Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Horrors Within The Yoruba Movie Industry

Saturday, July 06, 2019

The Horrors Within The Yoruba Movie Industry

''You can barely see anyone in the Yoruba industry without a stand-by herbalist, demonic prophets, priests and priestesses. They tackle themselves spiritually when paths are crossed''.

PART ONE

The desire to be a celebrity has driven a lot of young girls and boys into their doom.
Gone are the days when someone introduces you to a thespian in the industry and your talent or skill determines your duration on the screen.

The Yoruba industry further moved into an era where the voluptuous body of a female became a criteria for stardom.The men mostly had to struggle to be considered fit for roles.

A number of the men resorted to hustling by the side to be rich so as to become a force to be reckoned with within the industry.

Some acquired wealth legally by establishing other businesses while some resorted to illegal businesses in the diaspora particularly exporting drugs in their system.

A lot of them were lucky by strands while some almost paid with their lives.

Ladies with large breasts became the sensation whilst the slimmer ones were sidelined.

The same Yoruba industry further moved to an era where facial beauty and light skin became a criteria to be on screen. That was the time so many actors began bleaching their skin with cheap products without any gender consideration.

This was the era when women were passed amongst their male colleagues for roles.
Some of the male actors sought comfort and funds in the hands of wealthy female fans who are either married, divorced or unmarried though elderly.

These 'sugar mommies' were the financial pillars for some actors who were determined to make a name and live in luxury even though the job did not entirely pay the bills.

These escapades were usually hidden from the public as we lived in a time where immorality was frowned upon by the society.

We move further to an era were sexual prowess became the order of the day. A time where brains,beauty,voluptuous attributes were not determinants so long as your bedmatics are memorable.

Some females seized this opportunities to find their way into the industry effortlessly. S#x soon became the universal currency to secure any role.
The deviant actors were soon running out of bed mates as some actresses graduated to dating men of higher calibres thereby neglecting their male colleagues through whom they ascended stardom in the first place.

Some actresses saw the need to be freed and independent thereby indulging in coded runs to maintain a luxurious status and be able to rub shoulders with their colleagues they once answered to.

These male colleagues saw the pace at which wealth and affluence was gradually diminishing respect in the heart of the younger actors so it became a measure of duration in the industry.

This means, irrespective of how poor the actor you met in the industry is, you have to accord them the respect and reference by kneeling to greet them and reference them as your 'senior' like the secondary school days.

PART TWO

They also had caucus which is cult-like in nature. They are known to protect and defend their members against any threats within and without. It was indeed a criteria at the time before being considered.

Back in the days, questions like 'what caucus do you belong to?' were used for identification or as a determinant to know if you will be granted the favour you seek.

Now, the Yoruba industry produced young,versatile minds who were seemingly more educated and exposed than their superiors. These set of people began the founding of Film schools where younger minds can be tutored by persons who understands the concept of Theatre and performing Arts.

Some of these tutors are either graduates of prominent institutes of Arts or person's with indigenous knowledge of Theatre.

It is alarming that the rate of sodomy has heightened amongst 'some' of these schools and Academies. You would marvel at the manner in which the proprietors of some schools prey on the innocent minds of their male and female students under the pretence of location trips.

Some of these students embark on inter-state journeys with their bosses and end up stuck in the same hotel room. As reward for the servitude, some are rewarded with supporting roles whilst others have been ditched for more attractive colleagues in the schools.

The proprietresses are not exempted from this vile act. Some are known to pimp out their female students to male actors and directors for favours. The male students are pawns meant to satisfy their bosses when an interest is established.

Dreadful battles are fought amongst these desperate students especially the females who see themselves as threats and competitors for their male bosses attention.

It is indeed sickening to the stomach that some of these girls go on threesomes without a care in the world in diverse hotels. It became a case of 'It is better shared than not'.

These promiscuous lot have created stains on the industry as the chaste ones amongst them are the least considered despite their skills and talent.
Drug abuse is also evident amongst them even though, they conceal it's use behind closed doors.

So many dreams have been dashed to shreds. Many talents have deviated from the industry for fear of sodomy.

So many mouths have been shut with threats of charm and black magic.

You can barely see anyone in the Yoruba industry without a stand-by herbalist, demonic prophets, priests and priestesses. They tackle themselves spiritually when paths are crossed.

Some would openly boast amongst colleagues of their prominence in black magic thereby giving the next person a reason to move closer to hell and dine more with the devil.

