Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Angry Soccer Fans In Sierra Leone Attack Their Captain's House After He Missed A Penalty

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Angry Soccer Fans In Sierra Leone Attack Their Captain's House After He Missed A Penalty

Angry soocer fans in Sierra Leone have attacked the house of thier national team' captain after he missed a decisive penalty.

Umaru Bangura missed a stoppage-time spot-kick in front of a huge crowd on Sunday.
His inability to convert the penalty into a goal meant Sierra Leone failed to get through to the next stage of the 2022 World Cup qualifiers as Liberia qualified, winning the tie 3-2 on aggregate.

After the game, unhappy fans of Sierra Leone national team trooped to Bangura’s home and petted it with stones.The doors and window of his home in Freetown were left badly damaged. A song has even been released mocking his penalty miss.

In an interview with BBC, captain Bangura said “It was one of the worst days of my life. I can't even go outside because I didn't expect this kind of hostility towards me.”
"I did my job by stepping up as the captain to take the spot-kick," he added. "I am really disappointed. But at the same time, I wish to say sorry [and] beg for their forgiveness."

*LOL....this isnt fair nau,ah ah..

17 comments:

1. Haba!!!!!they should free the guy abeg

1. Some football fans can just take things too far.

2. This is Football, Anything can happen.

3. Lol I find this funny. Been laughing since

4. The same people who went to exhume a corpse. Mad people

1. It is yakubu aiyegbeni I have on this table even though it wasnt a penalty.

6. Sierra Leoneans are wicked people and they don’t like Nigerians.. one idiot Sierra Leone guy called police for me for no reason and even stole from me.. I didn’t know he had a personal vendetta against Nigerians because his ex wife cheated on him with a Nigerian guy, but as God would have it when police came, it was him they arrested .. though the guy rip me off oo, stole my properties but they can be replaced

7. E reach to pelt his house with whatever. How would you guys feel if he was representing Naija and took a penalty shot and missed thereby causing Nigeria not to qualify for the world cup. Bad part is they lost to Liberia. Liberia.!! Since when did Liberia, start going to the world cup?

1. Since when did Sierra Leone start going to the world cup? Biko shift. Riff-raff like you.

2. 0654. Read what the person above you wrote and read your response. You are not a riff raff but she stated since when did Liberia, start going to the World Cup. Liberia, was what is written above not Sierra Leone. Who is the riff raff now. That’s how you pass exams.

8. Football is an intense game especially for fans. Make dem forgive abeg.