Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Invictus Obi Forfeits N280million To Nigerian Government

Friday, November 22, 2019

Invictus Obi Forfeits N280million To Nigerian Government

The Federal High Court sitting in Lagos has ordered that the sum of N280,555,010 traced to Obinwanne Okeke be forfeited to the Federal Government.

Justice Rilwan Aikawa ordered the forfeiture following the submissions of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) counsel Rotimi Oyedepo.

The EFCC lawyer had told the court that the funds were warehoused in the Nigerian bank accounts of Invictus Oil and Gas Limited and Invictus Investment Limited, respectively.

The anti-graft agency had also said the two firms were owned by Invictus Obi whom it described as, “a strong leader of a cyber-crime syndicate that specialises in business e-mail compromise.”

The court had first ordered a temporary forfeiture of the money on Monday, October 7.

Okeke, a celebrated Nigerian entrepreneur and a Forbes Africa 30 Under 30 honoree is currently remanded in jail in the United States of America where he is standing trial over an alleged $11m cyber fraud.

He was arraigned in an American court on August 9 on charges of computer and wire fraud.

But Okeke pleaded not guilty to two counts of wire and computer fraud of about $11m fraud at his first hearing.

United States’ Federal Bureau of Investigation said Okeke and at least six other persons were involved in the crimes.

“There is a probable cause to believe Okeke has conspired with several individuals to access computers without authorisation and using such access to cause the fraudulent wire transfer of funds,” FBI’s special agent Marshall Ward said in an affidavit he deposed to before Justice Lawrence Leonard, in Norfolk, Virginia, on August 2.

The affidavit also sought a warrant to arrest Okeke who was in the United States at the time.
from guardian.ng

The grand jury ordered that Okeke should be made to forfeit at least $11 million in asset and an emerald shaped diamond engagement ring found on him when he was first arrested by federal agents as he was about leaving the U.S. on August 6.

Okeke will remain in custody till 2020 without bond as he awaits trial on two counts of wire and computer fraud of about $11m fraud, a judge ruled Monday.

The presiding judge Douglas Miller at the Newport News Virginia federal courthouse said the case is “complex”, hence Okeke should be remanded in prison until February 18, 2020, when the trial would continue.

24 comments:

1. Hnmmm, so where's the final resting place of the money? Na wah!

2. N.a. wa ooo,I wonder how the wife would be feeling since the beginning of this case,cos I heard she just put to bed....

1. She was enjoying the money before this so she will take solace in the enjoyment she has had.

2. Let her wipe her tears with her stash and move on..

3. Fed govt biko share this money for us now... There is hunger in the land. #enugne

4. What are they using all these money for????One person somewhere will just corner all

5. Someone should write a book about this guy. Fantastic story that will serve as a lesson. In the end crime never pays.

6. Nawa oooooo youths learn how to hustle legit, so as to enjoy your money in peace.

7. I still can't believe that this is the same obinwanne that I use to sit in the same chair with in primary school, you have this kind of money and youth are suffering in our village.you did not even empower anyone with the so called money,the most funny thing is that most of your family members are struggling too.

1. Abeg go and sit down! You have this kind of money and youths are suffering yen yen yen...is she obligated to help youths in his village? Is he your village politician or local govt that should empower your village youths? Nigerians and their false sense of entitlement. You people always like to corner people into helping. Even if he helped would the beneficiaries share in his punishment now that he's being caught? Mtchew

2. Anonymous 10:16
      You spoke my mind on this. Imagine he is not pained that a young man guilty or innocent is languishing in jail but rather that he didn't share his looth with them. For im mind na. He wished he was somewhere enjoing Obinna 's wealth while the loiter rots in Jail. This is the typical mindset of Nigerians. How wish everyone was like me and never put their hands in hot water in order to please others. At the end of the day the same people who feasted off you will be the ones to mock you the most.

3. See sense of entitlement oooo. Nigerians and these mentality en.Is he a politician? why should he empower the youths in your village?

4. This nonsense entitlement from Nigerians is sad, no one owes you anything, he has the right to spend his money how he wants, he is in trouble now with no one, he is not owing you or his village people.

5. How I wished he shared it so that you can share his jail time as well if at all possible. Yeye dey smell like you helped him with the ideas.

8. Beautiful brains that was wrongly channeled. Since he is young hopefully even from prison he can use this brain productively.

9. I still can't believe that this is the same obinwanne that I use to sit in the same chair with in primary school, you have this kind of money and youth are suffering in our village.you did not even empower anyone with the so called money,the most funny thing is that most of your family members are struggling too.

10. And the money will find its way into another person's pocket

11. All these money they forfeiting to federal government will enter one person’s pocket

12. Any money coming back to the Nigerian govt will still end up in "ole gbe, ole gba". They are all the same joor. Won't use it for the benefit of the masses... Dem go pieces am among themselves. Hmmmmmmu