They believe the line of work should go hand in hand with traditional charm and assistance.

Locations and Hotels are avenues where destinies have been stolen, swapped and ruined unknown to the freshers seeking stardom.

They thrive on envy and barely genuinely rejoice over the success of another.

A successful colleague becomes an excuse to go illegal and compete indirectly or steal the benefactor.

There are a lot of messy gory details within the industry. It is indeed saddening that the thespians who laboured tirelessly to build the Yoruba industry live (some) to witness it's decadence.

Sanity and discipline must be restored. Tradition which frowns against indecency and immorality should once again be revived. Let us give room for creative minds without first sampling them in hotel rooms.

These attitudes are reasons why the Yoruba industry has not grown past where it ought to.

Most producers and directors who ought to join forces and create masterpieces are busy competing and seeking ways to pull their colleagues down.

We pray for an era where discipline and unity would become prominent in the Yoruba industry. An industry where the truth will not be shoved underneath the carpets all in the name of favouritism and preference for the concerned party.

Let us create a legacy where our future generation would be secure; being a part of this industry and the tag of 'sodom' would be totally abolished from the industry.

Your blog visitors are free to add their contributions and personal experiences.

SHALOM.

109 comments:

1. "Locations and hotels are avenues where destinies have been stolen, swapped and ruined unknown to the freshers seeking stardom". Lord have Mercy!

2. I was just enjoying the narration, lovely written.

3. This write up is so true, the Yoruba industry Vis in disarray, I remember Mode Martins granted an interview saying she bleached her skin to be considered for more roles.

The competition is very fierce, Taiwo also granted an interview saying she dated Odunlade to be considered for roles, that was the time she's always the lead actress in any of Odunlade productions, and I believed her and also suspect this new girl Eniola Ajao of dating Odun😎😎😎😎

1. This one is a yoruba champion, see comment 😂

2. Hahahahah!@ Youba Champion.

3. Lady bug you be correct babe as usual...that eniola geh wey no even sabi act, na him standby oturukpeke na! Dem go dey pretend say dem no dey do knack commit adultery and runs! I see one wey dem use am and him wife for land ambassador inside IG wey the article dey compare them with Sir olu jacobs and Madam Joke silva!
      See dis pipu o! Una no even see person use dem compare na A whole legend combo for nollywood!
      Atink is high time make person teh dem say make dem no dey pretend us say dem be celebrity o..make una nor dey try use people shine... As the husband prick nor dey gree stay one place dey chuck upandan small small gehz plus aunty gwegwe join.He don bleach him destiny finish!

Lady bug i dey come mah pour cold water as dis tin dey vex me! Who dem be sef? Wife na husband snatcher abi you tink say we nor sabi your runs for magodo?! Make una behave una self oo! No ever be happy say dem compare you with legends.. una nor be quater of Sir Jacobs & Madam Joke. Dey una lane! Bleaching cream Promiscuous husband and husband snatcher wife wey dey use church cover face!(clicks tongue)Fake christian!

4. It is not only in movie industry. Yourubas and jazz are 5 and 6. I remembered years ago I employed a yourba guy to manage my small business ..next two days I entered my shop stepping on something boggy. I opened the rug to see serving tied together. Picked it up immediately with my left hand. I called him outside and sacked. He started shouting that it was a lucky charm ...really I don't need that

5. More like local champion.. razzo always trying to form like better person.

6. Yorubas are paranoid etc with the need to always protect themselves, they have introduced it to Christianity where most of their churches spend all their time discussing and praying against imaginary enemies, they come to Lagos and they never go back to their villages because of fear of devilish people, they are too demonic and suspicious, all their doings must involve juju. The northerners don't allow them have some prominent position in Islam because their brand of Islam is adulterated with Voodoo.

7. We know them when we see them. Wanna-be popular by force couple.I barely see her in movies anymore,i detested her after the incidence of breaking another woman's marriage. my staffs say she's rude & arrogant and nobody wants to work with her except the husband . I asked about the dude and they were quick to say he sleeps with ANYTHING FEMALE but covers his tracks.If he was promiscous enough to leave his first wife because this desperate girl got pregnant,what makes her think he won't still sleep around? Where are the disciplined ones amongst them? This is indeed sad.

