Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Federal Government Orders Reduction Of Data Cost Within 5 Days

Thursday, November 07, 2019

Federal Government Orders Reduction Of Data Cost Within 5 Days

The Federal Government of Nigeria has ordered Telcos in Nigeria to reduce cost of data within five days but the Telcos are kicking against it..

Telecom operators in Nigeria said yesterday that the directive by the Federal Government that cost of data should be reviewed downward in five days is “unrealistic and insensitive” considering the high operating cost in the country.

The Association of Licensed Telecommunications Operators of Nigeria (ALTON) told DailyTrust.com yesterday that the Federal Government’s directive was “dictatorial and could scare away investors from the country.”

The Minister of Communications and Digital Economy, Dr Isa Ali Ibrahim Pantami, yesterday, directed the Board and Management of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) to resolve the issues of illegal data deduction and review downwards, the price of data within five days.

The minister pointed out that there were numerous complaints from Nigerians regarding illegal data deduction and high price of data, adding that he had personally experienced illegal data deduction.

“I am urging the management of NCC to work towards reducing the price of data in Nigeria. It is too costly and people are complaining every day,” the minister said.

“If you go to other countries, even countries that are not as largely populated as Nigeria, data prices are not this high. I am also a victim of some of the infractions that are so common in the industry. You load your data but you barely use 20 per cent of it and the entire data is wiped off.

*Data sellers on this Blog i expect to see new prices when you send for advert after 5 days oh....

50 comments:

1. Something that is supposed to be free of charge mtsheeew

2. And BVs rejoice! 😁😁😁

3. Sometimes I keep wondering how 2 gig will finish in less than 2 weeks. I only visit Stella's blog. I don't do fb or instagram.

1. whosai 2gb last up to two weeks? mine is 6.5gb in two weeks time i am out of data.

4. good one, they should please review data cost. Sometimes you will even be thinking that the data is licking off.

1. Lmao @ data licking off ,

Even dstv subscription needs to be reviewed biko .

2. True dstv and gotv sub should be reviewed I don't know y it is expensive am sure dey don't pay this much in South Africa

3. we are really suffering in this country with data and cable subscription. Something need to be done fast.

5. Angel they should reduce it, you load data before you say jack, finished! MTN is the worst, they suck it with a pipe, i don port to airtel

1. 9mobile is worse than mtn
      I use airtel too but some times their network can be shitty .

2. it is like that with all these service provider.

3. Airtel sef get their own for body.no be airtel I dey use? 4gb doesn’t last upto 2wks

4. If u say airtel is worst, then pls try mtn! Na there u go say village people are following u!

5. Etisalat is the worst. I use Airtel but it’s still okay.

6. Airtel is terrible

7. 9mobile is the grand master of them all. Mtn is licking licking network.

8. 9mobile data is the most expensive of all. Glo own good but the network can frustrate somebody.

9. Etisalat is the worst data they are bunch of criminals

6. It's only in Nigeria you pay too much for everything. Everybody wants quick rich money.

7. I just tire for MTN,the way their data use to finished is so surprise and frustrating.

8. MTN take note

I suspect 800mb is their 1GB

9. I hope they do. We can't be doing monthly sub 3x a week.

10. The government has made doing business very expensive and difficult, this fee, that tax, yet they want the business operators to offer their services at cheap rates.
    How will they make their money? Pay their staff? It is the same Nigerian citizens that the telcos employ oh.
    I’m not saying the data costs are ok, but the problem is not from the telcos, the government should do the needful. Start with power at least. If you know what these people expend on diesel and gen maintenance ehn, ‘afraid’ will catch you!!

The fish starts to rot from the head. If the govt doesn’t fix itself and starts giving these people ultimatums anyhow, na the Nigerian citizenry go still suffer am.

1. 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼 God bless you ojare.

2. Telecommunications:voice and data. They basically use the same basic equipment. They also.make profits from voice calls.

11. After the reduction in prices,they will now make the data finish quick.
    Give with the right hand and collect with the left.

12. The rate at which I check my Hotspot to ensure I didn't leave it on they marvel me ooo, I don port to Glo I can't come and go and kill myself

1. when they frustrate your life you will break their sim. I have all network sim cards, i keep changing sim like i am changing dress.

13. 1 gig is already #500 some even #450 how much do they want them to sell now #100 ?..all i know is that they should look into how the data gets finished

1. that is what they are taking about not the selling of data.

14. Please can they extend this to the banking sector ☹️ It will really make a great impact. I don suffer for Diamondbank hands since 2016 that salary account was opened. Unnecessary hidden deduction while carrying out transfers. Every 2 weeks, Fidelity debits my account of N52.50 for card maintenance. Biko, what are they maintaining ontop the card 😤.

Finally, CBN , please reduce the $$$ exchange to 200/240. It will really go a long way for those of us that have sick ones that needs serious medical attention. Please I beg of y’all. It’s so heart wrenching. Thank you in advance.

15. MTN una own too much. They should review it biko

16. Kamilu aliyu haruna7 November 2019 at 14:10

wellplay MTN reduce your data price please 🙏

17. This is good.
    Please, the federal Govt should also regulate DSTv and Co. for prepared Billings too.

18. They should quickly reduce it. The velocity with which the data moves ehn

19. ALL NETWORKS IN NIGERIA SUCKS DATA, I DO SUBSCRIBE 1GB EVERY DAY JUST TO BE ONLINE ON WHATSAPP AND FACEBOOK. I'LL CELEBRATE NIGERIA ���� IF THIS ONE MISSION IS ACHIEVED.

20. MTN is worst. You will buy data MTN will just be using it with you ahan kilode

21. MTN is worst. You will buy data MTN will just be using it with you. Kilode

22. MTN is worst. You will buy data MTN will just be using it with you. Kilode

23. 1 GB last 4 3days u sub dey will b using it together wit u on top which level sumtin Dat is suppose 2 b free