Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: AMVCA 2020 Awards,- The Categories And Winners...

Sunday, March 15, 2020

AMVCA 2020 Awards,- The Categories And Winners...

Here are some of the Award categories and the winners from the AMVCA 2020 which held on Saturday March 14,2020...

Full list of AMVCA 2020 winners

The 2019 remak of the 1992 Nollywood classic, ‘Living in Bondage: Breaking Free’ won big at the event.

Here is the list of winners at the event:

Best Makeup Category – Lilian Omozele Paul (God Calling)

Best Costume Designer – Dimeji Ajibola (Ratnik)

Best Picture Editor – Tosin Igho and Byryan Dike (Elevator Baby)

Best Sound Editor (Movie/TV Series) – Cristina Aragon (Living in Bondage)

Best Lighting and Designer (Movie/TV Series) – Cardoso (God Calling)

Best Cinematographer – John Demps (Living in Bondage)

Best Documentary – Beverly Naya (Skin)

Best Soundtrack (Movie/TV Series) –
Larry Gaaga and Flavour (Living in Bondage)

Best Writer (Movie/TV Series) – Asinogu Nicole and CJ Obasi (Living in Bondage)

Best Indigenous Language (Movie/TV Series) Swahili – Raveet Sippy Chadha (Subira)

Best Indigenous Language (Movie/TV Series) Hausa – Muhammad T. Finisher (Tuntube)

Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series Yoruba – Yewande Famakin (Alubarika)

Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series Igbo – Victor Iyke (Nne)

Best TV Series Drama/Comedy) – Anis Halloway (Truth)

Best Short Film or Online Video – Bola ‘Enigma’ Akanbi (Thorn)

Best Multichoice Talent Factory Film – Promises (East Africa)

Best Movie Southern Africa – Dalitso (Abraham Kabwe)

Best Movie East Africa – Plan B (Sarah Hassan)

Best Movie West Africa – Living in Bondage (Steve Gukas)

Industry Merit Award – Peter Igho

Best Supporting Actress in a Movie or TV Series – Gloria sarfo (The Perfect Picture: 10 Years Later)

Best Supporting Actor in a Movie or TV Series – Pascal Tokodi (Disconnect)

Best Actress in a Comedy (Movie/TV Series) – Funke Akindele (Moms At War)

Best Actor in a Comedy (Movie or TV Series) – Chibunna “Funny Bone” Stanley (Smash)

Best Actress in a Drama (Movie/TV Series) – Toyin Abraham (Elevator Baby)

Best Actor in a Drama (Movie/TV Series) – Timini Egbuson (Elevator Baby)

Best Dressed Male – Mike Edwards

Best Dressed Male – Mercy Eke

Trailblazer Award – Swanky J.K.A

Best Director – Ramsey Noah (Living in Bondage)

Overall Movie – Living in Bondage

44 comments:

1. Oh TIMINII❤️❤️❤️

2. I must see this elevator baby.

Want to see how Timini became a nominee sef. He was my own shock of the night cos his acting is super plain for me

1. In fact, I was dumbfounded

2. Super plain is a very big understatement!

3. Eka Joy thank you for that comment. Timini is super plain..I was super surprised when they declared him the winner.

4. When her sis is an AMBO ambassador, and they were the sponsors of that particular category, so your guess is ad good as mine

5. Eka please let me know where to watch it too .

6. It is a viewers choice award. Toyin’s fan voted for him because they were nominated for the same movie.

7. Azzin ehn im so angry. Abi no be timini wey i dey watch inside soap operas😭

3. People from a particular tribe are furious that King of Tribe did not win any award 😂😂😂😂😂

First of all, the movie is trashiest movie I went to the cinema to see.

And secondly, the few categories it was nominated, why didn't you people vote??????

4. I'm so happy for Toyin Titan and Timini..

Dakota wanted to die of happiness when her brother won. People's votes counted.

1. I love Dayo and his bros Timin 🎈🎈🎈

5. So sad and dissapointing that king of boys could not clinch an award.. .I'm tempted to believe d rumor that those awards are sometimes bought!

1. King of boys is not that fantastic

2. Truly it's not that fantastic. And Sola Sobowale yells so forcefully in her movies, sometimes it's hard to keep up with what she's saying.

3. I said it yesterday and finny called me a hater. Her shouting puts me off completely that I don't like seeing her on screen, someone veven compared her to Cookie Lyon, like how dare you. KOB is basic!

