Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sunday In House Gists -'Akawo' Gone South..

Sunday, December 29, 2019

Sunday In House Gists -'Akawo' Gone South..

'Akawo' is a slang and refers to giving money on daily basis to someone as savings or contribution and by the end of the year they will get back all their money..Another word for it is called Contribution.

..... Recently some 'Akawo' deals have gone South...

The money holders now run away with all the contributions, leaving some people frustrated and on the brink of hurting themselves...

This Christmas,some people could not collect their own share of contributions because some 'Akawo' ran off with the monies...

Are you among the lucky ones who collected or among the Unlucky ones?
Would you be contributing to 'Akawo' in the new year?

Personally,I don't believe in that 'Akawo' thing but if i must do it eh,It would be good to be the first to collect in case of stories that touch....

Let's gist

72 comments:

1. My aunt lost about 2hundred thousand naira to akawo. The girl ran away with the cash and uptill this moment, nothing! We don't even know if she's still alive.

1. The one that seems most trustworthy should be those among colleagues in an office. At least you have access to their full details.

I mean a standard and organization o, not mama nkiru makeup studio employees contribution.

2. Hmm Elizabeth Battery u say na mama nkiru wetin?😂😂😂😂

3. Yes, the one done at the office is usually reliable

4. Even the organisation I worked with was deemed reputable until it folded up and my colleague ran away with the contribution he collected. We tracked him down and that day my own money came out with the help of the police. Others haven't collected theirs till date. I say do contribution with Federal civil servants that's what I did this year. Can't give my money to an individual.

5. Stella I did it and I'm still regretting. When we were in Lagos I used to do contribution with a group of women in the neighbourhood and there was no problem. On moving to Kwara State, after almost a year and mixing with people, I decided to join them when my neighbour came to me with the idea. I and my husband joined hands and contributed 10k every month from June hoping to pack it in November ending or first week of December and use it to pay house rent. The leader disappeared when it got to my turn, first week of December, she was no where to be found and the other members said they have given her all their contributions, she was to hand over the money to me. I and the woman who was supposed to pack this December ending are still licking our wounds. I couldn't buy new clothes for myself or daughter or even cook any special dish on Christmas day because we had to gather every available cash and pay the house rent. I learnt the hard way.

2. I don't believe in contribution money at all! One woman like that dealt with my mum's money, she refused to give my mum her money when it got to her turn. I never trusted that woman from day one.

I also did contribution years back, I joined my girlfriend because the money was big but, the head of the contribution team was always travelling and when it got to our turn, she disappeared again. She came back after three months, thank God she came with our money.

Two people in this country absconded with thousands of euros from contribution monies. They're yet to be found.

Never again!!!

3. My friend and I were just talking about this akawo yesterday. she got duped . I laughed so hard , I could barely stand straight. She developed instant malaria when it happened to her. Her younger sister kept asking her "aunty, why are u sweating like this? Why are u sweating like this? She lost weight instantly. Some of those akawo people don't fear God.lol.Thank God she's calm now.

1. You were laughing at her? Dear onion, must you always make people cry? You look harmless but you are evil. Me and Pepper were discussing your duplicity the other day.

Try and change next year.

2. Your friend lost money and you laughed so hard, what's so funny about the situation ?? You're not a good person Onions.

3. Hahahaha with these kind of Ids. Both of you should change

4. Oh my goodness!!! Hahahahha... Onions and Tomato

5. Onions and tomatoes 🤣🤣🤣🤣

6. Lmao. Tomato please pity onions. BVs are something else.

7. Onions and tomatoes, Stella your bvs na case.

8. Don't mind Onions, Tomato. Very 2faced condiment. When I start my own now, everyone will start screaming.

9. Why do I have a feeling Onions is the same person as Tomato...*side eyes*...

10. Why am I 😂😂😂😂😂😂 so hard

Onion , pepper and tomato
      Y'all thanks for giving us Sunday jollof

11. We are chilling to see Maggi 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

12. Onion, pepper and tomatoes hmmm ok o. Maggi, salt, crayfish and oil come o.

13. Hahahahahahahahahahaha.... I'm done with you guys here😂😂😂😂😂😂

14. 🤣🤣🤣 onions and tomato

4. That was how one ran away with my money some years back.
    I vowed never to make such silly mistake of either saving or contributing my money to any of such entities..

