Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ex- Prime Minister David Cameron Says Former President GEJ Stopped Britain From Rescuing Abducted Chibok Girls

Sunday, October 06, 2019

Ex- Prime Minister David Cameron Says Former President GEJ Stopped Britain From Rescuing Abducted Chibok Girls

Former British Prime Minister, David Cameron, has alleged that ex-President Goodluck Jonathan stopped Britain from rescuing some of the Chibok schoolgirls kidnapped by Boko Haram insurgents.

Cameron disclosed that the then government of Jonathan did not give enough support to Britain during the abduction of 274 schoolgirls from Chibok, Borno State in 2014.

In his memoir, “In For The Record,” the former British Prime Minister said his country’s troops traced the location of some of the victims and offered to help but Jonathan refused.

He said: “Iraq wasn’t the only place we would need our military to counter this extremist menace. Boko Haram in Nigeria was linked to al-Qaeda, and believed Western education and lifestyles were a sin (the meaning behind its name). It too wanted to institute a caliphate, and like ISIS it would use whatever barbaric means it thought necessary.

“In early 2014, a group of its fighters centered the government secondary school in the village of Chibok, seizing 276 teenage girls. They were taken to camps deep in the forest. The Christians among them were forced to convert to Islam. Many were sold as slaves, entering the same endless violent nightmare the Yazidi women suffered.

“As ‘Bring Back Our Girls’ campaign spread across the world, we embedded a team of military and intelligence experts in Nigeria, and sent spy planes and Tornadoes with thermal imaging to search for the missing girls. And, amazingly, from the skies above a forest three times the size of Wales, we managed to locate some of them.

The former Prime Minister stated that he expected Jonathan to handle the Chibok issue better.

“But Nigeria’s president, Goodluck Jonathan, seemed to be asleep at the wheel. When he eventually made a statement, it was to accuse the campaigners of politicising the tragedy. And absolutely crucially, when we offered to help rescue the girls we had located, he refused.”
from dailypost

19 comments:

1. Jonathan and his administration was a failure.

1. ......... And your Buhari is a " suksex". He's really succeeded in tackling Boko Haram within his 5yrs. Shior

2. @survivor, is success relative?

2. Waiting for Teejay's robust response.

3. Sigh!
    This is so sad to read!
    And to think this same GEJ and his team said nobody was kidnapped! That it was all political propaganda against his government and his re-election!!!!
    The day God starts to take vengeance against all these our past leaders ehn... that day will be a cold long Day and that d »Day is coming soon!

4. Imagine! Sebi his supporters will keep shouting that he's the hero of their time. Smh.

5. What! And this is the man we’re calling hero of democracy?

6. I believe him. While David Cameron isn't exactly a choirboy, the British government doesn't play with the lives of its citizens in the way that Nigeria does. Playing politics with her people's lives on the daily. Has nobody never wondered how and why it is that the wives and children of certain people in certain areas of Nigeria don't ever get kidnapped?

OA

7. Stella, it's not true o. GEJ has replied him.

8. And has Iraq 🇮🇶 been RESCUED???? They shd carry there political twisted help far away. Northerners shd continue to kill them selves hissss

9. You people believe this liar? Cameron tell us the bargain you did with him that made him refused.. you cannot wake up and say you want to help Nigeria without wanting something in return.. Cameron that put UK in chaos with the EU then he ran away? You want to rescue Nigeria. Indeed

1. YOu are so brilliant.

2. Of course it wasn't for nothing. But one difference between the British and the Nigerian governments is that while the Brits make deals that put their citizens at an advantage, ours do whatever it takes to benefit themselves PERSONALLY. Then, they apply for British residency or citizenship.

From OBJ & Tony Blair whose actions kicked off the current Bakassi situation. To "Mama Bakassi", the Senator Florence Ita-Giwa - that witch we should actually hang for treason cos she sat back and let it happen. To Nnamdi Kanu who took a deal that helped him disappear from Nigeria and reappear in Israel, playing his own people from the start. FFK, GEJ, even Buhari are all the same.

OA

3. Exactly , what was Britain's bargain. They definitely will only assist where they have something greater to gain.

10. GEJ typing
    Ffk typing
    Reno omokri typing

You will see them coming out to defend this and call it bullshit.

11. Hero, for where? But I think he is better than dem dem wey dey there now.

12. GEJ has since replied to this report. He said it was false.
    APC and PDP playing "tente" ..always using very sensitive issues to arouse the people's sensibility.
    What went wrong? 🤔

13. Mr Cameron, since GEJ left in 2015, why haven't the chibok girls been rescued? What is stopping their rescue?. Britain can never do anything free for Africa or Nigeria. What did they ask for in return? What about Dapchi girls kidnap? How come they haven't been rescued?.

14. The rescue operation could "possibly" have come with a quid pro quo arrangement. Just saying sha. Bcos I don't most times trust foreign powers like that when it comes to issues of this nature. The war in Iraq has become abasha, na different factions dey fight.

Although GEJ no too do well bcos stories had it then that for 2 weeks of the abduction, oga Jonathan was skeptical about it.