Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Musician Iyanya Granted N20 Million Bail Over Alleged Car Theft

Thursday, February 27, 2020

Musician Iyanya Granted N20 Million Bail Over Alleged Car Theft

An Igbosere High Court in Lagos Thursday granted N20million bail to Musician Iyanya Mbuk, popularly known as Iyanya, over alleged car theft.

Justice Mobolanle Okikiolu-Ighile ordered Iyanya to produce a surety in the like sum, who should also have landed property in Lagos with a Certificate of Occupancy.

The judge warned him to perfect the conditions within seven days, “otherwise the bail shall be revoked”.
The musician, Justice Okikiolu-Ighile said, had a case to answer.

The judge said: “I have perused the affidavit and the counter-affidavit of the parties; there is a prima facie case of criminal conversion against him.
“However, there is nothing to show that the defendant will interfere with the proceedings of this case and nothing to show that he will jump bail if granted bail.
“Bail is therefore granted to the defendant in the sum of N20 million with one surety in the like sum”.
The judge adjourned till May 27 and 28 for trial.

The police filed the one-count charge marked LD/9024c/2019, against the singer on March 15, 2019.
Iyanya failed to appear in court for arraignment, despite allegedly being served with the charge and hearing notice, following which the arraignment was adjourned six times.

Justice Okikiolu-Ighile threatened to invoke the power of the court to ensure Iyanya’s attendance to take his plea.

The ‘Kukere’ crooner appeared before the judge on February 4, 2020, following which the charge was read to him.
Prosecution counsel, Mr. Chukwu Agwu, a Superintendent of Police (SP), alleged that Iyanya committed the offence sometime in September 2018.

The court heard that the defendant dishonestly converted to his use or of another person, a Black Toyota Land Cruiser Prado Sports Utility Vehicle (SUV) marked MAVINIY, with Chassis and Engine numbers JTEBX7FJ7EK165480 and 2TR1385954.

Agwu told the court that said vehicle belongs to ‘The Temple Management Company Ltd, represented by a lawyer, Ayodeji Olomojobi.

The offence, according to the prosecutor, was contrary to Sections 278(1) (b), 279(1)(2) and punishable under Section 285(10) of the Criminal Law of Lagos State, 2011.

Iyanya pleaded not guilty.

Agwu prayed the court to remand the defendant in the Nigerian Correctional Services (NCS) custody, pending the the hearing and determination of his bail application but Iyanya’s counsel, Mr Williams A., opposed him.

He prayed the court to release the musician to him and undertook to produce him in court on yesterday.
Justice Okikiolu-Ighile granted the defence counsel’s prayer and released him to his counsel.
 from nationonline

*Chei,he is allegedly very broke oooh,where will he see money to pay for bail?

27 comments:

1. How many Kurukere shows will he do to amount to 20m?

1. If you steal billions, you walk away by returning part of it. If you steal 5million, you get jailed for 66 years, without the option of fine. 20 million seems steep esp if the car is not worht that amount and he could have been granted bail on self recognition like they do for some politicians. I don't understand the legal system.

2. Iyanya has never remain the same since he left Ubi for Don Jazzy!

Hmmm, he thought the grass was greener at mavin, look at him now.

If only he could turn back the hands, he wouldn't dare to leave ubi for Jazzy!

1. Because ubi is a jazz man?

2. He's not signed to Mavins though, so what are you even saying?

3. He wasn't ever signed to Marvins. The amount for bail is too steep for an 'alleged' theft.

The entertainment industry is full of sharks. How can they do this to one of their own? Once you speak up or stop brown nosing, they throw you under, unless you are a big wig in your own right. So sad!

So many artistes we call underrated are just oppressed, even if some of them sit naked on piano stools and are in denial about it.

3. Na wa o..Iyanya didn’t make a lot of money when he was at his peak and I know that for a fact.Compared to what the likes or Davido Wizkid and Burna(recently) have made from music but what obviously killed him is pride and very very poor money management.The new ones are wiser now and won’t make the same mistakes.

4. This is serious. It’s unfortunate he’s going through this kind of experience at this his lowest eb.
    But, not to worry, if his hands are clean and he has a good lawyer, he will sail through and get his liberty.
    In the main time, iyanyan should pray and work harder to disentangle himself from this satanic web around him.

5. Maybe we should all contribute, at least we all danced kukere

1. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

6. Continue to wallow in pains. Simply GO BEG 4FORGIVENESS and all this rubbish will stop
    There r some 🙄🙄🙄Spirits u can’t offend and get away easily

1. Which spirits? pls tell him so that he knows where to start begging.

7. 20 million is alot of money,nibo lo ti ma ri owo bayii 🙄

8. 😲😲😲😲😲😲 another rumor has it confirmed 🙌🙌🙌

9. Na wa....o,this is really bad.Why didnt he return the car to avoid all these

10. Where him won take get that kind of money? They should please have Mercy on him.

11. But this judge is wicked sha. He knows very well that inyanya cant even produce 50k talkless od 20m. The mgt company shiukd hust collect their car and free this guy jor. Upon all the things troubling Nigeria una never give any better judgement.

12. This is to all ndi aspiring music artiste, invest when the spotlight is on you,once it fades, its very difficult to get on track.

13. Who has Iyanya offended?

1. People's husbands.
      Shebi Ubi said they were noth sleeping with rich married women.

14. This proud guy just cos he wanted to go to ebeano super market during his prime. He went with bodyguards. Every one ignored his ass I trust my lekki ppl

15. Lekki is the wrongest place to do this

16. But I read somewhere before all these broke stories that he became a billionaire. This life!

1. Sorry dear not even David has a billion naira. Take this to the bank. His trust fund from him papa sef na still in millions. Una funny for this country and the way you call some figures. When you sit with people in power you go know the true worth of money. Don't be deceived.

17. May God help this young man and see him through all his challenges. He fell from grace when he should have upped his personal and professional game. All these should teach him a good lesson. May he find help, amen. Imagine a product of MTN project. They don't even know that 'stardom' is just temporal.

1. A man may fall 7 times. But he can surely rise again. Inyaya take heart. It is in you. Do what is necessary. Start from scratch. You will be fine once you decide not to give up.