4. Solar Shobowale too dey shout for her movies, like she's on drugs or something.

5. Thank you Anon 11:54, sometimes I wonder the rant about king of boys? The plot at the end of the day was defeated unnecessary scenes and the aim of a beautiful start was totally defeated. I like the quality but it's not good enough to win anything "best" let us be able to say the truth without fear or sentiment it was not too balm like that. One person I will give it to in the movie would have been reminiscence( I hope I got his name right). We love the work they do but hey, we are also here to critique after all that's what it's all about.

6. So sad and dissapointing that king of boys could not clinch an award.. .I'm tempted to believe d rumor that those awards are sometimes bought!

7. The best dressed for both sexes was voted for by BBN ass lickers!

*Ghanaman signing out*

8. Swanky JKA🥰

9. Best make up . My friend work for her. Congratulations to her

10. Did kemi adetiba wronged you people? Sola was robbed of best actress, this has become politics.

1. Best actress for shouting like a market woman? You people are reaching!
      The winner of that category deserves it please.

2. My friend stop it. I like Sola but the truth remains her acting is for Nigeria local market. And I saw someone compare her to cookie. Please people telling such tales should stop. I like sola but I don't like her acting. Trust me the international body of film will toss that movie out one-time because of her acting. Still I commend her for her contribution to the society. Stop saying she should win best actress because her acting is not fit for it my two cents.

11. 2nd pix , Gloria Sarffo's reminds me of Moji Olaiya(blessed memory).....same smile n eyes.

12. Toying best actress... #yimu....
    Living in bondage deserved every single award it clinched. Hard work pays off.

13. Toyin Abraham best actress??... #yimu....
    Living in bondage deserved every single award it clinched. Hard work pays off.

14. So, King of boys did not win any award? Where are all the people that hyped the film and chose it over #LionHeart ? Hmmm.

Congratulations to Ramsey Nouah! Best director and best over all movie. He didn't win best actor again? This is his 3rd or 4th time of being in the category for Best actor.

1. Lionheart and King of Boys are two overhyped movies. Not seen Living in Bondage tho. I hope it's not hyped too..

2. This is a viewer's choice award no technicality involved. Fans base is what does the magic here. Social media followership helps and for those hating on Shola Shobowale keep shouting. The world will continue to celebrate her.

3. Lai Lai ooo iyoooo. I disagreeeeee. I was devastatingly shocked when i watched king of boys and Anon 19:09, nobody is hating on Sola. I wonder why people see truth as something very bitter. That's does not take out the fact that she is doing a good job but her shouting in movies are very appalling and irritating. If she wants to tell herself the truth she can but if she wants she can carry on with false love people like you dish out. If someone can say that brilliant actors like joke and Pete are terrible then please someone like Sola should listen and make amends with her shouting because it's not sophisticated at all. I know now they will say am a hater. So be it.

15. U guys should stop killing urselves about ds best dressed stuff. Ebuka announced it that those who were on red carpet between 5to 6pm & snapped photos would be d only ones to take part in d best dressed award competition & y’all know it’s by voting & those two have their fans standing by already. If u remember how smart Mercy was with Ike & d coins, u should know she was really waiting for d time Ebuka gave & cashed in on it . This was their first time & those A-listers we know that were there, seemed not interested. They won & that’s it pls. Happy for Ramsey Noah , well deserved, but feel deeply for that brilliant, talented & hardworking Kemi Adetiba, there’s always another time. Congrats to all d winners.

16. Congratulations Anis, we won and we are so proud of you. Slowly but surely!

17. When you don't vote don't complain, it was a viewers choice award therefore those who won did that based on the number of votes.

18. Congrats to them well deserved

It was an emotional moment when
    Funnybone came to pick up his award
    I really felt bad for him.

May the soul of his mum rest in peace.

1. Amen. I really felt for him.

19. I am surprised Timini won award while d likes of Yul Edochie and Queen Nwokoye didn't get any nomination this their award dey somehow Timini is just basic he doesn't have d wow factor an he won d award b4 Yul I am just shaking NY head

1. Have you watched elevator baby!

2. Timini is a good actor. I can say it depends now if you fancy him or not. I also agree with you 💯 that he does not have that "wow factor" but overall he is ok at least for TV series.

20. Now the awards is over! Peace and sanity restored! Those that burrowed clothes can now return it to the rightful owners... peace ✌🏻