whole stress ,my hair would later come out looking like sponge, sometimes it would get burnt. I got tired and opted for the big chop off.

12. Our beautiful African curly hair have been made to make us feel it should be straight and coloured otherwise we are ugly. 364 days of the year we wear weaves and wigs and still we cant hold on to our naturally hair for 1 day? Hopefully this will be a jolt for women.

1. I relax my hair 2x a year. June and December yearly. I have very coarse hair and I'm not a fan of weaves. I'm technically on box braids everytime. I love it

13. look! chemicals everywhere!!

chemical be like gift from the devil😋; fast reaction; shorterm action; malign side effect in the long run..

organic be like gift from an angel; steady and gradual reaction; longterm action; benign side effect (if at all)

14. Wasn’t this disputed years ago? True comment about Indians, Pakistanis and Bangladeshis who don’t use relaxer but have it.

15. Na wah! must it be surgery??? Are there no natural remedies to dissolve it?

16. No wonder fibroid was not common in the time of our grandmothers. I someone very dear to me last month. She didn't survive the surgery.

1. It may have been common but undiagnosed. They may have called it evil spirit or something silly. Most of them died of unnamed causes. Let's be grateful to scientists who spend time discovering these things, naming them and trying to find cures for them.

2. Shut up these disease weren’t common those days coz they eat natural foods , keep quiet there what evil spirit are u talking about, did your grandmother eat indomie and frozen dead chicken, wasn’t it live fowl they killed , we all Grw up with scent leave as curry and all these deadly spices weren’t there, Tin tomato’s and pizza, ice cream and all these nonse we eat

3. Anon you don't have to be rude to tobie cos she's correct. You do have a point about them not eating processed food but tobie is correct

4. So what is all these anger for? Please take your frustration away from here anon 17.29. What did she say to warrant all these?

5. Thanks Adabekee. @anony, you have a point. Every generation will have it's own prevalent diseases and health challenges due to change in life patterns, food, climate and so on. For instance the global shift from infectious diseases of ancient centuries to the chronic diseases today. Cholera and smallpox were once the dreaded killer diseases but now it's diabetes, heart dx, cancer etc. And scientists have dealt with almost all infectious diseases via screening, treatments etc. Smallpox has been globally eradicated and there are polio vaccines, antiretrovirals and so on. Well, change is constant. You deal with one, another arises.

But still, so many diseases existed long before they were named. AIDs was once known as GRID. Sickle cell children were thought to be ogbanje/abiku. It took scientists a long time to study/discover/name these diseases. It may seem that some diseases are widely prevalent now eg cancer but it is mainly so due to early detection.

17. How about coloured people who don't use it n still have it?

1. Statistics shows a higher rate of fibroids in Africans and African-Americans. Other races get it but we black get it more. Read and understand the article.

2. Coloured??? So wrong to use that word

18. Heard pantyliner dissolves it

1. and you came to type that here? does it make sense to you?

2. Say what again?

3. Please share with the house, panty liner dissolving tumor.

4. Wat did you just type? Pantyliners?

5. I think she meant the longrich panty liner and pad. Expensive though but it helps

19. Pantyliners dissolved what?

20. It's been almost 3 years since I used relaxer.

21. Stella nice topic! Guys, get black seed oil and research castor oil pack treatment. Go on YouTube, you will see how it is done.
    Also, we need to be intentional about what we put into our body, it's not easy but let's endeavour to eat healthy.

Olusweets