Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Obinwanne Okeke To Forfeit $11 Million + Faces Up To 30 Years In Prison For Wire Scam

Thursday, September 12, 2019

Obinwanne Okeke To Forfeit $11 Million + Faces Up To 30 Years In Prison For Wire Scam

A federal grand jury in the United States has indicted Obinwanne Okeke for $11 million fraud.

The decision affirmed the investigation of the U.S. Department of Justice, conducted by the F.B.I, and now set the stage for commencement of criminal trial.

Besides the indictment, the jury also recommended that Mr Okeke be made to forfeit at least $11 million in cash and asset or both if convicted.

An emerald cut engagement ring found on him when he was arrested should also be forfeited, the jury ruled.

Mr Okeke, 31, was arrested on August 6 in the U.S. and slammed with two counts of computer and wire fraud. He was subsequently taken before a court and remanded in prison following preliminary hearings.

While he remained in custody of the U.S. Marshals Service, a grand jury was set up to look into the allegations against him.

The jury returned on September 9 with an indictment of Mr Okeke for the $11 million fraud.

With the indictment, Mr Okeke’s trial will now commence on September 16, PREMIUM TIMES learnt. Douglas Miller, a U.S. magistrate at a federal courthouse in Newport News, Virginia, has been assigned as the presiding judge in the criminal matter.

Mr Okeke, who faces up to 30 years if convicted, has named John Iweanoge, a Washington D.C. attorney of Nigerian origin, as his lead counsel. He would be expected to enter a plea during his September 16 appearance.

From Premium Times

Chei!!!!!

51 comments:

1. Where are the tappers?! Come and tap into 30 years in jail! Praise the Lord, somebori!

2. I do not even have the least infinitesimal bit of sympathy for this man. I am almost ashamed to admit that I am glad this is happening to him. It's just sad that his new born child might grow without up without his father being physically present and to know his father as a convicted criminal. So sad

1. And in the other post, you were boasting about marrying only rich people.
      Did you mention how you expect them to acquire such riches?
      I tell you, you would have proposed to this man had you met him in person.

2. "I tell you, you would have proposed to this man had you met him in person"... πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Evil.

3. Jesus oooooooooooo 30 years plus his present age = 61 years Jisuuuuuuuuu.....

1. Plead bergain will reduce the whole years, he might end up doing not more than 10years.

2. Prison calendar counts differently.

3. Anonymous 16:30 except so oooo i am beginning to feel sympathy for him chaii. Please guys hustle legally.

4. Afi plead bergain Na!

5. The prison calendar in the US is not different from ordinary calendar o. Maybe in the UK sha, but in the US Federal system, best believe that 30yrs is 30yrs.

4. I just pity his young wife. A brillant handsome young man that was smart and had everything going for him. But because of greed and I must appear in Forbes before 30. See where it has landed him.
    With hard work even if it happened in 20yrs he could have legitimately made this sort of money. Some ppl don't make it big and build in Asokoro/Ikoyi until their 50s. Never be in a rush.
    He will come out of jail a middle age man. All his youth and productive years gone.

1. Let me tell you... it's very hard for anybody to make millions especially as a Nigerian without engaging in some sort of illegality. People play with their eternal destination by pursuing wealth the way they do in our world today.

5. Lol I was just on Virginia's district website yesterday, looking his name up. I saw that he will be strained next week in room 12. I would have gone, if I was in the US. Leave me, I have some inate investigative skills and love following cases up.

I even researched about the Judge that will sit on his case, Douglas Miller. I think he became a judge in 2009 and have been accused of one thing.

Obinwanne you see your life. You will be begging for freedom now. Nothing sweet pass freedom, even if you no get money. I can't imagine myself being locked up, I will faint. I'm claustrophobic, that's why I avoid using lift.

1. He will be arraigned in court room 2 on the 16th of September. After the 30 year sentence he will be lucky if he is not sent to the UK for trial there. That is if the people he snitched on don't kill him first.