8. I am a graduate of theatre arts from the university of jos and i can tell you yoruba movies have more content. however, their only problem is the stereotypes i.e, juju, someone always have a dream, every evil repayed with madness, same person seeking solution from a babalawo, alpha and a cele pastor, etc that characterizes their movies..they have more suspense and alot of the stories are relatable to issues in our society. some yoruba movies produced by some seasoned and exposed ones now have more content in terms of cast, locations, costumes etc. yes omotola has acted in a few yoruba movies. i watch more yoruba movies and a very few nollywood movies.

4. Life of an actor sha...not easy out there.

5. I don't even watch yoruba movies, they are razz. All their stories have a voodoo kind of witchcraft type. No class or finesse at all.Over bleached fat women and touts looking men, always shouting and acting crazy.They are still far from their English counterpart, and it will take them a lot of discipline. No wonder you will never see the likes of Omotola,wale ojo, adeyemi,seun,ayoola,kunleremi and the all mighty Femi Jacobs all these yooruba educated and exposed actors in their local movies.The females have understood it, Bimbo,damilola,jemima,bolaji,bisola and others. Thank God for people like biodun stephen for raising yoruba Queens in her unique movies.

1. Extremely razz.

Biodun Stephen is in a different league of her own in Nollywood.

2. You are very limited, Omotola has acted in Yoruba films in the past 😎😎😎😎

3. God bless u. Biodun Stephens did a lot

4. Omotola acting in yoruba movies, are you hallucinating? Which sensible person would want her brand devalued?

5. You are very stupid. Yoruba movies have much better content than most Nigerian Nollywood movies. Yes, we are razz because we love our language and culture. That’s quite alright. No one asked you to watch. They are not gaining anything from your fan ship.

6. Even Seun sometimes acts Yoruba movie.

7. Even Toyin Aimakhu had to rebrand from yorubawood, you are talking about Omotola. Are you high?

8. Being razz has nothing to do with language or culture, don't get it twisted, razz is razz is razz.

9. 14.27 by content, do you mean juju content? If so, I agree with you.

10. Omotola has acted in a couple of Yoruba movies.

11. Omotola acted in KKK (kodun Kopo Kope) and some Wemimo Films back then

6. Boys Thinking Deep..6 July 2019 at 12:36

Yet their scripts are so badly written.. They can't produce a film without it ending with an IFA priest, pastor or imam undoing one charm or the other.

1. They don't do that in igbo nollywood? 🏃‍♀️🏃‍♀️🏃‍♀️🏃‍♀️🏃‍♀️🏃‍♀️

7. I see no lies because the number of thespians who are blameless are far far outnumbered.
    This post will be explosive, so I'm coming back later 😏

8. I stay in Ikorodu, the unofficial HQ of Yoruba Nollywood. I had always been fascinated about why over half of their movies are produced here until I moved into my house. The level of fetishness here is unparalleled.
    today Saturday 6th July is oro and women are not allowed to get to some areas in ikorodu. Open babalawo houses litter the whole space etc
    This writeup isn't event detailed enough in documenting the evils of the industry, depraved humans entertaining us and feeding is depravity.

1. Fear dey fear yuroba people.

2. Why don’t you move to your village and live where there is no Oro. What is pursuing you from your village?

3. People that see body part as nothing. They kill and use it for almost all the Jazz. Almost all concoction from the west has body part in it. It could be dried tongue. Roasted ear, fingers toes hand hair eyes nose . very fetish

4. You are talking about Igbogbo in Ikorodu

5. Too fetish and too paranoid.

6. How do you know this? Come and tell us.

9. And yet some people want to die there!

10. Nigerians and juju!!! When will civilization come. Too much witchcraft in the Land.

1. Go and try south Americans. Its world wide.

11. In as much as what this write is almost true.I don't like the fact that the writeup is based on only the Yoruba part of nollywood,the writer should have generalized it cos it happens in the whole industry call nollywood.

1. You are already insecure uncle. Insecurities borne out of tribAl insecurities if there's anything like that.
      The writer is writing on what she KNOWS. Someone else can pick up a pen and write on another arm of Nollywood.

2. Exactly! Just throwing the Yorubas under the bus

3. Instead of you to face the issues raised in the article, you people want to turn it to a tribal matter. Hian!

4. I'm not turning it into a tribal matter... Everything the poster said is 95% accurate and I'm not disputing that my point is,they always make accusing fingers to only Yoruba part every time making people believe the English part of nollywood are saint.

