Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos State Govt Bans Okada And Tricycle Riders In 15 LGs/LCDAs

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

Lagos State Govt Bans Okada And Tricycle Riders In 15 LGs/LCDAs

The Lagos State Government has banned okada and tricycle riders in six Local Governments and nine Local Council Development Areas, LCDAs, of the state.

The councils are: 
Apapa LG, 
Apapa Iganmu LCDA, 
Lagos Mainland LG , 
Yaba LCDA, 
Surulere LG, 
Itire-Ikate, LCDA, 
Coker-Aguda LCDAs, 
Ikeja LG, Onigbongbo LCDAs,
 Ojodu LCDAs, 
Eti-Osa LG, 
Ikoyi-Obalende LCDA, 
Iru/Victoria Island LCDAs, 
Lagos Island LG 
 Lagos Island East LCDA.

Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Gbenga Omotoso, in a statement on Monday said after a robust assessment of the debate on what has been widely referred to as the Motorcycle (Okada) and Tricycle (Keke) Menace, the Lagos State Government and the State Security Council had decided that the security and safety of lives of Lagosians were paramount.

The commissioner said the full enforcement would begin on February 1, 2020, adding that this was the first stage of the State Government’s plan to sanitize roads and protect Lagosians from the negative effects of these illegal modes of transportation.

Also, Okada and tricycles have been banned from major highways and bridges: These include:

1. Lagos-Ibadan Expressway
2. Apapa-Oshodi Expressway
3. Oworonshoki-Oshodi Expressway
4. Lagos-Ikorodu Expressway
5. Lagos-Abeokuta Expressway
6. Eti-Osa/Lekki-Epe Expressway
7. Lagos-Badagry Expressway
8. Funsho Williams Avenue
9. Agege Motor Road
10. Eti-Osa Lekki Coastal Road

Bridges

1. Iyana- Ipaja Bridge Agege
2. Dopemu Bridge Agege
3. Airport/Ikeja Bridge
4. Agege Motor road/oshodi Loop, Oshodi
5. Mushin/Isolo Link Bridge
6. Dorman Long Bridge
7. Ojuelegba Bridge
8. National Stadium Flyover
9. Apapa-Iganmu Bridge
10. Apapa-Ijora Link Bridge
11. Liverpool Bridge, Apapa
12. Mile 2 Bridge-Loop, Amuwo-Odofin
13. Okota (cele)/Ijesha Link Bridge
14. Apakun/Apapa-Oshodi Bridge Network
15. Ikorodu Road/Anthony Clover leaf Bridge
16. Trade Fair Flyover Bridge
17. Festac/Amuwo-Odofin Link Bridge
18. 2 Flyover Bridges along Alhaji Masha Road
19. Ojota Clover leaf Bridge
20. Ogudu Bridge
21. 3rd Mainland Bridge
22. Maryland flyover
23. Ikeja General Hospital Flyover Bridge
24. Kodesoh Bridge, Oba Akran, Ikeja
25. Opebi Link Bridge
26. Sheraton-Opebi Bridge
27. Jibowu/Yaba flyover Bridge
28. Carter Bridge, Lagos
29. Bariga-Ifako Bridge
30. Apapa-Oshodi Expressway/Alapere Bridge
31. Bariga/Oworonsoki Bridge
32. Apapa-Oshodi Expressway/Gbagada U-Turn
33. Apapa-Oshodi Expressway
34. 3rd Mainland/Oworonsoki Bridge
35. Eko Bridge
36. Apongbon flyover Bridge
37. Cowry Bridge (Officers Mess)
38. Mcwen Bridge (Bonny Camp)
39. Marina/Ikoyi Bridge
40. Ikoyi/Obalende Bridge

The commissioner said the law enforcement agents had been directed that with effect from February 1, 2020, there would be Zero Tolerance for Motorcycles (Okada) and Tricycles (Keke) in (on) the listed Local Governments, highways and bridges.

“Members of the public are hereby notified that all offenders and violators will be dealt with in accordance with the Law,” he said.
Pmnews....

I am totally in support of this but feel so sorry for those who invested in businesses like this and the riders it will affect

34 comments:

1. Commuting will be very difficult for regular people. There are places one cannot get to except with bikes or Keke napep. Saying that it will protect citizens is a sackload of crap. People will still face danger as they walk home in the night with no means of escape.imagine if a pregnant woman with kids has to drop them and pick them from school. And they are not even talking of alternatives.

1. You hit the nail in the head. No alternatives.

2. Not really, as inner roads are not included.

3. LAGOS GOVT CLARIFIES POSITION ON OKADA, TRICYCLES
      ...Debunks List of Restricted Routes in the Social Media

The Lagos State Government has not taken a definite action on the operations of commercial motorcycles (Okada) and tricycles, popularly known as Keke Marwa on some routes across the State.