2. He is not a snitch bro,if obinwanne sings by now instagram and Twitter Naija will be down.

3. Snitching is the fastest way to die in US prison... even inmates on death row live longer than a snitch.

4. @Yabacra🀐🀐🀐
      You don stay for Yankee prison before too abi you escape from that one also?
      😯😯😯😯😯😯

6. Well...in your next life, go legit.

7. Oh it remninds me of this nursery rhymes..That is the end of Solomon Grundy...LIFE OH LIFE>>>OHHH!!!! LIFEEE OHH LIFEEE..

8. A girl's dream of marrying an abroad man this December has just been quashed?

9. I read somewhere that he Invented an App that Goggle bought from him,so in his Case,it is,was Simply Greed that pushed in committing Fraud.

1. Which yeye app? LIES!!!!

2. He’s not the guy. It’s some other Igbo New York guy who created a great app to get to your destination by subway train. His technology was purchased for $1bn by Apple or google and they stripped it and destroyed the site. The site was a big competition for them. I know because we used to use it a lot in NY before google or Apple bought it

3. they paid such amount just to waste a site? this is preposterous

10. Zero sympathy for his stealing ass. Jail him and throw away the key. Awon Forbes list with stolen money. Inspire to aspire so that you won't expire motivational speaker on top another man's sweat. Kitikpa racha pu gi anya dia. All these energies to scam would have been put into legitimate business but nooooo you must buy yatch and cruise on the high seas.

1. Kitikpa racha pu gi anya πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

11. Chai! you ended up in the stronghold of your fellow men. Very hard thing. In your next life be contended.

12. I hope this serves as a lesson to all. Abroad is not automatic ticket to wealth. Yes there are opportunities but it's very competitive and you have to work your ass off. Most times, you have to totally go back to school and build up your resume with the necessary degrees, skills and experience. It's not Naija were nepotism and mediocrity can help you out. No, you have to be qualified and competent. Of course humans are impatient and insatiable so they want the easy and fast route. They don't want to sow before reaping. Also parents don't put unrealistic burden on your children.

1. They sow... but not on a legitimate soil, if only you know the time & effort these scammers put before "reaping" like the grim reaper.
      Greed & quick scheme to make money wouldnt let them sow, nurture and blossom from humble beginnings.

13. Replies
    1. Help yourself first πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

14. Such a brilliant and handsome young man, it is a shame you decided to ruin all your great achievement with fraud.

15. I remember that song tony one week
    When money come you way everybody busy body
    When trouble come your way everybody run alway
    When yawah come your way everybody benjohnson.
    I feel for you bro,where are your friends,what about all the donations,all the vibing in the club slay mama's,fine boys gamily n
    member's.no where to be found

1. When money come my way everybody come my way. When money go away everybody busybody. When money go away everybody go away. Dem go deny you dem no know you again 🎢🎡

16. what if this guy is been set up by American govt to liquidate him & destroy him since he is a black man & African too, they can do anything to destroy our young promising men with rape accusations, fraud, attempting murder, murder, & alots just to make sure black man remains beneath them, may God save this guy cos something is telling me that this guy is been set up to destroy him

1. I am sure you are as mad as you sound. I hope someone reaps you off and then you can make excuses for them.

2. I had to come and reply you specially because:

Obinwanne is a yahoo boy.
      Na who them catch be thief bros.
      Have a good day.

3. Some people are criminals even IF they are from same race or tribe with me.
      Let's stop painting words and say it as it is.
      Meanwhile, if and just if he were set up, he will be vindicated.

4. I bet most people in Egypt believed Joseph was guilty because his clothes were found in portiphar's wife's room when he fled from her.
      Joseph went to prison and it took many years for God to vindicate him.

God alone knows if Obinwanne is innocent , guilty or was set up.

Whatever the truth is, may he receive salvation and the love of Jesus Christ.

17. He have with him Emerald Cut engagement ring! That’s minimum of $400k. He is gonna lose all he worked for.
    Now back to square one. Say no to crime.

18. Did they also set him up with the emails? Or you did not read the email exchange between him and his cohorts?

19. say no fast money? i wonder where we are always in hurry to be , your money is not for show off but your personal enjoyment, not for pepper dem, may God help us all