Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Coronavirus And The Hunger Situation In Nigeria

Wednesday, March 25, 2020

Coronavirus And The Hunger Situation In Nigeria

How do we strike a balance between the compulsory stay at home in some states over coronavirus and making sure that hunger doesn't kill many Nigerians? 

An average Nigerian reportedly lives below two dollars a day and some have to go out daily to work and be able to eat...

A lot of low income earners are already complaining.Some have not been paid and their accounts are in red......

Many feel like the little money they have saved will not last for a few days and are already staring at hunger right in the face..

What's your own situation like? What are your fears?

62 comments:

1. My own fear is dat I will add weight before dis isolation is over because the way I'm always hungry ehn 😫 it's alarming

1. Alternatively, buy more fruits, juice, nuts and protein. When you want to nibble, you got fruits or nuts close by.

2. Stella it's not funny at all, the way this children are eating ehnnn. Well we shall overcome. Life first.

3. Infact the children are eating every minutes😬,funny enough my brain is full of mummy"mummy"mummy"left right and centre😟😟

4. Thats the problem I always have during the holiday but they should pity us this covid19 period naa. You will be loaf of bread before you say jack, its finished, cereals nko? Milk, kai!!! It is well

5. Children eat plenty food when they are at home,that is why they add weight during the holidays. Me I am controlling my own children. This afternoon I gave them garri to drink. They only eat two main meals. I cannot allow them to finish the little cash that I'm using to hustle. At all, at all, na em bad

6. Fed Govt shd subside d food and crash fuel to #80. Simple

7. I don't know who can have an appetite in a pandemic. I suppose it is a stress response.

8. This will affect my admission and relocation processing

9. We don't av food at home, now Kwara Is going on lockdown
      What will we eat?
      I'm just tired honestly, been thinking since morning

10. 17;51, not everyone panics like you

@martie you are one of the problems I have with overweight people. Any small jabs, they loose self esteem and let people they are a million times better than feel they overweight pple deserve less.

Because someone yabbed you yesterday, you are already yarning trash about your self and weight.

Better sit up and stop being stupid! If your weight causes you discomfort, do something about it QUIETLY and not abusing yourself publicly for people with worse situations in life.

2. Traders should be allowed to sell so long they are adequately protected.. buyers too

1. Where will the buyers bring money from?

2. Your head..
      Or their savings..

3. The situation is getting more serious in portharcourt.I went to oilmill market to buy food stuff but the market was closed and soldiers pursing people. Odiegwu really

1. But they announced that the market would be closed from today naa

2. Wike has closed all borders to Rivers State, whether air, land or sea as from tomorrow by 6pm. Everyone should be ready, tougher days ahead. It is for everyone's good

4. Its hell out there
    Runs girls are feeling the heat right now, most married men are indoors.

1. Are u a runs girl? Okwa ajuju oo make ndi uta

2. Speak for yourself!!!
      I'm sure your customers used the virus as an excuse to avoid you!
      😋😋😋😋🤣🤣🤣

3. Everybody is feeling it..
      Leave runs girls alone

4. Oh please shut up. My sugar boo just sent me money to buy food and keep incase there's a shutdown in my state

5. That is the same way your husband too will become a sugar boo. Awon ole

6. 18:16, not all husbands are randy goats like yours. I had numerous sugar daddies as a young single lady. Married now for ten years, no cheating whatsoever from my husband. If you marry a Godfearing man, he can't become anyone's sugar boo no matter your own past.
      PS: I'm not the anon up there. Just wanted to correct the stupid illusion that you women have concerning your cheating horsebands

7. Y so scared 22:48? You know he cheating girl, buh you tell yourself this to feel good right? 😂😂😂

8. Be deceiving yourself 😂🤣 big time self deceit. Whatever is sown has to be reaped. Yours is still doing press up, you just don't know it.

9. "You women" you say? Well, those are the same women people like you helped to destroy their marriages when single!!!

Even David, a man after God's heart, while he was forgiven still faced the consequences of his sin.