As if that wasn't enough,my cousin who has been saving her money with the do called "Alajo" since January,is now counting her woes. He even wanted to pay her half of her money but she insisted on full payment.
    The man has not been seen or heard since two weeks ago.

The money wey the man carry go run into millions of naira.
    It's a very gloomy holiday for this people since a vast majority of them trusted him so much. Now he's no where to be found.

1. Well, I guess it works for some people. I can't be giving a human being like me my hard earned money, never. Anything can happen and I will never put myself in such a vulnerable situation. What happened to the bank?

5. I did last year. I wanted to save to buy a phone. It was for 5 months. I was the 4th person to collect. The money was Paid into my account when it was my turn. No stress . You have to know the people you are getting involved with I would say. Its not just enough to just join anywhere.

6. I remember vividly sometimes in November during Abacha's regime...the collector for my mum's thrift association ran away with their money..madam sent a message to the women that she had an accident and has been taken to another state for treatment...not knowing the young babe eloped with her bf to Asaba for marriage with their money. Mama nearly crase o...na we her children hold her tight 😂😂😂
    If we want to find her trouble we remind her of the marriage in Asaba

1. I use to do and no regrets. I did 2 different ones this year and i got my money back.

BV DOLLAR GODDESSES. ..

7. I dont do the one called Ajo where few people gather an amount and take turns to pack,I just saved a particular amount monthly though inconsistently😁 and packed this December,I intend to do same in 2020,no story,no pain!!!

8. I did some years ago with my sister and her friends. They all collected before me, when my turn reach, stories and till date I never collect.

It is better you do within the office with your colleagues. But no let God punish you when some of them are sacked. That is the end of your money.

I will advise do with 5 persons in the office

9. Started last year and I have managed to save a lot, 600k to be precise. The person in charge is a Church member and lives around my area so if anything happens, I know where to run to.

1. Too risky for me, I'll rather save in my secret account abeg.

10. It's risky. I don't even try to involve myself in such but my mum is a pro in it. She believes so much in it and so far, so good.

11. Have never done akawo but did something similar this year. The one I did this year was for food stuff. We contributed N4000 monthly and middle of December all went home with a bag of rice, a carton of super pack indomie noodles, 3 packets of seasoning cubes, a carton of spaghetti, 10 litres of vegetable oil, 10litres of red oil, 2packets of salt, half carton of tin tomatoes, 5 life chickens, 1 paint of crayfish, 2 derikas of dry pepper, 1 tin of beans, half bag of gari, 1 pack of pando and stock fish.

My Christmas celebration was lit and enough to last for sometime in 2020.

12. I do Ajor in my office , 6 people for 6 six months . I am the one handling it, source for fellow colleagues with good reputation.So far no complaint and we've been doing it for years.

13. We do this at work here in the US lol , initially i wasn't very convinced joining them. Ve heard stories of people eloping with the contribution money.
    Reason not all Osusu you join. Make sure you know everyone in the group personally.
    I got mine yesterday $7,500 cash , i did 500 bucks per pay period .
    It was tough lol bringing out 500 bi weekly cos of other bills but i know the expected end will be rosy.
    The ones in my group are all my colleagues and we see almost everyday, so no one is gonna pull a fast one on me.
    We are restarting again in April and yes i will be joining again

14. Around here, we call it ajo. My mum being a market woman is a steady adajo. The thing has helped her a lot oh with business and other things.

To the best of my knowledge, I don't think she's ever been duped. Her alajo even bought our wedding asoebi

15. Not Interested oooo.. Insead i will Buy Local Kolo and be Putting small small money inside..Akawo ni contribution ko....

