Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NANS Shuts Down South African Companies In Nigeria Over Xenophobia:

Friday, August 09, 2019

NANS Shuts Down South African Companies In Nigeria Over Xenophobia:

The National Association of Nigerian Students, NANS have kept to their threat to shut down all South African-owned businesses in Nigeria.

As at 8am on Friday the protesting students were already on the streets of Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital, to ensure DSTV, GOTV, MTN and Stanbic Bank offices were not opened for the day.

As you read this, the Multichoice office in Isale Igbein, the MTN office in Okelewo/Sokori and branches of Stanbic Bank in Abeokuta, are under lock and key.

The staff of these organisations, who had earlier opened for business were dislodged by the angry protesting students.

The students have been moving from one office to the other to ensure strict compliance, saying: “if they open any of these offices we have shut down, they will see the wrath of Nigerian students”.

DAILY POST yesterday reported NANS as saying it would kill three South Africans living in Nigeria for every one Nigerian killed in South Africa, while it would also destroy three South African businesses in retaliation for any Nigerian business destroyed in South Africa.

Hmmmm this is Newtons third law in action sort of...It states that actions and reactions are equal and opposite...

29 comments:

1. The 3rd law state that , for every action, there is equal and opposite reaction.

2. I love this...πŸ‘πŸ‘

3. This move by NANS is applaudable but they should please not kill any south African in retaliation to anything.

LEPπŸ˜›

1. I agreed with you. These people have taken us for granted.

Our mumu don do

4. Smh, if you are not at the head offices, I don’t think you would be making a big impact.
    I doubt you’ll find many small businesses owned by South Africans in Nigeria. We are the ones that have lots of small businesses in SA. That’s why miscreants can have a big impact on Nigerians in SA, we can’t do that here; you will need to have a lot of clout before you can shut down Stanbic head office (for instance).

5. Nice move but please there should be no killing.

6. Good for them. South Africans are bloody hypocrites, they will quickly attack Nigerian business ppl, but will open heartedly welcome the Chinese,Indians, and Middle Eastern ones. Why they can't find the same strength for all the other outsiders, just Nigerians.

1. @ 13.26, Inferiority complex. They feel inferior to the other races and nationalities so are okay with being subjugated by them but wouldn’t like to have a Nigerian as a boss or do better than them because they see Nigerians as equals.

7. Dstv and Mtn nko?

8. What about deloitte?

9. Ernst and Young too

10. Did they consider the Nigerians working in these companies?

11. I hope they don't get arrested. The government really needs to send a message to the sa government and put stringent measures to their organizations here.

12. Ogun state bawo? They should start with their Lagos and Abuja office. How do you even know an SA citizen in naija? We all look alike, SA man be like Uhrobo man

13. Nice move, I pray and hope it will end well.

14. Hmm and who is working for these companies they're shutting down?

1. Thank you. Ask them. We should loose our job?

15. I wish my comment would be put on this platform. How I wish Nigerians could be truthful about what is going on in South Africa. Which small businesses are you exactly talking about? Small shops used as a fronting for their drug cartels.selling drugs to kids as young as 10 and killing themselves and now South Africans are bad. Have you ever seen a corporate Nigerian being attacked in SA. I wish I could go on.

1. What of the woman that came for a conference and was strangled in her hotel room? Abi she no be Corporate Nigerian? You clearly know nothing cos if you do, you would have known that South Africans started the drug business first in their country before Nigerians took over.

16. Oh really now. The lady who was murdered it was pure crime which is very high in SA. Have you ever heard of Xenophobia in the suburbs of SA?. Drugs are pushed by Nigerians in SA. Continue lying to yourself. I am not advocating for anyone to kill anyone but state facts not what the media feeds you.

17. This Nans members came and were given egunje in my office. Forget it Stella, everyone in this country is corrupt and selfish

18. Anon 19.05, so you thinks its only the Nigerians using small shops to sell drugs. In your mind, those middle easterns and indians don't do thesame. Eyah, open your eyes well oo, they are all doing thesame. Besides, how did the Nigerians who are foreigners get to meet the drug connects and the plugs? Who do you think are the connects and the plugs? SA people have serious envy and jealousy problem. One thing you need to know is that, there is no supply without demand.

19. If they don't start with Lagos, Abuja, PH then we've not started. Please don't stop, we'll join this movement.

20. This is what they call cutting off your nose to spite your face without understanding what it will cost you. As though SA is your biggest problem. People are kidnapped, raped and killed daily in your backyard and you didn't utter a word let alone protest. Students are oppressed by lecturers asking for sex, money for handouts etc and these students have no support from you even though they pay a levy to you as part of their school fees. Please drive the companies out of Nigeria let's see if the Nigerian economy, job market and the common people that use those services won't feel the pinch.