Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Rice Versus Foreign Rice...

Sunday, January 26, 2020

Nigerian Rice Versus Foreign Rice...

The Nigerian Border was closed and ended the era of imported rice in Nigeria.....

I have read and heard of complaints and how there are several types of local rice in Nigeria but so far no one has come out to say that they prefer the Nigerian local rice to the ones that used to be imported...

What is your take on the Nigerian local rice?Can you compare and contrast the local and foreign rice?
If you had to choose,which one would you choose?

76 comments:

1. There is no comparison, our rice is not good. Maybe soon, but as at now, not just OK at all.

1. True, Nigerian rice is not good at all.
      I will choose foreign rice over and over

2. Not true oh. Our rice is good. Mama pride is nice though small grain. There is one i bought recently custard rubber,its longer and the normal ones i have been buying. Would find out the name.

3. The only rice I eat and enjoy is India rice but it is now very scarce.

We were given Nigerian rice in my office but I can't even eat it,as young as my son is he does not like it at all.

4. For me Nigeria rice is much better. I love the taste and we have a lot of good Nigerian rice.

5. Stella, I've been using local rice for two years now. Anyone who says it's not good hasn't figured out how to cook it yet. I use local rice to make rice n stew, jollof and fried rice.

6. Biko teach us how to cook it as we no get choice

7. I usually buy destoned abakiliki rice but one thing you must know is that it gets soft faster than foreign rice soup timing is key. Usually after the first washing, I either boil hot water, pour into a bowl (usually stainless), pour the rice into the bowl of hot water and cover tightly so for about 5 - 10 mins then wash or I actually boil the rice and the moment it begins to boil (not when it's semi-soft) I bring it down and wash for the second time. For the second part boiling, if it's white rice then water control is key. Water should be added little by little. Most times I just allow it to steam under low heat. If it's jollof and fried, water control of your stock is key. Even when the water is completely drained just cover the pot as tightly as possible, and reduce the fire to the lowest. It cooks singly and soft (not soggy) like restaurant rice.

2. Apart from the stress of cleaning the local rice I prefer it to foreign rice. It tastes better.

1. Abakaliki rice is the best. Just get the destoned one and you won't eat Any other kind.

3. I prefer Nigeria rice any day any time

1. No more rice for me since the border closure as I have been trying to lose weight. I now take bulgur and cauliflower instead.

4. For me I still prefer the foreign rice but since boarder is close what can local woman do than to manage abakaliki rice 😏😏😏😏😏😏😏

5. Stella, you should have written it this way "The Nigerian Border was closed and ended?? the era of imported rice in Nigeria....." Ended should be in question mark because there's still foreign rice in the market. I don't know how they get it. Who has the time to be eating sand and stone with stew and meat? Even when I used to use sand and stone as rice and meat during my pretend play and a child, I never ate it! I Bought half a bag of local rice and my husband and I were eating sand with each bite. Ah! It was a traumatic experience.

1. 😂
      There is a technique for washing any grain that has stones. Try it.

2. Kindly share the technique i really really need it

3. 12:38 even if you didn't know it had sand the first time you are it, subsequently you still prepared it same way? Haba!

4. @ Mum SDK
      First clean the rice like you used to, remove the visible dirt.
      Then before putting water to wash the rice, put the rice in a bowl and use both hands to turn the bowl clockwise and anti-clockwise, do this vigorously and quickly.
      The sand and stones usually go to the bottom of the bowl, remove the rice (by scooping) from the top carefully, don’t pour out the rice as you will then mix it with the sand
      Repeat this process several times, both with the dry rice, and with water, when washing the rice.
      I have done this for rice, corn, beans, etc and it didn’t fail.

6. I still prefer the foreign, local rice is filled with stone 'some '

1. Get stone free abakaliki rice you will enjoy it but just that the face is dull.

2. I have been buying local rice since 6months now. Never bought any with stones.

3. That's not true. Local rice brands are stone-free. Maybe you buy generic unbagged rice they sell in basins in the open marketplace.

4. God bless you sweetie pie, the unbagged rice are the once with stone. In all sincerity I enjoyed rice now than before.

5. @lush buy destoned local rice.

7. Local rice is fresher and therefore healthier.
    For as long as we keep importing goods from outside so long shall our economy keep struggling. No country has ever developed by importing goods. Nigerian government should go the whole hog and ban the importation of every other thing not only rice. That way local manufacturers will stand a chance and before too long will improve enough to compete internationally.
    Biafra was forced to look inwards during the war when imports were not available and see what they achieved. It was unfortunate the federal government failed to continue where they stopped. We would have been a first world country by now.

