Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC Opposes Former Gov Orji Kalu’s Post-Conviction Bail Application

Wednesday, December 18, 2019

EFCC Opposes Former Gov Orji Kalu’s Post-Conviction Bail Application

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, on Tuesday December 17, 2019, opposed a post-conviction bail application filed by convicted former governor of Abia State, Orji Uzor Kalu, before Justice Muhammed Liman of the Federal High Court sitting in Ikoyi, Lagos. .

Kalu was convicted and sentenced to 12 years imprisonment for N7.65bn fraud by Justice Muhammed Idris of the Federal High Court, Ikoyi, Lagos on December 5, 2019. .
In the application, Kalu, through his lawyer, Lateef Fagbemi, SAN, claimed that he had health challenges that could not be managed by the medical facilities in the Custodial Centre in Ikoyi, Lagos.

Kalu, in the 34-paragraph further affidavit with one exhibit attached, also argued that the offences for which he was convicted and jailed were bailable.

He, therefore, prayed the court to free him, while he challenges his conviction at the Court of Appeal.

However, Rotimi Jacobs, SAN, counsel to the respondent, EFCC, opposed the application for post-conviction bail, saying, “Although bail is generally a right of an accused as guaranteed by the Constitution, it is not a right available to a convict because the presumption of innocence had crystallized into guilt and conviction. .

“An application for bail pending appeal is sparingly granted.”

Jacobs further stated that such a bail could be granted in a situation, where the term of imprisonment would have elapsed before the determination of the appeal.

11 comments:

1. Heeya, guy man no wan do New year for prison. Anyway, that is your penalty

2. He is now a jail bird wat ever u want will be given adequately by the authorities so stay there until they find ur replacement and then u can sneak. U no go stay reach 3 months max wicked soul

3. Very good Efcc, this heartless criminal shouldn't have access to Bail

4. This people will always use health issues to lie.

5. They should put in Aba prison, I want to check something

6. Vanity upon vanity. Oga I don't pity you. You are the one that keep Aba at the ugly state it is up until now.

7. As usual on health ground. Useless politicians with factitious excuses.

8. When they contest for elections they will all claim fit, no health issue but when they commit a crime and jail is mentioned, all of them will have health challenge they cannot manage in jail....go serve your time, betrayer of your own people

9. So with all the money he stole and all the jargons he talk he no sick now he is convicted he suddenly becomes sick

10. IF NIGERIAN GOVERNORS AND POLITICIANS HAVE SENSE, THEY WILL DEVELOP THE PRISONS WELL AND PUT VIP SECTION AND VIP LOUNGE, IN CASE THEY EVENTUALLY GO THERE. WAS IT NOT EL CHAPO THAT DID THAT IN MEXICO???
    AT LEAST, LET SOMETHING WORK IN THIS COUNTRY.
    NONSENSE AND KALU