Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gov Sanwo Olu Of Lagos No Longer Wants To Be Addressed As ''His Excellency''

Thursday, November 07, 2019

Gov Sanwo Olu Of Lagos No Longer Wants To Be Addressed As ''His Excellency''

The Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, on Wednesday announced that he should no longer be addressed to as ‘His Excellency.’

In a statement the Governor personally signed and made available to DAILY POST, he noted that only God should bear such titles.

He said that as a Governor he is only servant appointed by the people and as such should be called “Mr. Governor.”

He explained, “In the last five months that I have been privileged to exercise the mandate freely given to me by the great and hardworking people of Lagos State, it has come to my consciousness to review certain features of citizen-government relations which impede the genuine expression of the democratic spirit of our society and the meaningful exercise of the sovereignty of our people.

“The office of the Governor has been celebrated as the paragon of excellence, a temple of perfection and a throne of purity.

“This demi-god mystique spreads over the entire machinery of the executive arm of the government, symbolising an authoritarian disposition on the governed.

“It has deformed the orientation of elected and appointed persons who are paid from the taxes of the people to see themselves as oppressors who can do no wrong and must be served, rather than serve the people.

“Whatever might have been the reason for this myth, let us be honest, the office is occupied by a mortal who has been called upon to serve the electorate with humility – and sincerity. The office of Governor is a public trust that calls for sacrifice, modesty and willingness to add value to the lives of the people.

“Fellow Lagosians, I have come to the conclusion that for us to change the narrative of governance, we have to strike down this seeming symbol of executive arrogance that commands popular obeisance and undermines the democratic role of citizens as the masters of those they have elected and appointed to serve.

“It is a conviction that I believe will send the right signals to all politicians and civil servants that service to the people has brought us here. It is the duty we are obliged to do. It is the responsibility that we bear wherever we find ourselves; whenever we are called to serve.

“Only God, the Almighty, the Creator, the Protector is the Most Excellent. No man can share His eternal qualities.

“Thenceforth, I wish to be addressed simply as Mr. Governor, a title that will constantly remind me that I have been chosen out of so many fellow compatriots to lead a collective salvage of our political economy.

“A salutation that sanitises the paraphernalia of office and reminds us all of our imperfections and mortality. To give official effect to this announcement, I shall issue tomorrow an executive order that will formally ensure full compliance with this new policy.”

*Press release on top new name```Mr Governor the smooth talker,we have heard you,please get to work!!!!
PS - not hatng oh,I like you but na so so talk you dey since...

24 comments:

1. Mr Man just get to work... We don't care what you'll liked to be addressed as.... During campaign we were seeing you everywhere, even in our dreams, now, we no dey see your break lightπŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

1. Sanwolu 🎡🎡Work, work, work, work, work, work🎡🎡 **in Rihanna's voice

2. Sanwo Olu is all talk and no work.

Shut up and get to work already.

3. We don't even need your new name MR. Governor, we are fine with SANWO... Pay us, lets see the money, let it flow, we need a better life. Let your name SANWO have effect on us first.

4. This man just disappoint me and a lot of people.
      Just get to work and stop all this in our face comment.

2. Just make Lagos habitable again, the masses are suffering for your incompetence and lackadaisical attitude.

3. Make he work. We don hear. I have missed commenting with my blog ID

1. This one never ready work o!

4. Distraction techniques. From time nko? What has been excellent about any of you shameless lot? You will kuku still steal our money anyway.

5. This man that eze mmou has used his brain. Pointious pilate

6. We have heard you sir

7. Dude is a serial noise maker.This is the same thing he did when he was boss at LSDPC.Very silly fellow

8. This man need to get to work. Lagos roads are horrible now.

9. When Ambode told us this man get issue, we think say na political game. See him don dey manifest. Oga go do de work .

10. We don hear, go and work biko!!

11. This man has mental issues he should be taken back to the...

12. This man should start working already, several roads are no longer motorable, no adequate security, nothing is working. Get to work, Man. Incompetence at its Peak.

13. When this man started jumping from Apapa to Bariga to Surulere and all on his first day in office, I just laughed because I know its all for show... He has practically turn to a ghost, we only hear him talk but no work done. We now spend about 3 hours from Abulegba to Oshodi, a journey less than 15 mins

14. Ok we have noted it down, but biko, please Lagos road are getting worst, buckle up already and start work.

15. Noted sir in pages 15 of my journal now get to work Mr governor

16. Enter your comment...it's OK, we heard you. Time for work Mr governor