Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Woman Temitope Olaiya Who Pleaded Guilty On Multiple Crimes Set To Be Jailed

Monday, November 11, 2019

Nigerian Woman Temitope Olaiya Who Pleaded Guilty On Multiple Crimes Set To Be Jailed

A Nigerian born-woman Temitope Ayoni Olaiya, a.k.a Tammy Olaiya, faces on 28 February, 2020 a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 years in prison over the importation of 7kg of cocaine into the United States.

The 40 year-old woman also faces sentencing for her role in a bank fraud scheme, and to making false statements relating to fraudulent claims submitted to Medicaid for reimbursement.

She pleaded guilty to all the offences.

U.S. District Judge Liam O’Grady accepted the plea. Assistant U.S. Attorney Katherine E. Rumbaugh is prosecuting the case, according to a statement by Department of Justice, U.S. Attorney’s Office, Eastern District of Virginia.

“Tammy Olaiya is a ‘triple threat’ of criminality – drug trafficker, a fraudster, and a liar,” said G. Zachary Terwilliger, U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Virginia.

“Olaiya, a Nigerian immigrant who has spent the last two decades with the privilege of living in the United States as lawful permanent resident, clearly has zero respect for American laws pertaining to our borders, controlled substances, our financial system, or our health care system.”

According to court documents, Tammy residing in Hyattsville, Maryland, recruited men from the greater Washington, D.C. area to act as drug courier; i.e., to travel to foreign countries to obtain drugs to bring back into the United States.

Olaiya opened bank accounts in the couriers’ names, assisted them in obtaining passports and visas, and booked their travel arrangements. The couriers that Olaiya recruited traveled primarily to São Paulo, Brazil, where they picked up kilogram quantities of cocaine hidden in the lining of soft-sided briefcases or attaché cases. Altogether, law enforcement seized nearly seven kilograms of cocaine at three different U.S. airports from three separate couriers recruited by Olaiya.

In addition to the cocaine importation scheme, Olaiya also submitted falsified and fraudulent claims to the D.C. Department of Health Care Finance (DHCF), a health care benefit program funded by Medicaid.

Olaiya worked as a personal care aide for various home health agencies in the Washington D.C. area, and in order to receive payment for services rendered, Olaiya was required to submit timesheets signed by her clients documenting the services rendered. Instead of submitting time sheets for time actually worked providing health care services, Olaiya recruited Medicaid recipients to act as her “patients” and to sign her falsified timesheets in return for a small amount of money as a kickback. On at least two occasions, Olaiya billed DHCF for home health services she claimed to have provided while she was out of the country.

Olaiya also used her African goods business, FINEST FASSHIONS AFRICAN FABRICS at 7429 Annapolis Road, Hyaatsville in Maryland to carry out a bank fraud. Olaiya used accounts with payment platforms Square and Stripe to make fraudulent charges on stolen credit card numbers. Between June and December 2017, Olaiya submitted, or caused to be submitted, $381,500 in fraudulent credit card charges to the Stripe account.

Thereafter, Olaiya switched over to Square, and in the course of about two months, racked up more than $100,000 in fraudulent charges. When Square informed Olaiya that the true account holder had challenged the transaction, Olaiya created handwritten, falsified invoices documenting items purportedly purchased by the account holder, and provided the fake invoices to Square.

According to the US Attorney Office, Eastern District of Virginia, the case was prosecuted as part of Organized Crime Drug Enforcement Task Force (OCDETF) Operation Girl From Ipanema.

The OCDETF program is a federal multi-agency, multi-jurisdictional task force that supplies supplemental federal funding to federal and state agencies involved in the identification, investigation, and prosecution of major drug trafficking organisations. The principal mission of the OCDETF program is to identify, disrupt, and dismantle the most serious drug trafficking, weapons trafficking, and money laundering organisations, and those primarily responsible for the nation’s illegal drug supply.

The U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement’s (ICE) Homeland Security Investigations (HSI) Washington, D.C., and the Medicaid Fraud Control Unit of the DC Office of Inspector General provided significant assistance with the investigation.
from pmnews

21 comments:

1. Operation. Girl from Ipanema.. l don’t understand why people commit such crimes in this country. Truth is, luck always runs out on them. Besides, this District of Virginia, is one of the worst states to think you would get fair trial. Well, she made her bed. Time to sleep soundly on it.

2. And after doing her time, she will be deported to Nigeria to continue her lawless and wayward lifestyle

1. There will be no waste of time.. Green card gone. Just like that because of greed.

2. She will start life of trafficking girls because she is used to crime

3. A woman committed this crime 🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄

1. I don't believe she is acting alone. I suspect she is involved in a crime syndicate.

4. Just see how greed just finished this lady.

She had an decent job and even a nice business yet, she was out courting crime and illegality!

Oya naa, do the time!

20 years in the 'aboard' just gone down the drain 😲

1. @8:54 *a* decent job not *an* decent job.

*abroad* not *in the abroad.*

This Lagos version of English Language is terrible.

5. hmmmm Nigerians,that is how my friend's brother managed to enter us army, we were all happy, you can imagine this guy despite the huge amount they pay us army, still went and commit fraud, multiple identity theft, infact if you google his name now, you will be shocked, he's now in jail now, he's building a big hotel here in Nigeria, and their mom is a great mother, just that her ki

6. You have the opportunity to make a good life for yourself yet you choose to be on the fast lane.

7. Na really King if Boys. When person dey deal w the white powder, nit only that, she has people working for her , going in/out of Yankee to bring the stuff🤯 wow wow, wow. Her level is far up there in the crime racket. Madam the Don, the Capo. And I know her freaking store which she uses as a front to launder.

They wee not listen oo. In Yankee, they will so so catch you.

Her Medicare fraud sef, she's on the petit scheming side. However still liable to be charged. This Medicare shigidi, na Cameroonians hit the biggest in this DMV area in the millions.

Even as these prosecutions are on going, some of our people are still deeping their hands in the pot & they are monitoring them already. They will catch them like fish. Bull shit.

1. I wonder why these people can't stop. You have done the fraud and drug business,you have made big money. You used it for a thriving business,you are into care work,you can even set up a home. And leave this life of crime and face family. But it's like they are cursed,they can't just leave the lifestyle.
      Like one that was toasting me. Even though I heard he's left fraud and is now into oil and Gas. How do i introduce someone with such past to my parents. I never even allowed him to enter my compound. My parents will be wandering where such a young guy got such money.

2. Greed , Wickedness, Selfishness, Easy Money and Covetousness keeps pushing them

3. Kent Okojie he's still into fraud and just using oil and gas to cover face

8. Greed, greed, greed!
    It has no gender, age, race/tribe.

See how she repaid a country that gave her a good job and permanent residency! Awful!!

This woman is a bad Nigerian tainting the many good, honest, hardworking ones.

9. After them go say na her family witch.
    Na lie.
    Na she be the witch proper.
    Has she a family at all?
    Heartless wretched winsh-craft.
    Good thing is; she seems to have repented by pleading guilty to all her heinous deeds.
    Let's pray and hope she truely repents in and after doing her time

10. I don't think this woman is normal, how did she involve in multiple crimes, like these, despite having genuine opportunities?