Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Singer Falz Says Cyber Crime Gives Nigeria A Bad Name

Sunday, June 16, 2019

Singer Falz Says Cyber Crime Gives Nigeria A Bad Name

Multiple award-winning Nigerian singer, Falz who has always been very vocal about his criticism of internet fraud popularly known as yahoo yahoo has once again voiced out on the ill effects of the criminal act on Nigeria’s image in the international community.

The “Hypocrite” crooner said he will continue to speak against cybercrime despite the backlash he receives for condemning the fraudulent act.

He said,

“I’ve always said it from the beginning and maybe I was the first person to get a backlash on this. I’ve never been a fan of celebrating cyber-crime. When I said it in an interview, it got me a lot of backlash. I will say it again and again; cyber-crime is wrong, cyber- crime is giving us a horrible name especially outside Nigeria.”

‘It’s destroying our youths and a lot of people are feeling it’s the only option. I understand the sentiment of people not being not privileged and feeling like they don’t have the opportunity and they feel this is the fastest way to get money. But people are out there actually putting in efforts, toiling, struggling to make it by doing legitimate stuff and not just taking from someone else.

One thing I believe in is that live your life, let others live theirs as long as you living your life does not affect another person negatively. So long as you are taking from someone else, that is an offense even against humanity and it’s bad. I’ve never subscribed to it and I’ve never been a fan of celebrating it”.

Falz’s words are coming on the heels of the release of embattled Nigerian singer, Naira Marley who was arrested by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) in connection with cybercrime. Prior to his arrest, Naira Marley was opened about his support for internet fraudsters known as yahoo boys whom he says should be prayed for as they make money circulate in the economy.

From the Guardian

6 comments:

1. Honestly, you don't know what honest Nigerians living outside the country go through on account of this reputation. It's so sad. To think that Yahoo boys are all over the internet praising and defending Yahoo is such a shame. I feel sorry for Nigerians left in Nigeria, it will be increasingly difficult to relocate to any other country because they will be afraid they are letting in criminals. Other countries monitor our blogs, for those who don't know...

2. Abeg o Falz, make you leave dem o. Dem dey recover funds wey oyinbo done steal before now.

Mumu Nigerians, always looking for illegal means to make a living.

You know how when drugs is synonymous with Mexico and Colombia? Na so fraud go dey synonymous with Nigeria.

But the good thing is that there are god-fearing yahoo boys.

1. God fearing Yahoo boys?!?? 😯😯😯 Rambo, are you ok???

3. you talk about cyber crime tier now you don turn to up coming musician. you better sharap, you that you made your vip ticket sell for 2m na civil servant go buy the ticket abi

1. I'm sure you have heard cut your coat according to your size? High-end brands that sells expensive stuff,what business does a civil servant that can't afford it do dere? Why not buy tickets that are within your reach?