Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NFF Officials Say They Voted Against Footballer Asisat Oshoala For CAP Awards Because She is Not The Best

Saturday, January 11, 2020

NFF Officials Say They Voted Against Footballer Asisat Oshoala For CAP Awards Because She is Not The Best

Some officials of the Nigerian Football Federation, (NFF), who all voted against Barcelona star, Asisat Oshoala in the recently concluded CAF awards, have responded to the backlash from Sports analysts and other Nigerians.

Social media users have been unrelenting in their criticism of NFF Reforms Committee members Osasu Obayiwuana and Chisom Mbonu for shunning Asisat Oshoala for Malawi’s Tabitha Chawingwa as their first choice in the votes.

Defending his decision to vote against the Super Falcons star, Obayiuwana said that he believes that Oshoala is not the best female African footballer at the moment and as such isn’t deserving of the accolade.

“Right, I understand that some members of Nigerian media are unhappy that I didn’t vote for Asisat Oshoala to become the @CAF_Online AFOTY. That’s a shame. But I am not obliged to vote for her.

“Congratulations to her, on yet another title. But in my opinion, Tabitha Chawinga is the best woman footballer in Africa, bar NONE. The only reason she is not winning the AFOTY title is because she’s Malawian. And they don’t play in the @CAF_AWCON.

“Asisat is a damn good footballer, no question. This is not even the point. It’s just that I don’t think she is the best in Africa for 2019. I didn’t make my @CAF_Online Awards selections based on whether the nominee is from Nigeria or not. I voted based on whether I think, on the facts available to me, they are the best in Africa at the present time.”

“My duty, as a voter, is not to Nigeria, but to African football. If I think a Nigerian player is the best, I wouldn’t hesitate to vote for him or her. But I wouldn’t vote for them just because they are Nigerian. I have a professional reputation to protect, in all that I do,” he explained.

Chisom Mbonu said she voted against Oshoala based on ‘facts and stats’ and doesn’t mind the backlash.

“I voted the way I felt was right based on facts and stats. The backlash is expected. Even the insults. But, it is everyone’s right to post and feel as they do. I have received praises from people in the past and I will take the bashing now. That’s life,” she wrote on Twitter.

Despite the curious snub from her compatriots, Asisat Oshoala was named Africa’s Best Female Player for the fourth time at the CAF Awards ceremony in Egypt on Tuesday 7th January 2020.

She claimed the award, but all thanks to the media and other Countries’ football federations who voted for her.
from pmnews.

*Jesus Christ!...Their reason for not voting sounds somehow...I am happy she won it.

43 comments:

1. Typical black people... they don’t support their own, no wonder the continent is backward

1. Pull Him Down Syndrome of the black man to his fellow black. If you know that Tabitha doesn't play in CAF_AWCON, why then did you not vote Asisat? Makes no sense... 🙄

2. Everyone is entitled to their opinion.

Congrats once again Asisat...

3. We are happy she got it without your vote. Enemies of progress

4. She isn't the best to you but she is to us and to the rest of Africa

5. She is not the best but won the trophy four times back to back, you people should go and sit down jor, enemy within.

Congratulations once again Asisat.

6. Just imagine! Crappy explanations! A very not loyal bunch 😠

They don't think she's the best at the moment but all Africa voted for her!

7. Nigerians only celebrate you only when outsiders do so....shitty people

8. Smh. Thank God she won though. Bunch of idiots.
    Read of one footballer that died and was buried recently. No one from the NFF was in attendance. We don’t appreciate our own and it’s a pity.

9. This explanation reeks of jealousy.
    Imagine saying this very rubbish of someone who plays very well.
    Some Nigerians can never support their own.

10. So the countries that voted her were blind? See why Nigeria will never move forward? ah vbe eghian

11. Everybody have a right to vote for who they think is the best, someone vote trent Arnold as his best player, that his opinion, all this region and tribalism is the reason Africa is backward.

