Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Elvina Ibru Says She Hopes To Meet The Armed Robber That Assaulted Her Years Back

Tuesday, November 26, 2019

Actress Elvina Ibru Says She Hopes To Meet The Armed Robber That Assaulted Her Years Back

Elvina Ibru, Nollywood actress, says she would love to meet her 2004 rapist, expressing confidence of seeing the armed robber again.

Ibru, who played the role of Mopelola in the blockbuster movie ‘Bling Lagosians’, said this during an interview with NAN on Monday. She also urged rape victims to speak out.

According to her, having experienced the ugly incident, there was a need for others to take a cue from what she had been through which suggested her advocacy group.
“I was raped by an armed robber in 2004, it wasn’t my fault and not an incident that warrants me taking up microphone about, so I set up an advocacy group to address it,” she said.
“The group is to manage the young and old ones who had been through the same ugly incident like me. I know if I had to go all out to media about the situation, it will fizzle out.
“However, it is not something I have been silent about; I don’t know the person that raped me, but I will meet him again, I know I will meet him.”

The multi-talented actor and writer urged Nollywood stakeholders to be professional in their conduct, adding that the industry needed the touch of core professionals.

“Although I can say that I am not a veteran in the movies because I just spiced up my acting recently, but I have been on stage for a long time,” she said.
“What I can bring to the table for my colleagues is that they must be professional with their jobs as much as possible.

“There are times that we need to up our games as actors, producers and other professions in the film making industry; we need to be professional and do things right.
“The fault in our movies did not just happen because we lack money, they also come with the way we handle things as professionals, though, money is also a big factor.

“There are other things that are attached to film making which we need to look at to move the industry forward.”

from thecable.ng

25 comments:

1. She tried. No need trying to see him. I for don use death pursue him and his households

1. I don't see why she should want to see him. No need opening scabs.

2. When she meets him, what would she do?

3. Each person has their own way of having closure. So dont for her, seeing him will not open scabbed wounds. It might just be the closure she needs.

4. ARMED ROBBERS WHY CAN'T YOU ROB AND GO AS YOUR MAIN BUSINESS...WHY DO YOU RAPE? TUEH!!!!

2. Peace be with u always Elvina

3. it will not change anything if you see the person. Move on, forgive yourself and allow karma do the rest.

1. "Forgive yourself' is that phrase abi clause applicable in her situation? Ndi grammar.

2. Forgive herself? Did I read correctly? Did I miss something?

Forgive herself? Jeez!

3. Forgive herself???? How? Why?????

4. Possibly she might be blaming herself for what happened. Victims sometimes do. I am not excited courtesy.

4. So even if its before Pastors case with Dakolo, you think he will like to come out and meet with you? And now that he would surely end up in prison, you want him to come out and meet you? Am just cock sure you woke up from deep slumber and began to nurse the idea of seeing a criminal that will end up in the long arm of the law! Any way, continue to dream and may be (if you are not yet married) he may end up being your husband!

1. fool shut up...she made a statement and did not say her reason but in your foolishness you are here analyzing nonsense...i hate old men will children sense

2. You need to be raped to understand her. So, I pray for you this day, that you can walk in her shoes in order to understand how she feels.

3. People can really reason through their anus. So many unintelligent beings nowadays. Did she state the reason she would want to see him? Common sense should even tell you it's probably for closure.

5. This is rare.
    A raped Nigerian lady will still claim to be a virgin.
    I wish people will begin to see the rapist as the villain
    and the raped as a victim.

6. Kai! This is a hard thing to do.

7. How does facing your abuser feel like, it must be so terrifying. Before she could achieve this she really need to make a lot of findings.

8. Oyibo people would say she only wants closure.

It's well...

9. Such a traumatic experience. Thank God she came out stronger, I like he look though. She's quite pretty.

10. My uncle used to molest me from age 13-19. I am in my thirties now. The last time I saw him, he couldn't stay in the same house with me. He ran away. I don't hold grudge against him, but until the day he man up and apologize to me, he'd keep running, and I will not absolve him of his guilt.