1. Corruption will not allow Nigeria to successfully ban anything. The elites who make these laws still refer imported stuff to local, go to their house. Even this local rice, they don't have it in their kitchen.
      Come and see foreign rice everywhere last Christmas, jollof, fried rice , coconut rice everywhere in these big men's homes .

2. My dear if only our people will produce authentic and durable goods and sell at a fair prize, I bought some flip flops that were made in Ghana very cheap, they were about 1,500 and I wore them till I got tired, am still using them and they are still intact, i havent sown them for once and you think if I hear Ghana and Nigeria, I'd go for Nigeria? Nehi!!! Our people should make durable goods!!! I was told by a relative that if I want a good shoe with quality gum I would have to pay a little extra, so what happened to making quality shoes??? Market might be slow at the beginning but will eventually move. Ahia OMA n'ere onwe ya!!! Good market sells itself. The reason why all of us like and love imported good is not far fetched- they are durable. Foreign rice might not taste better than our local rice but its clean, I can't come and kill my self washing away sand and chaff because I want to eat local rice that after preparing and small hot whether touch am Na kotokoto you go dey hear for the pot. EZIOKWU BU NDU. NIGERIANS MAKE DURABLE GOODS, THAT'S THE ONLY WAY WE WOULD LOOK INWARDS!!! Go and buy aba casuals then buy turkey blouses and see which one sits better on your body and see how long they will last. That is the real problem.

8. I ain't buying that shit called Nigerian rice again. nonsense and buhari

9. Who told you it ended the era of foreign rice?
    Foreign rice is still in the market but more expensive than the local rice. I even saw it two days ago

10. I support buying Nigerian products but our rice is nothing compared to the foreign rice. The foreign rice is so smooth and tastes well while our naija rice has stones like ofada and doesn’t cook on time, you have to put a lot of water before it gets done. Although, foreign rice has been banned and is now like gold but I’ll keep buying it till it ceases to exist.

1. Some of the local rice eg Bull still makes sense and has great taste and aroma. WNBA enjoy it, try eating it with sauce of diced tomatoes, red and yellow pepper, onions with some royco seasonings and Titus fish 😁. It’s just heavenly. For now, basmati is on pauzzzze. I also heard our local rice is healthy.

11. I love our rice....it’s the best.
    I don’t eat foreign rice...tasteless.

12. I have never eaten Nigerian rice so i dont know what it taste like.
    I eat only Basmatic rice, Tilda or Royal Basmatic which i still get to buy though very expensive. But I hear Nigerian rice is healthier. I have 2 bags of foreign rice in my house for some members of my household. By the time they get exhausted, they must have opened the border

1. I grew up eating basmati and long grain. I’ve tried uncle bens rice I don’t know if that count as Nigerian rice .

2. *Basmati Rice

13. Ive tasted both, Nigerian rice has grades if u go for the cheaper ones, you get it, even foreign rice has grades too, you want a better rice, go for the good grade.

14. Nigerian rice is always over soft and most times stony, I miss foreign rice abeg

15. Nigerian rice all the way.

16. Enter your comment...With all the problems we facing in this country,rice seems to be an issue for a whole lot...Haba! There are so many clean local rice out there...Lets encourage homegrown farmers

17. I hate Nigerian rice, it's always sticky, yucky and looking short like fat maggots.

When the price of foreign rice skyrocketed, I gently told hubby, you see this local rice, I cannot cook it lailai no matter how expensive foreign rice is.

You can't prepare good jollof rice with it not to talk of fried rice.

My ability to manage no reach where local rice dey abeg.

1. Well thank you! Thank you because now I have to see the rice like maggots! Thank you for ruining my imagination.

18. I only eat Basmati because it's less starcy and it tastes good too. Buhari should "gerarahere" As though he eats local rice in his household.

1. Stella naija rice is nonsense.i prefer foreign rice just that it's expensive now.i can't enjoy my jollof rice with dis yeye naija rice..sticky,gumy and full of stones with horrible smell.i miss foreign rice o.i pray they open d border soon.Thank God d price is coming down now..19k as at Friday I asked my customer.it was previously sold 23k.

19. Personally, I prefer the Nigerian rice. But we are so used to foreign things that we can't appreciate our own. Those complaining of stones, should get the more refined Nigerian rice... to some Nigerians they believe eating the local rice make them look poor, that's their only resentment towards it. if you wash and properly cook the Nigerian rice, you will appreciate it better.