12. Which one is their reason is somehow, u can't force ur choice on anyone becos she is Nigerian. Congrats to her sha

1. Best comment here.

2. But based on statistics which is visible to all she is not the best Even Perpetua Nkwocha a fellow footballer knows that its not sentiment it is based on goal scoring facts ..why should vote for her as professionals its wrong

3. You guys are all wrong. How can you buy all those bullshit excuses. One said because the Malawi lady wasn't play in AFCON women. How can you rate someone if the person is not even competing with the best in Afcon ?

How can you say you will score 350 in jamb if you are not even sitting for the exam? Kapish?

13. Typical Nigerian!bad belle ....that's how the comedian that dishes our crappy movies to the cinemas yearly went to report another to authorities just cos it's doing better than his currently. You want people to leave White soup for watery egusi soup?!! Shior!nothing is hidden under the sun Mr Fumigator!

14. Enemies! Enemies!! Enemies!!!

Ivannah

15. Well, she got it without their votes. Congratulations to her.

16. The first CAF best player of the year award Samuel Etoo won was supposed to be won by Austin JJ okocha but, his own people voted against him. Bad people waiting for bribe.

1. Didier Drogba came second and JJ came third so how was JJ meant to win? That was in 2003. Same results in 2004. If there was block voting by the francophone countries yes but how does that equate to his own people voted against him? Hayatou campaigned very well for his countryman to win.

17. Sounds like crab mentality
    At all at all patriotism should have lent its support.

18. See them!, ndi enemies of progress, they didn't want her to win it for 4 consecutive times and enter record like the likes of ETOO
    But man no be God nah
    Congrats once again asisat

19. Asisat. A stitch in time, saves nine. THIS IS THE BEST TIME TO HANG YOUR COUNTRY’S BOOT. FACE CLUB FOOTBALL ONLY. FORGET ABOUT PLAYING FOR PEOPLE WHO DONT VALUE YOU.

20. Babe just scored 4 goals again and they are here giving nonsense explanation. They are waiting for bribe.

21. Congratulations to Asisat! And especially today after scoring 4 goals out of 6 to give victory to fc Barcelona! 👋👋👋

22. So if Tabitha doesn't play in CAF why not just vote Azizat. To me something smell fishy. Or could it be they were looking for greezing of palm?

23. Well, she's entitled to her opinion and I respect that. Assisat is a good player too and that's just my own opinion too. Congratulations to the winner.

24. Jesus u guys should stop already and don't spoil our beautiful game is like me saying rakitic is the best midfielder in Europe because i am Croatian meanwhile frankie is better than him.she is good yes but last season wasnt her best we all watch her i respect him so much for not voting because she is a Nigerian

1. So it's only a Nigerian that know good player other African countries are blind?

2. Ppl from the other side , if u know u know

25. Wickef bunch and they were all writing Epistles to congratulate her. An American will first vote for his country man before another and the reason is than loyalty to country comes first before any other reason.

I am happy she won despite their flimsy reasons. Congratulations Asisat.

26. She on find them something that's why.

27. If you knew a Malawian wouldn't win because they don't participate in CAF Compeitions why waste the vote then?
    ...animaltalk

28. Enter your comment...Enemies of progress shame on you, congrat Asisat

29. no sense!!! how will u leave ur own child and vote for another in a competition of a big magnitude like this? which start can dey gave u? all this excuses are just meaningless.... useless people.

30. Shameless bunch. They are shocked it leaked. Just looking for lame excuses.

31. Nawooo, naija, Malawi is not in caf why the nonsense, vote the one that is there,

32. Enter your comment...
    I wonder if those clowns representing Nigerian football know better than the rest of Africa that chose Oshoala as the best.
    2019 was not the best for Oshoala but no other player fared better than her.
    If the best student in a class has been scoring DISTIONS but scored CREDITS this time around to emerge first,is she still not the best?

33. Enter your comment...These idiots deserve to be sack stupid people who are they even representing ??Nigeria or Malawi??

34. They are very right not to vote for her. Honestly, Asisat was the worst player during the Female World Cup last year. I was asking myself, is this the so called Oshola everyone called the top player. Ordega was far far better than her. I don't like to compromise issues honestly, she needs to improve. She's being awarded back to back because of the club Barcelona she plays. She can't even be compared with Lady Perpetual Nkwocha.