@shhhhhhhh and anon 15:05

5. The writer wrote what she knows okwaya! Anon 16:27 . What is stopping you from writing about the english industry or igbo? Which one is 'every time making people believe'? People KNOW EVERY THING because most people have not seen the avenue or had interest to speak about it! Take your Voltron the defender elsewhere! We are here to learn and rub minds.Run along child!

12. yes...oh, this narrative is 100000% correct!
    if u know, u know. In fact the Nigerian movie industry and show business a den of destiny thieves, sorcerers, people of darkness, deceitful people & liars, place full of frenemies & hypocrites who will smile in your face & then stab u in the back, criminals of all sorts, demonic entities and cultists, perverse gangsters running circles around people & setting people up for troubles, deadly spiritual warfares & personal attacks out of jealousy, competition.

13. Very interesting write up. Yoruba films and juju are 5 and 6, but there are some interesting ones sha.

14. I always ask myself this question why do the female counterpart get successful than the male..

You will see one small Yoruba actress gbam she don dey use range over.

How do the female make their money,is it not this same Yoruba movie that would have been pirated before the actual movie.how many people have time to watch Yoruba movie.

See most of them are just fortunate or probably their fetish ways makes way for them to be called star.

Mercy aigbe can't act to save her soul and people will over hyping her as if she is good.
    Nkechi blessing when that one start movie wey she dey buy Benz.
    I no even sabi their names sef thank God for blogs.

You will just see an actress upload a picture of a building and write "thank you God hardworking pays"
    Which yeye hardwork,I just hope they learn not to mislead their gullible fans.
    Someone was telling me about one Yoruba actress who just bought a big duplex she was trying to tell me the person I told her I don't know her not until she showed me her picture online and I remembered I have seen her in all this yeye Africa magic Yoruba.

I think she got fame probably 4-5 years ago and she don build big duplex and running a real estate business fear grip me.
    Even person wey dey work for oil company sef no fit build that kind house in the space of 4-5 years of their career.

And their movie can be so annoying even with there stupid background soundtrack.
    If you just see Someone seeing a Yoruba movie dont bother asking what the title is,just wait for seconds and listen to the soundtrack you will definitely know the title of the movie by the soundtrack.

1. I have dstv and also watch igbo movies where they speak igbo and there's not much difference,
      1) thru the soundtrack you'll know the title of the movie.
      2) there's always a priest or priestess
      3) Always 1 evil uncle or step mother
      4) A Rev father or pastor will pray and deliver someone while the evil person confesses.
      5) there's always 1 village miscreant

2. 14.23 you know you are lying...

3. Ehn so what's your point exactly? The issue is about yoruba industry. Please don't come and be distracting the matter. I came to read comments and learn new things.

4. God bless you anon 14.23, Igbo and Hausa channels also portray such. You can't compare an indigenous Industry to Nollywood. I even feel that Yorubawood is more popular that 'Igbowood', Callywood or Asaba sef. Nollywood is an umbrella for all indigenous movie industry. We have Yoruba actor there,likewise other region.
      People will just be saying trash. Go to Ghana, they have there own local industry and its all about herbalist and comic.

5. The point 16.34, is that unlike the other ones you mentioned, Yoruba movies involve juju over 90% of the time. Let's be factual here.

15. The industry is demonically possessed. So am not surprised by that write up.

Too many stolen glory. If only God can give some people small spiritual insight. They will tell God to take them fast from the earth.

1. Abeg how one get back stolen glory/destiny? I mean is it possible? Please help explain

2. The way those actors (male) hump on anything called female is scary o! I have reasons to believe they deliberately sleep with those girls for fetish reasons o! May we not lose our glory o.

16. Imagine if Yoruba part of nollywood was scrapped and they were asked to join their english coounterpart,90% of them will be out of job and they will turn full time olosho...cos they can't speak English to save their soul....have you seen or heard Liz anjorin speaks English,oh my Jesus..... Mercy aigbe English na vibration she go dey speak as if say person force her.

1. Same for the igbo part too.

2. English is not our papa language o. We are happy with being more fluent in Yoruba than English. If Nigeria separates today, best believe that English will be relegated and you will have to be fluent in Yoruba to survive.

3. speaks English..don't throw stones o, you are in the glass house.

4. Even you, ur own English is not sound.

Remember, those who love in glass houses do not throw stones.