1. Something you can break in a twinkle of an eye. Oga carpenter warned me not to bring it back to his shop after breaking and fixing five times 😂😂

2. Lol Castle, my husband has turned my carpenter 😀

3. That one I have stopped doing. I kept using needle to take out money and finally broke it. I can't have money and a family member is in need the monthly thing is better for me because I don't have access to it.

4. The best is to open a savings account with no ATM and be transferring the monthly savings to it. As a student I have saved 500k. Once the money in my main account is finished, I consider myself broke

16. This thing didn't work the first time I tried it, It was meant to be for 12 months i.e. 12 people, I decided to take 2 slots that consumed almost all my salary then. My former colleague introduced me to it, she is the only one that knows the other people doing the contribution. To cut a long story short, when it was my turn to collect the first slot, she came up with the story of others not sending their money on time bla bla bla, this is the same me that will transfer my contribution to her latest by 27th of the month. Well to cut a long story short, she sent me an SMS after 2 weeks that she is sorry, she has received the money but has used it to sort her family issues bla bla bla but that she will pay back, that I should see it like she is still keeping the money for me. My mumu self pitied her and continued the contributions as if nothing happened! People of God, will you believe that this girl gave me the same story when it was time to collect the second slot? (We started in January and I was meant to collect in June and October) Her juju caught me WELL.... The money entered voice mail till tomorrow, that was how I drank garri for a whole year and paid her all my salary for the year. Though it happened some years back but it is still very painful. We worked in a good company and earned good salary so I'm not talking about small money o, I think it was 100k per slot ........ Oh I'm in sifia pains. Her winsh no be here

1. Eayah, 200k just went with the wind. Don't worry she won't come back to ask except she put juju for mouth to hold you

2. Such people I will curse up to the 7th generation sef. They think they are smart but as much as I like to think I am forgiving, you cannot eat my sweat, dupe me and go scot free without consequences. Forgiveness is one thing, un repentance and justice is another.

3. What 200k? It was almost 2M altogether. I stopped when the 2nd story came up.

4. The STRONG thing wet she do you, no be here

Wicked SOMEBORRY

17. I do and so far so good, no issue except that we are yet to get the money we paid for meat since Jan-December. I'm still looking at the pastor's wife with side eye before them say my own too much.

18. Contribution can be favourable to some and to others not so favourable. I like to do with my neighbour and her Hausa friends so I've really never had issues with adashe, apart from the time I was paid almost a week later because I like to be the last person to collect.

I thought all adashe was like that of my neighbor's till I saw one at my office. The person that collected second refused to pay when it got to the turn of others, that was how kasala burst. I was happy I dodged a bullet because they tried convincing me to join them but something kept holding me back.

19. Akawo is thd most stupid thing that i have ever heard. So people give interest free loans among themselves. At the end of the term, it is back to zero. Total input in 6 months = N60k. Total output received after 6 months = N60k. In other words the money didn't earn any interest and high chance of losing it all to scam. People remain poor because they dont understand money. Money is not just a means of exchanging goods and services.

1. It's a benefit for those who struggle with saving money, some must spend any money in their hand so it's really more about the discipline.

2. The goal is just to save, to avoid spending.

3. Thanks for your view.I share your view on this.rather than doing ajo ,why not open money market account and save into it monthly or weekly or even daily.it requires discipline though for one to stay without calling for the money.The advantage is that your money is intact and you get interest daily on your savings.Ibtc,Gtbank,axa mansard and most banks do it

4. Gbam @Anno 15*51

Thank God someone is thinking outside the box

5. You really don't have to call it stupid. Stupid to you doesn't mean it's stupid to others. Please leave being uncouth behind in 2019.