Contrary to the news in circulation on the list of restricted areas, especially on the social media, purporting that the government has banned Okada and Keke Marwa on some routes, the government declared that no such action has been taken, adding that the list is false and unofficial. It should be disregarded ............

2. Good for them,i hope that Ojodu is not Ojo in lagos o cos it will affect Alaba market.

3. This country is a joke. Seriously you ban the means of livelihood of people without provisions for them. So what happens to the riders and owners of these. The nation and her government has failed us.

1. If it affects you, go and get something else doing. It's not the only business in Nigeria

Stop saying goverment failed you. If you like leave your life for government.

2. Please you can always scroll pass my comment if you feel my comment ain't aligning with your thoughts. We all have free will of speech.

3. Don

Nobody gives prizes for insensitivity

4. This is bad news SDK, these riders have family to fend for for goodness sake? What are they suppose to do now? Is there a job in place for them? What happens to people who cant hire uber or bolt services? Whats their fate? You and i know they are plenty koros (crannies) that only bikes can access. In such a case what do people do? The fate of the common man is fucked in this country.

I feel for people who invested in keke business. The government keep making only stupid policy that only benefit them. Let me kuku stay in my Jos mbok.

1. They are being restricted which means they are allowed to move within some ‘safe’ distance. I hope so sha.

5. Dispatch riders nko? Instead of installing better security gadgets or controlling the time they move around.

6. People just come up with decisions without alternatives.
    This right here, will make armed robbery increase. How do they expect the keke operators to survive??

1. Whoever that wish to become an armed robber shoukd go ahead, jail is there waiting for them.

7. It is not outright ban but restrictions.

8. Na wa!!
    Why not finish the bad road first?

Sometimes I wonder who dey advise this govt, its like banning is the new thing

9. This is a very bad news so they expect people to be in apapa traffic for 48hrs (2 days)

1. African leaders never have sense. Never!
      Just watch and see how one of them will import funny looking vehicles as a substitute all in a bid to make money.

2. That's the first place my mind went to. Lagosians dey try abeg,that city is not easy at all

10. This will definitely increase robbery....our roads at apapa are not even motorable,how then are we supposed to commute easily?

This is bad news...

Instead of providing solutions,they are adding more problems for us..

11. I feel sorry for them,but most times those keke riders are very reckless, always bashing people's cars..

12. dey are busy banning okada n keke, wat abt containers? dey won't see dat one bcos many of dem are eating frm it. most of dis containers pass tru street destroying people's shop n killing dem, dats how one of dem nearly entered into my shop if not for God. dis containers occupy almost all d lanes yet noting is been done abt it.

13. This is a very stupid thing to do,haba

14. What a decision! Stella, you dey Germany where things work dey shout this is good news. O ga fun gbogbo yin.

15. Na wah oh!!! This is bad news for lagosians, more hours in traffic without an alternative

16. How will workers who need to meet up with resumption time do it. Most of the areas banned are the worst prone areas in terms of holdup.
    Once there's holdup, people begin to jump okada to meet up with time.

Now trekking to take over be that o

17. Let them be ready for more robbry, rape and etc attack. How can you take people out of job without replacement/alternative and expect them to be fine. Worst decission...

18. They want to render the hausa Okada riders jobless so that they can get them to become manance in the society.

19. Kuku tell them to be riding the okada in their sitting room.

20. This is a bad idea, so many families depend on the bike and keke as their source of income or are they trying to increase the poverty rate or unemployment rate. Lagos that is overcrowded and the traffic is something else, tell me how people will get to their work places or destinations on time without getting sacked or queried. Instead of them to focus on other things, they want to make things worse.

21. Sanwoolu, this na bad idea oo. it has always been bike to the rescue for me oo!! how will we cope naa? trekking? for how long distance?
    This govt should have thought of something different. Fashola banned it, they came back, Ambode sef do im own they came back. Govt should fix the road with pot holes causig traffic before this yeye law... From Monday now wahala don start for road..

22. That's how I trekked from Creek Road to Barracks yesterday because no bike agreed to go. I don't know how these people in government think. Stupid lots. At least they should have provided alternatives before doing this. So how do I get to my office at Creek road when my bus drops me at Airways? It's not even Feb 1st yet. And to think of all those people that will lose their huge investments and source of livelihood. They should have anticipated that they would get out of hand and regulated them before a lot of people invested in it already.

23. Okada riders should go to other states na. Must it be Lagos?

24. Me wen dey fear to drive for lagos. Now I'll have no choice oooooo.