5. Yes ooooo my English is very terrible eka joy...as terrible as it is I'm more sound and eloquent than those two I mentioned up there se you get eka joy....😬😬😬😬😬😬😬

17. And on top of all the juju, no single Oscar award 🤔🤔 The black man has a long way to go, sadly.

1. What progress has your traditional religion brought madam nincompoop. Why are you getting hot under the collar? You should have typed your comment in Yoruba na 😂😂

2. Why do u wan them to win oscars? Was it designed for the Nigerian artist, do they understand the artistic value of Yoruba plays. You have a long way in purging yourself of slavery and promoting your culture. If u don't like your culture, u have a right not to, but don't expect others to be slaves like you.

3. Educate yourselves before coming under my comment biko. Oscars has a category for foreign movies. Artistic talent is not restricted to any culture. Promoting my culture is not an excuse for mediocrity.

And before you start getting worked up, my key point was WHAT PROGRESS has the juju brought??! What International recognition does the industry have? This is 2019 Nigeria still does not have 24 hour electricity despite all the juju, so what's the point of dabbling in darkness which can't move anything forward?

4. Clap for yourself! Olodo rabata oshiiranu! You sound more enslaved than them yourself.I have reasons to believe you are one of those shameless yoruba directors. What has your juju done in your lives. It is only God that gives wealth and affluence without sorrow. Is that not why you keep stealing peoples glory through sex when God has placed his legs over your glory. All those bloods you shed in secret in ikorodu and ilorin will cry out to God one day.God will purge our land of your satanism! See dumb mentality, your movies have no sensible content! Is it your razz selves they are looking for! Siorr radarada

5. 20.01 haff vexed 😂😂 Truth is always bitter for people to swallow so they would rather attack.

18. They are adults let the do what the want

1. You are obviously among them

19. My friend's younger sister joined the industry recently. She's a beautiful lady,dark skinned,quite calm and intelligent. I just hope she doesn't get herself entangled with all these madness in the bid to get famous. She's always around Dimeji Lateef... I get to see few of them each time I visit Abeokuta. The bleaching part is so embarrassing and appalling. Whatever madam Modupe Johnson (Fali werepe) did to her skin is so terrible, hadn't been people get convicted for "skin abuse " that woman would have been jailed by now. Few years ago , when Lizzy Anjorin attended black and white ball,mhen!!! This woman was looking so pallid,afi bi egbon owu. She ni iya fun fun.

1. That should be bukunmi oluwashina

20. This would have been strange to me up until last year when my neighbour in Ibadan enrolled in a film school and the owner whose wife can fake holy holy would sleep with this girl severally and threaten her. The poor girl had to stop going. I think she should be into a trade now. These people are pretenders o... keep your sisters farrr from their fetish manhoods.

21. Lol. Some of us have said this before, they said we were judgina or jealous. It's not just the Yoruba movie industry. I'm not Yoruba but I was told some years ago that there are some places where my name came up but was cancelled cos they checked and found out that i) I don't do juju, and ii) I actually fear God so I won't do juju. I was shook-eth cos before that time, I just assumed I wasn't getting certain opportunities cos I wasn't good enough or God didn't like me. My husband would keep telling me that I'm good enough and that he's proud of me but I thought, "You're my husband, you're supposed to think and say I'm good enough." I told the caller "thank you" and told God to help me carve out a path in any industry that people will follow. In places where I'll be compelled to do what I will regret, make dem cancel the name with Blood of Jesus join sef. Anything God cannot give me or do for me, I don't want, abeg. The caller didn't know I was actually under pressure at the time they called. Because you want a car, house, or something else that will disappear, you'll go and scatter your life, swop your destiny and risk going to Hell.

1. 🙌 respect

2. Sugar is that you? @Anon 14:26

3. Anon 14:26 your comment is the only sensible comment I have read so far, it's so glaring a lot of people dislike Yoruba people, this write up is so useless, there is no place of work you get to in Nigeria (I haven't travelled out yet, so I can't say about other countries) that you wont meet fetish people, talk more of being a celebrity, most ibo, Yoruba and Hausa actors and actresses are fetish, why capitalize on one tribe?

4. Hurpe, I think you're being sentimental here. No one dislikes Yorubas, we are simply saying it as it is. The article up there talked about a number of specific things going on in the Yoruba movie industry, the extent is far more than what occurs in other sectors, that's the truth. The movies themselves have babalawos almost 99.9% of the time, what message does that send across?

