Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Employee Resigns After His Company Paid For Him To Undergo Training Abroad

Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Employee Resigns After His Company Paid For Him To Undergo Training Abroad

A Nigerian entrepreneur has expressed disappointment after an employee who was sent to Dubai for training handed in his resignation.....

Happens all the time..............

43 comments:

1. But why??.maybe he wants to abscond and had a Rethink

1. It cant happen in my company! My legal department will tie you to a bond that only death can set you free from. You walk away, you and your next company pays through you f****d up noses. You must serve a certain length of time b4 you can walk away.

2. You might tie him down true. He will stay and continue doing mediocre work for you.

2. He would have given him an agreement to sign. He has learnt his lesson

1. Exactly..Employer na Okoto meow meow skrr you dey yarn so...

2. Exactly, the employee is so wrong!! How do you choose to abscond from a sponsored training? What if he needs reference letter from the HR dept in the nearest future?

3. When the bible stated that we should trust no man, this is an example. In my office, you will execute legal documents that will keep you in the organisation for at least the next 2 years if you are to be sent for such trainings.

1. @Dibia
      Tomorrow now when a company employ your
      relative and refuses to train her/him, you write chronicles
      to elicit sympathy?

2. @Anonymous there is no room for sympathy here..The guy/employer is not smart..How about drawing a contract that the guy will not resign for 2years..The cry is unnecessary

3. That is the mind set of a poor man who has no dream of ever becoming and employer needless of training one.

4. Taking advantage of someone is NOT smart abeg. That's the reason many Nigerian owned companies don't sponsor staff's training unless there's a training bond.

The average Nigerian thinks of himself and himself alone. He doesn't think of how his actions will affect others.

Thanks to this staff, other staff would be denied sponsored training opportunities.

5. How is that smart biko? Wrong move abeg.

5. They would have had an agreement where the employee would sign that he's not going to leave the company within a certain year. The employee didn't do well at all. These people forget that they would one day be in the position of the employer. Very very painful.

6. The bird was let out of the cadge.
    Nigerians want to stay abroad at all cost.
    It is a huge shame that Nigerians hate this country so much.

1. Out of the CAGE.

2. Candix, I break any agreement. If they draw up an agreement that I can't leave for a certain number of years then I'll asked them to include that they can't lay me off for that same duration. If that clause isn't included, I will leave! People make spirtitual oats and break it let a lone man made agreement. E no dey happen to me!

7. Dog said that those that have nyash does not know how to sit.

8. A lot of Nigerians do this!!
    I know a naval officer who was sent to d UK in early 2000 for training, till now he hasn't return home..d two children he had before leaving all grown up now..

9. Even some of our actors took off once they landed abroad for movie shootings those days.

10. Did he remain in Dubai? life happens cha

1. Unless he finds a job in Dubai , Dubai is not a city you can become illegal immigrant .the person will suffer oh he won’t be able to do any job unless he end up working in deira as cargo boys .
      It’s very rare to find a Nigerian Architect in UAE .

2. Abi o. i have been to Dubai more than once and i see that the indigenes have the better jobs. i cant live there sha na to visit and return.

11. he bit the finger that fed him..he should remember that what goes around comes around

12. Stella,someone on twitter replied him of paying his staff 50k for three years and said the guy went for conference and not training .I can send you the screenshot

1. Even at that, courtesy demands that he at least comes back from the conference before dropping his resignation letter.
      It just means he chose to blow away the 3 years he spent working for the company because he sure won't get a good reference letter from that company should he need it in future.
      The workplace is becoming a global village so we must be wise in severing ties with employers when the time comes because you just can't tell who you will need to put in a word or two for you for the next job.

2. Fuck that courtesy! To get courtesy it has to be mutual. You don't expect what you dont give. Give a reasonable pay, create a good work environment and respect workers as they are human beings. Then expect that in return as an employer.

13. I know of someone who was sent abroad for training. On returning, his boss asked him to present the certificate so she could see it. On receiving it, she told him she'd help him put it in his file for safekeeping. A few weeks later, guy man started asking for an increase in salary. The woman refused, reason being that she just spent a huge amount of money to get him trained. It resulted into a big disagreement which spiralled into a court case. The court asked him to pay up all the money the company had spent on him and leave or remain and be silent. Guyman chose to pay and go.... From then on it was from frying pan to fire for him. He left without the certificate and still paid for the training.

1. Foolish pride

2. So what was the essence of going to the court without the certificate ?

3. Keke that's how you know fabu.

14. He will only get away with this conscienceless act, if the company didn't recognize all the appendages of such a deal.
    He should be made to pay the bond with a premium.
    He has just thought the company to be mean in future.

15. Since when did attending exhibitions in Dubai equal going to Dubai for training? Sefia lies...

@gumbucks pity the guy couldn't afford a good lawyer.

1. He couldn't even afford any lawyer. According to what he told me, he actually represented himself in court so he was chewed to pieces. I guess he didnt weigh his options properly.

2. You didn't see "paid so he could attend trainings there", abi?

The employer should have made him sign a training bond. He wouldn't make the mistake next time.

This world sef. People would just make you look bad for doing good.

16. Na today?? A lot of Athletes do not return home. Military personnel nko?? Do l blame them? Simply put, l wouldn’t

17. Sent to Dubai, a country flowing with beautiful buildings, job opportunities and women, and you expect him to come back to Nigeria?!?!?. Oga, God will reward your efforts. The man just had an epiphany. Free the man.

1. Job opportunities in Dubai ? 😂 maybe during the expo not right now

18. He was probably poached by a company in Dubai. Unfortunately the poachers offer so much oat and bonuses you couldn't meet it, the young and ambitious see a way of elevating in life and go for it. Despite all the scamming and bad things that go on, educated Nigerians have a solid reputation globally for their intelligence and being good workers. Another good employee is coming your way.

1. I don’t think so . It’s not easy for a *Nigerian* architect to get hired over here .. unless off courses he schooled here , the uk or so .

19. I don't understand and I can't relate
    Companies and organizations are meant to send you for trainings.

If you are working somewhere and you have never attended training then your HR needs to be reviewed because they don't know what they are doing.

Depending on the terms of employment, everyone can resign so far as they give advance notice as stated in their terms of employment.