20. Nigerian rice taste far better and is more nutritious. We are at our teething stage and with time will be better.

21. Abeg I prefer Nigerian rice. It's sweeter. There's rice with out stones in circulation. That's what I eat in my house

22. I prefer foreign rice all day,everyday. They say they've ban foreign yet it's still been sold by the immigration themselves. How will corruption every subside in this country?

1. Immigration or custom? Immigration has suffered chai!

23. I've had the foreign rice and that's what I've been eating. I will stick to that for now.

24. Are we still on this rice matter? i was gifted half bag of Nigerian rice 3 years ago, at first i was like what da hell? Till i cooked it and it was very very okay, since then what we eat in my home is the local rice.
    That being said, our local rice has different qualities so if you can get a good quality, you will enjoy it as long as you know how to cook it, it doesn't need too much water and it gets done very quickly

25. Local rice for me though. Maybe because I grew up eating it. Eating foreign rice for me was at restaurants or weddings. And I always complained of how bland it is. I am used to winnowing and de-stoning the rice manually. I love the taste of the local rice. Make sure you buy a good grade. The traders at the market will explain it to you. It doesn't spoil quickly, it tastes fresh even when kept over night.
    Try benue rice called OC
    And Ibaji rice.
    Noksis

26. Is true that Nigerian rice is not good enough because of stones in it.
    But if u want to enjoy Nigerian rice buy bag of it and distone it with machine before u will take it home

27. I prefare the local rice. You can't compare the taste with that of foreign rice. Please get a good one. Olam sells stone free rice but it's a bit expensive
    Even Abakaliki has good quality stone free rice.

28. And let me say this,
    We are d one letting our selves down by calling our rice LOCAL RICE while others are FOREIGN RICE.
    The earlier d better for us bcus what u call ur self is what u are

29. Local rice ( ABAKILIKI ) is the KOKO

janelicious

30. What brand of local rice are you people eating? Out local brands are stone free and just as good or even better. e.g Big Bull, mama's pride etc are well processed.

31. Lai laid I reject Nigeria rice for life.
    Nigeria rice is symply rubbish I can't cook it jollof or fried.so so gummy and short in fact very very ugly thing.
    My family managed to eat it last year but this year na foreign oooo besides foreign rice has come down in price you can it it 19 or 20k now while Nigeria rice is 17 or 18k so what is the difference so na 2k I no fit add buy foreign abi.
    Besides all the weddings and naming I have been attending since the border was closed na only foreign rice them dey serve.
    So who is deceiving who whit border closure rubbish.

1. Hahahahahahaha... you're funny. I hate Nigeria rice with passion.

32. Foreign rice got me. Nigerian rice no follow abeg.

33. Our local rice is very nice..I enjoy eating it..

34. Local rice is better if you buy the good brands like Big bull, Jamila or Umzah. Infact if you want to enjoy fried rice that is sweet, not mushy, infused but still fluffy try using Big Bull rice.

1. Umza is very nice, that's what I'm eating now. Big Bull is also OK.

35. Local rice nor dey attend occasion so I nor like am

36. Lielie... I can never buy foreign rice ooh, even my husband hates it, stopped eating foreign rice over 5 years ago. Anytime I taste foreign rice these days, maybe in an occasion it always tastes like wood or sawdust.we hv been buying southern grains for d 2 years, is stone free. and delicious.

37. I prefer the local rice, I enjoy it a lot.
    Where do people get the ones with stones?
    Referral get Benue Local Rice, clean, sweet, nutritious, easy to cook and I so love it.

38. I wonder where you all get this gummy starchy local rice from. I get mine from Omambala area in Anambra destoned and dehulled. it's so tasty and can give any premium foreign rice a run for its money.

39. Before we even dreamt Buhari would be president, then I was in secondary school, I would come home on holidays and with 2 bags of rice or more in the house, I would go to the market and buy a mudu of local rice, go through the stress of picking it and cooking for me alone. I loved local rice and still love it. I have no problems with local rice. It just got too expensive with the border closure.

40. Very soon, appendicitis will start reigning with all this nonsense Nigeria rice.
    I can't can with Nigerian rice o. 😁

41. I ear local rice and i don't fancy foreign rice anymore. i usually buy "Ahaji Isa Rice" if you eat this rice i bet you will forget foreign rice.

42. the only local rice i eat is ofada and the one for tuwon shikafa. I eat mostly basmati (jasmine) rice and american long grain which i use for my jollof and fried rice.

43. I know Nigerian rice is healthy. But the smell and stone puts me off, I can't stand it at all. I still prefer the foreign expensive or not, I don't care.

44. Redeem rice is very good.