22. Do you think it's any better in Hollywood? The Illuminati, the occult, the casting couch and the gay mafia rules over most of Hollywood. Avarice and vice are human traits and most people will do anything to be in the limelight. Ordinary blog popularity and people are competing with and cursing each other out for it.

23. Apart from their heavy juju and charms in movies,i must admit that they are trying.Their movies has depth and real life stories and you learn a lot from it.So my advice is for them to reduce the babalawo scenes and witchcraft.

1. God bless u. I am addicted to yoruba films they are my escape. Please is there any industry in Naija that is not fetish? Instead of us to appreciate their effort we are looking inside their house. Wetin concern u? Why don't u do expose about the so called men of god?

2. The wide spread use of what you call juju and charms in Africa tells me that it was the religion of the people before the advent of Christianity. The White man went around condemning anything that was not theirs, so of course they condemned the religious practices of the locals. Called it juju and all kinds of derogatory names. Just as they called our locally produced drinks (ogogoro) 'illicit' gin, and so on.
      What we have here is a battle between two beliefs - Christianity and Traditional religions; and going by the majority of comments here it is obvious which is winning...which is a pity.
      The missionaries were also in other parts of the world but it is only in Africa that we quickly jettisoned our religious beliefs to embrace that of the strangers. In Asia, for example, the people resisted and today mostly still practice their traditional religions - Buddhism, Shintoism, etc. They saw through the pretence and weakness of the Whiteman's religion and refused to let go of theirs. Today they are competing with the Western world in terms of development while we are still wallowing in our poverty and ignorance. It is a measure of our mentality... For example, how many Asians do we know who bear 'English' names? Or even change their native names to foreign ones like we are won't to do here? We have thoroughly adapted a Slavery mentality which is why Africa is still underdeveloped.
      I am not Yoruba (I am from the SS), but I notice the propensity of indigenous names being borne by the casts in Yoruba movies and I feel proud that at least we are getting one think right!
      Bashing our tradition in favour of strange ones we can never understand is stupid and makes us a laughing stock. The white men who brought their religion to us are slowly distancing themselves from it (look at the number of them that attend churches on Sundays compared to Blacks) while we are proud to claim that we are more religious than they are! Of course we have more churches and all that, but how has that influenced us or improved our societies?

3. Anon above, I will choose Christianity that promotes peace/knowing God/grace in the midst of trials etc any day over any traditional religion that does fetish things like pounding babies for money and other demonic rituals. All those practicing the traditional beliefs, what positive impact has it had?

4. i pity you anonymous....meet believers from Asia and Christians from the developed countries and see how they pray for their society to turn back to God. read about underground churches in china..yes they are prospering than us but where will people spend eternity? Hell.....Jesus is the truth and the life. Nigeria is not prospering because people have refused to do the right thing not because Christianity was embraced.

24. I want to act in a modern Yoruba movie setting devoid of cursing and loudness....

25. Their movies must portray witchcraft and sorcery

1. Na so now. Herbalist every damn time. I had to stop watching cos I can't let person be raining incantation into my life e jo.

26. I love and enjoy yoruba movies especially the classic ones.
    I like their old juju movies too much!

1. @ Pinky before nko??? You go like am naa.

27. Double standard every where, from my own experience every section of Nigeria is diabolical, the stories are out there unleas you want to live in denials. And in every trade too even among stalls owners in the market and even office work. The race to survive among human being is very fierce and challenging one. It is the survival of the fittest. Those who complain of Babalawo scenes in our movies are either hiding from the thruth, or trying to deceive other people. This is what is happening in every society either they showcase it or not. Every field of human endeavour are loaded with a lot of behind the scenes stuff which are very dirty.

1. In every society? Where please?

28. There is nothing wrong with Yoruba movies. There are different types, see a modern Yoruba movie and know that all what everyone is describing is one-third of Yoruba movie industry. For me I don't see Aba movies or Igbo movies cos there will always be charm, dibia, local Aba actors. Same with Yoruba movies, I look at title before sitting to see em. Do we conclude Kunle Afolayan no do better movie ni. Even so call English actors are beginning to flood Yorubahood. All of you should see recent yoruba movie jwar.
    The only issue I feel Yoruba movie has is the fact that everybody want to write and produce movies. Even upcoming actor don producer, director, writer. They come up with wack storyline and get quack director, the movie then come out and its all rubbish.
    All the same, kudos to actors with better movies like Kunle and Gabriel Afolayan, Saidi Balogun, Iyabo Ojo(all her personal movies are top notch), Seyi Edun(most times) and others . I love Toyin Abraham and Odunlade's movies but too much comic spoils the storyline. Bye for now!

