Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: US Visa Fees Rise Today VS Nigerian Visa Fees Decrease Today

Thursday, August 29, 2019

US Visa Fees Rise Today VS Nigerian Visa Fees Decrease Today

TOO LATE!!!

The United States of America will from Thursday August 29,2019 begin to collect a special fee to reciprocate the excess fees that American citizens pay to enter into Nigeria.....Whilst today as well the Nigerian government will begin to collect less visa fees from Americans after exhibiting a no-negatiation aittitude since 2018 when the US began negatiations to have the fees reduced...

Read extracts from the US embassy’s website....

''U.S. law requires U.S. visa fees and validity periods to be based on the treatment afforded to U.S. citizens by foreign governments, insofar as possible. Visa issuance fees are implemented under the principle of reciprocity: when a foreign government imposes additional visa fees on U.S. citizens, the United States will impose reciprocal fees on citizens of that country for similar types of visas. Nationals of a number of countries worldwide are currently required to pay this type of fee after their nonimmigrant visa application is approved.

The total cost for a U.S. citizen to obtain a visa to Nigeria is currently higher than the total cost for a Nigerian to obtain a comparable visa to the United States. The new reciprocity fee for Nigerian citizens is meant to eliminate that cost difference.

Since early 2018, the U.S. government has engaged the Nigerian government to request that the Nigerian government change the fees charged to U.S. citizens for certain visa categories. After eighteen months of review and consultations, the government of Nigeria has not changed its fee structure for U.S. citizen visa applicants, requiring the U.S. Department of State to enact new reciprocity fees in accordance with our visa laws.

The reciprocity fee will be required for all Nigerian citizens worldwide, regardless of where they are applying for a nonimmigrant visa to the United States. The reciprocity fee is required for each visa that is issued, which means both adults and minors whose visa applications are approved will be charged the reciprocity fee. The fee can only be paid at the U.S. Embassy or the U.S. Consulate General. The reciprocity fee cannot be paid at banks or any other location''.

Nigerian Govt Announces Decrease In Visa fees for Americans

The statement read: “The attention of the Ministry of Interior has been drawn to the introduction of reciprocity of Visa Fees by the United States of America.

“The Ministry acknowledges that there were engagements with the United States Embassy on the issue and in the aftermath, a Committee was set up to conduct due diligence in line with the Ministry’s extant policy on reciprocity of Visa fees

“The Committee had concluded its assignment and submitted a Report but the issuance of authorisation for its recommendations was delayed due to transition processes in the Ministry at the policy level.

“The Honourable Minister of Interior, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola has approved the decrease of Visa charges payable by US citizens in line with reciprocity policy as recommended by the Committee.

“Accordingly, the Comptroller-General of Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS), Muhammad Babandede, has been directed to implement the decrease in Nigeria’s Visa charges to US Citizens with effect from Thursday, 29th August, 2019.”

The question now is that will the US reduce the new visa fees?And if not will the Nigerian govt re-effect the increase?It took them a retaliation to respond!!!

19 comments:

1. Foolish Nigerian government. Shioor.

2. Medicine after death πŸ˜‘πŸ˜‘πŸ˜‘

3. The leaders of this country always trying so hard to frustrate their citizens.

4. I blame no other person than the president!. A man who could not appoint his ministers for the smooth running of governance until he was forced to.I am one of the many people who supported this man but unfortunately we're disappointed in the way and manner he runs his government-a concern Nigerian in the diaspora.

1. Sonthing wey elders Sidon see warn una join, even if una climb tree una no fit see. Na una vote am but na all of us dey suffer am.

5. Nigerian government always acting late... You don't charge people that doesn't really have interest in coming to your country more than they charge your people that are queuing to go to their country.

I don't think United States government will make any reverse soon.

Nigerian government does not really care about the masses, they don't even put them into consideration before passing policies.

1. You are right, but we must commend the new Minister for acting swiftly. what was the former Minister of Interior doing before this???. I expect the US Government to reverse the Reciprocity Fee as the word implies.

6. Brainless literate and stupid people we've got in government

7. I was granted US visa today 29/8/2019 at 12:03pm, here at US consulate dubai. No one asked me for any reciprocal visa fee. I wasn’t even asked show any documents. Simply asked where I worked, How soon I wanna travell, that’s it.

8. When the president of your country is not educationally qualified, he gets all of us in trouble because he doesnt understands matters that needs immediate attention or memos

9. SEE NIGERIA !! This is a case of " shaki nshe bi ora"... Shior

10. us b1/b2 visa fee used to be 150usd so I don't understand this post

11. LMAO. Good for them