Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Tragic Story Of Ada Priscilla Nzimiro Nigeria's 1st Female Igbo Doctor

Thursday, August 15, 2019

Tragic Story Of Ada Priscilla Nzimiro Nigeria's 1st Female Igbo Doctor

This is an interesting read about the life and brief time of Ada Priscilla Nzimiro, the first medical doctor from Igboland, Eastern Nigeria.

To some it was a tragic story, while to others, it was a case of unfinished greatness and a feat that paved the way for the liberation and educational emancipation of the African women in general and the Nigerian women in particular.

Becoming a certified medical doctor as at 1950 in the then world and society full of male chauvinists and sexists was not an easy feat. She deserves to be in Nigeria’s hall of fame.

Below are a few things you should know about Ada Priscilla Nzimiro gathered from scanty sources on the internet and the library.

1. Ada Priscilla Nzimiro was born on the 30th of April, 1923 in Port Harcourt Nigeria.

2. Her parents were Richard Okwosha Nzimiro (father) and Mary Nwametu Onumonu (mother)

3. Her father was the first Mayor of Port Harcourt in 1956 and died in office in 1959 while her mother was described as a “wealthy merchant” that traded in palm oil, salt and European products.

4. Mary Nwametu Onumonu (1898–1993), was a wealthy merchant, political activist, and member of the NCNC who galvanised Igbo women during the Biafran war in 1967 and lost all her landed properties in Port Harcourt after the war due to her role in trying to divide the country.

5. Historians were able to trace her family roots or lineage to Oguta, present-day Imo state.

6. Ada Priscilla Nzimiro enrolled for university education in 1945 in Scotland after her secondary education in Nigeria.

7. She attended medical school, had medical training and earned her Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MB ChB) in 1950 at the University of Glasgow, Scotland.

8. She was the first woman from Igboland to graduate as a medical doctor.

9. She died tragically just a year after graduation on the 22nd of March, 1951 at the age of 27.

10. She barely practised medicine for 1 year.

11. The cause of her death was described by historians as “unnatural” yet undisclosed causes.

12. Her sudden demise came as a rude shock to her family, friends and well-wishers.

13. She was buried a month after in Oguta, present-day Imo state.

14. She was neither married nor engaged while alive. She had no child.

15. Ada Priscilla Nzimiro’s parents in their benevolence had established two schools at Oguta in 1945. One of schools named William Wilberforce Academy (WWA) was later renamed Priscilla Memorial School to honour her memory and preserve her legacy and feat in medicine.

16. As the first female medical doctor from her region, Nzimiro inspired many young women to pursue medicine as a career.

Though she died too early and couldn’t live out her promising medical career, she paved the way for the liberation and education of many women dominating different fields of knowledge today.

#Respect to an Amazon#

from nimedhealth.com.ng

with original content from wikipaedia

44 comments:

1. This is really tragic. What could have happened?

1. Maybe suicide

2. It can never be suicide
      How can a career driven successful woman do that?????

Maybe murdering

3. I suspect envious ppl were responsible.

2. Wow!!! Continue to rest in peace Doc...

3. Such an inspiration!

4. She is from Rivers State. Which one is Igbo land again. She is Ikwerre. From Port Harcourt Local Government Area. Her Dad has a street named after him. Such a sad story

1. read up again, she was buried in oguta, IMO state. she is igbo. probably lived in portharcourt

2. Can a non indigene be made a mayor in Rivers State? Pls enlighten me cos we learn everyday. Thanks.

3. Yes..... Before the civil war non indigenes were mayors. The first and last major were from IMO state. That I'm sure of.

4. My grand father was once a Deputy Mayor of Port Harcourt in the early 60's,and we are not from Rivers State. We also have a street in Port Harcourt named after him.

There was no Rivers State back then. It was just the Eastern Region, and any qualified person from that Region could become a Mayor or Deputy Mayor as the case may be.

5. There was no struggle for indiginization in 1956.we were still under colonial rule and a person was from wherever he found himself although many went back to their original roots.

6. Is Ikwerre not Igbo?

7. A Hausa man was even elected mayor of Enugu. Nigeria of then and now is a very different

8. Lmao!!! Rivers people have come again. So after seeing that her name and the name of her parents are full Igbo and seeing that she is traced to Oguta and was buried there, you are still coming to lay claim? I hail oh!

9. Someone that bears Igbo name and was buried in Oguta Imo state and u still think she is from Rivers? SMH!
      Btw there is a street called Nzimiro owerri too.

5. It is a sad story! One of Nigeria unsung heroes! Women making history from time!

6. Was a sad ending ,I wished she lived to achieve more!

7. Ogbuta women I hail o.
    The women from Ogbuta are powerful and mysterious. I'm not surprised about this too..
    They are more or less like men, in control of things, if they married, their husbands are always in the shadow, probably in a cage.

8. Unsung heroes Kwa, wetin make we call first female doctor in Nigeria and that of Adadevoh recently

1. You are just a sour human being. What has her being the 1st female doctor in the East taken away from the ones you named? Yes, she is an unsung hero because she did what was not done in those days, especially by a female. Very few men achieved that feat in those days.

9. Continue to rest in peace,amazon. No wonder a street was named after her surname.

10. So many mysteries. This world eh.
    Pls, those arguing about her land and heritage, whatever what will it add to you? Mscheww.

11. What a sad story. She is an amazon.

12. ...Oguta Ameshi nwere mmadu

1. Ameshi ogidiga.... Obodo ji mma n'egbu enyi......

13. Oh no.... this is so sad. A promising young woman indeed!!!

14. Enter your comment...I feel so sad. may her soul rest in peace

15. The difference between the black man and the white man is the fact that whites document every event, while blacks have no documentation of their history,which is why the white man can make any claim they like to pre colonial Nigeria and we swallow it hook,line and sinker!

1. Very correct Oby O

2. So true. No passing down of history, whether via oral or written documentation. It's either we are trying to keep things secret or the powers that be are trying to shut us up. In the process, so much vital information is lost. How can we know where we are going to when we barely know where we are coming from?

3. U too can start researching and documenting ur evidence.

16. Charlie Boys cousin , now Priscilla's mum is sister to Charlie's mum (mary & margaret) . Margaret being the younger sister got married to justice chukwudife oputa.
    Oguta nwere madu!!!
    Oguta has history!!!
    Igbo Amaka!!!

17. Oguta amaeshi ogbodo giri giri .we are too much jor

18. Enter your comment...She was killed by forces of envy, evil and jealousy. Period.

1. That is what I also imagine to be the case.

19. I am so happy that we can be reminded of the history of Nigeria. Some are still arguing why an Imo woman was a native of Porthachourt. That was when Nigeria was a nation. Please God bring back the old days to our land.

1. That's what happens when History is removed from school curricula. How will children be inspired? How will they learn from past mistakes? etc.