Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: INEC Gives N1.9m Cheque To Family Of Corps Member Who Died During Electoral Process....

Wednesday, November 20, 2019

INEC Gives N1.9m Cheque To Family Of Corps Member Who Died During Electoral Process....

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has presented a cheque of N1.9 million to the family of Late Miss Kemisola Adeniran, a corps member who died in Oyo State during the electoral process.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the cheque was presented to the deceased’s next of kin and sister, Mrs Folasade Adeyemi, at INEC office in Ibadan on Tuesday.

NAN recalls that the late Adeniran, who was until her death serving in Ona-Ara Local Government Area of Oyo State, died in February, in a road accident while returning from INEC training.

Dr Mutiu Agboke, the State Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), said that the commission had acted in line with its life insurance policy for election officials, including adhoc personnel before and during elections.

“On behalf of the commission and entire INEC staff in Oyo State, I wish to express my profound deep regret for the loss of our illustrious daughter/corps member.
We also express the sincere condolence of the commission to the family over this irreparable loss.

“Though, the commission’s insurance policy makes provision for both permanent and adhoc staff, nothing can be counted worthy for the life lost.This presentation of token is just to cushion the effect of this irreparable loss to the deceased family,” he said.

Mrs Eniola Ambekemo, the State Coordinator, NYSC, commended INEC for fulfilling its agreement on the corps members in terms of insurance.

She described deceased’s death as very unfortunate, saying she would have passed out of service with her colleagues in October.

Ambekemo also thanked God that no corps members died in the recently conducted election in Kogi and Bayelsa states.

Adeyemi, the deceased’s sister who received the cheque on behalf of the family, appreciated INEC and NYSC for standing by the family.

“God says we should give thanks in all situations and circumstances. Though, it is hard to bear, but we have to accept it as the will of God,” she said.
from dailypost

23 comments:

1. You people ( govt& Inec) should stop giving this nonsense money. Do something about all these electoral violence rocking the nation.
    What is the #million Naira compared to human lives.
    Stupid, callous and insensitive lots!!!!

1. Did you read the artcle???
      Go and read again, she died in a road traffic accident.
      I feel like abusing sha but...

2. Exactly like the money will bring him back

3. @8:25. You feel like abusing me. On top of what Keanu?
      Go down and read what I erote, even before this your rant.
      Let's get started with the "abusing" and see who wins. Mtchewwww

4. @8:25. You feel like abusing me. On top of what Kwanu?
      Go down and read what I erote, even before this your rant.
      Let's get started with the "abusing" and see who wins. Mtchewwww

2. May her soul rest in peace. Though her death was tru an accident. But GOVT & INEE shld try n curb electoral violence , please.

1. INEC is only to conduct elections and dont have the jurisdiction on security...Blame your immature government who must rig elections thru violence...

2. My dear, na the vex we dey catch me o jare.
      It's actually the stupid govt that can never get anything right that's to be blamed.
      May her soul rest in peace

3. Una for round up the money now. Abi the remaining 100k na for VAT. RIP corper.

4. But this money is very small compare to the money this politicians spend on themselves on daily basis

5. For N1.9million she Risked her life and Died?? Why do these corps members still take up these jobs during Elections? Or they see as a way to commit suicide? I'm confused , with all the violence and deaths, they still apply.. 1.9m that he /she would have earned more than in few years on getting a job and tarising care of their family.. shit hole country.

6. Na wa. If they don't sacrifice, how will the elections hold.

Pity innocent girl had to pay with her life

7. God forbid that I or anyone close to me die for this country. I reject that type of sacrifice abeg. Rip to her.

8. Too bad, may her Soul continue to RIP .

9. This is Nigeria.
    Where inec prefers to pay condolence visit and give a token for the dead, than improve the electoral process

10. What is actually sad is that people who have no idea her struggles in school and to become what she was will still join in benefitting from the money.

11. Kachi,kindly read the article again,she didn't die as a result of election violence but an accident while returning from training

12. ...Pls let's be guided and not apply sentiments to everything, though no amount of money, even a billion naira won't cure the loss, but if INEC refuse to pay a dime, even the court of law won't hold dem against it. As at the time of her death, she had no bond or agreement with INEC yet, as she hasn't concluded the training exercise, to be shortlisted, she hasn't filled the oath of secrecy and other forms.... Many did their best to go for the trainings and still couldn't make it to work. Another point was that she was an Ona Ara LG corper and accident didn't take place in the LGA. So I can still appreciate them for thinking outside the box here and doing something okay for once.