20. I did with my fellow enterpreneurs like me, #20,000 monthly when it got to my turn to collect in November it was an issue I was paid on 22 December, with one person owing me I told the admin to collect my money from her and pay the person. I wonder the person who will collect in December when she collected. Now I invest my money no long gist

21. There is this girl that my husband was giving money in main market before she married. Last year December, l didn't see her nor receive a phone call, only for her to call in January that she put to birth that l should exercise patience. l waited cos l wanted to use that money for 2018 Xmas. She came begging and begging, l forgave her and we started again.
    This December l called her and told her that l want to save 40k before 24th to buy rice and oil for parents. She agreed,then after a week l told her that l need 15k from the money.
    I gave her the booklet and was expecting her the next. My people this woman disappeared again, and l was lost.
    l called her after 2days and she told me stories about the New pregnancy, and thus woman was pregnant last year and was working until she ran with my money. She finally agreed to pay me 15k out of 20k, and was telling me that next year, she will balance me my money but before the payment. l laid a curse On her that if she tries to eat my money and am giving her 2days, that she will carry that baby in her womb for years until she gives me my money. The next two hours, she called and told me that she has paid. A woman was telling me that l went extra mile by cursing the woman. Please, she should see my emotion and how l was down throughout that day. I have not seen my balance till today.
    This people are heartless, period!

1. Kai you went too far because of her much. Causing her baby join. Tufia. If God cause you as you keep sinning, what would you have done?

Same you will be asking God for mercies everyday. Don't come for me ooo.

My own no one paid me and I did not curse instead told God to bless me more but I learnt never to join in doing.

22. I did one during my service year, was supposed to do 200 daily so I gave the man 5k which was supposed to be for 25days. I was hoping I would actually be able to do that for 6months straight before I would collect it. Unfortunately, the barrack behind my house where people go to drink buruku was demolished and that was the place the man had most of clients. The man too disappeared. My 5k really pained me sha because it was a month allawee

23. I did some years back. No stories, no regrets.
    I'm looking forward to starting again next year.

24. I joined a contribution group sometime this year...but the lousy buffalo looking head made me decide to stop. I paid 60k....30k.per month and I'm yet to collect my money. She said Dec ending sha...I know her house and the church she attends. I will rather disgrace her than let that money go. Will never do contribution ever again. Thank God I have a wood box.

25. pleasant suprises29 December 2019 at 17:14

SDK BVS na helele, Tomato, Pepper & Onions,whether same person or not, you guys rock! So funny a blog.

26. I've never done this.I'm not sure I will. Let me be using my savings app jeje. My husband does though. I've tried convincing him to use the app but he refused.I pray it continues to go well with his ajo. I had a funny dream relating to ajo and I've told him. Praying the one he's about to start goes smoothly.

27. I’ll rather save in a bank than do the akawo thing.

28. We did in my office and when some of us were sacked, 2 people did not get their money till today.

29. I can't give any akawo anything , I rather save up the money in the bank, don't want to here stories that touches the heart later. Although people do it though..As for me I just can't

30. I dislike this stuff with passion and I've never done it. Instead of doing this, why not open a money market account with banks and transfer monthly. You even earn interest and it's not easily accessible like your regular bank accounts. People should stop entrusting their hard earned money with individuals to avoid giving themselves high blood pressure.

1. I forgot to mention that you can save as little as 5k monthly with investment banks like FBN Quest so people shouldnt think it's only for those with large income.

31. I will rather use save for me.

32. I have been doing this since 2010.we started with 50k a month. Now its 200k monthly. The funny thing is that I don't know the people I'm doing it with. Only met the coordinator once. No one has ever defaulted. Everyone is paid on the 1st of every month. This is the 9th year now. I'll still continue in 2020.

33. What if one or two persons die? With all the death in Nigeria, I no do. If you cannot save money in your savingz account, you habe no busines earning money in thd first place. Someone said she got $7500 in US and that's after contributing $7500. Convert that money and buy 91 day Treasury Bills in Ghana at 11% x 4 in year. That will get you atleast $10k. My people remain poor for lack of financial education. SMH

34. I do Esusu with trusted friends and so far its been wonderful