1. Uncle, we hope they paid you money for this advert. Because this your atoto ayeye is plenty. The issue is about the personnel within the yoruba industry and not a call for who does babalawo movies or not.Also, it's addressing the lifestyle of these actors while on the job which is more relevant than the advert you came all the way to do.Most of them are satanic dogs and whores!

2. Exactly u said it all, let people pretend all they want especially hypocrite's who enjoy sorcery on Merlin's and all.

29. It cuts across the entire movie/entertainment industry both in Nigeria and US/abroad
    I was not shocked at all by what I read up there. I do not watch any of these movies;
    both Nollywood and Hollywood etc. I am very selective of the movies I watch, they must
    have a Christ oriented or family oriented message.
    That is why I always refer to them as "Nollyworm, ATUresses" etc. it is because of these
    lifestyles.
    The "satanic system" of these industries had wanted to "suck me in" and I had mentioned it
    here before. When it is "too good to be true", then it is not true. It is a "lie, a ruse".
    Most of the SUVs, mansions, abroad journeys etc. you see are due to high scale prostitution,
    perversion and satanism.
    And of course, the ladies are most involved.
    Look very well into the lives of these "celebs" and see that people are always dying around
    them especially their close ones and workers. A musician goes to the hotel/club with his
    friend and the friend dies suddenly and mysteriously etc.
    We know their names and their pictures are always sprayed before us, yet we close our eyes
    and begin to worship? 🤐🤐🤐

1. Haba!Anon 17:19 come and finish this sweet gist. Be bold, and save others from their evil traps. We discussed this at work and my colleagues attested to how the film schools are home to whoredom and prostitution. My mouth was open and could not close. Please share details so we can learn and warn our loved ones gunning at enrolling.

2. You don't watch Nollywood and Hollywood and in the next breath, you watch only Christ oriented or family oriented message? Made where?

3. @Broomstick maybe it's mount Zion movies?

4. @Broomstick
      Yes, I don't watch the mainstream Nolly/Hollywood movies. A lot of the movies are
      witchcraft/Satanism in content and output. They pollute the minda and control your
      thought process. If you are not careful, you finish watching a movie and you begin to
      lust intensely, get financially run down, descend into depression, have marital/relationship issues
      that quickly spiral into divorce etc. The tragedy is that if you are not spiritually alert in
      Christ, you won't be able to connect the dots and you will keep on watching those movies
      to "get better" while you roam about seeking for solutions to your predicament in the wrong places.
      Yes, I watch mount zion movies, I watch a lot of Bible movies which it is not a question of
      where they are made but the Spirit of God in me agrees with their contents. Also there are
      "Halmark and lifetime Christian/good family values promoting movies" also on Youtube.
      These whole thing applies to both music and movies.
      @18:43
      Pardon I may not be able to "complete stories" the way you want it now. But I tell these stories
      especially when I know that the post relates to a particular experience.

30. And it's news worthy because they are celebs? Like we all don't have what we believe in that might be weird or unacceptable to someone else

1. Aunty 17:24 that is selling cream! At least now we know you serve something weird and unacceptable. So those buying your cream are at their own risk abi? Who knows what you concocted or consult to sell market? Since you are in support of their fetish deeds! Shameee on you! Elenu peye peye bi awo sosa! Shebi you can google the definition of Holy Ghost Fire abi?... It's better you do ahead of time.Babalawo people!

31. Satanism is the order of the day in this country kapish! Even the so called men of God are not left out. So it begs to be asked(in Ese Walters voice) who are the ones worshiping God in truth and spirit?

1. if you know the word of God well,you won't ask this question.

2. You that knows why not teach me???

32. With all their juju, majority of them no fit pay house rent for ikorodu. Dem dey owe rent like say tomorrow no dey. If I begin mention names here enh, fear go catch you people. I don't have problem with any tribe or language but enough of these depth lacking movies. Some of their films are exremely anoying.

33. Good writeup. May God help us

34. MA is sitting pretty on this table. Big time jazzer that girl must be a queen of sheba by now.

1. Shebi she's edo??? Not surprised then.

35. Jazz/prophets/wolis etc. are a part of Yoruba culture so it's not surprising to me that the film industry participants are involved in jazz.