5. Devil and the deep blue sea.

6. Enter your comment...am indoor.just bought food stuffs worth 50k.
    I gave small to one family in my area.
    am suspecting rapture has taken place .

1. Thank you for sharing.

Dear people if you have more than enough look around and help someone .
      These are trying times I really wonder how some families would cope .

2. My mind has been suspecting that rapture has taken place if not for Baba Adeboye that preached on Sunday, I would have concluded that the trumpet Don sound.

3. @Lade Taylors so you are not sure of jetting off in a Rapture but sure that Adeboye would????🤔🤔 Make that make sense????

7. This is my exact discussion with the okada man that carried me this morning. Hunger will kill people more than corona virus in Nigeria. Stay at home. What of those that don't have a home. They sleep anywhere the night meets them. like some wheelbarrow pushers, petty traders, hawkers etc where will they stay now that the markets are locked. Some people. If they don't go out in a day to hustle they will not eat. God please take this virus away from us we beg you.

1. Amen @ your prayers to God
      It's really crazy . People r suffering.

2. Amen!!! God please come to our aid

8. If anyone has enough, please share with your neighbors. You could share some money or supplies.

1. Yes pls. We should be our neighbours keeper.

9. I fear death
    I fear hunger
    Hnmmmm
    I will turn to size 6 before this is over, but I will make sure my kids are fed.

1. ALL THOSE "MUMMY I DON'T WANT TO EAT THIS...MUMMY I DON'T LIKE THAT" KIDDIES SHOULD JUST EAT XHATEVER I GIVE THEM OOO. I NO WAN VEV NA NA.

10. Stella the hunger is REAL.
    If i see Garri drink this period eh,i will so thank God,even if i no see, i will still thank God.Im grateful doe Life

11. Hmmmm may God help us in this country

12. It has not been easy since last week.I regretted paying my landlady for d space I am using 2weeks ago,if I knew this corona go cause stay at home I for never pay atall.
    Now no sales even if I sell e no go reach 1k.Pls,lord help us for this Nigeria before person die of hunger

13. I have planted my veges plus last year ugu n water leaf, unharvested cassava i will still uproot convert to abacha, banana and plantein trees.
    More than prepared for the next 6months but just pray that God in his infinite mercy protect n guide us coz our last hope solely depends on him.
    You have land ?? Live in your home?? plant some veges.

1. Was about to type this. Great idea!!! If you don't live in Lagos, Abuja port Harcourt and other busy places, you have no excuse not to garden. Remove a portion of that interlocking tiles and plant fresh food for your family. All our spices- basil, thyme, rosemary, bay leaves, etc and vegetables like spinach, waterleaf, and co can grow well without much tending so grow your own organic food for cooking and juicing and eat like a king. Even tomatoes and peppers grow well in most soils in Nigeria. We should have been doing it before the lockdown. The mental and gastrointestinal benefits of gardening BY YOURSELF are immeasurable. Don't pass it on to the mai-gauard. Move that butt.

14. Hunger will truly kill many before Mr corona does. No thanks to our clueless president that refused to do the needful until the virus crept in. Thank God they're also feeling the heat. This is not bokoharam that can't get to them. Mr corona no dey look Uche face. In fact the virus started from the Apex. I pray he doesn't affect the innocent people who are looking for their daily bread.

15. I want to beg all those who are employers of labor. Whether you own a business or have domestic helps, please pay them whatever you are owing them,even if it is just a fraction so they can have some money to buy basic food for their homes. in the rare occasion where business has been good, please consider adding a little- 1 or 2k even. They would be worse hit by this shutdown. They have been dying of lassa fever and we didn't bother to build isolation centres. Now, we are importing illnesses from abroad and refusing to isolate ourselves, thereby risking their lives. Some are breadwinners of extended families. The face me I slap you or slums they dwell in have no possibility of social distancing. If such an illness is introduced into such an area, the result would be mass burials. Even the ordinary flu would take lives in a place where hand washing is almost impossible and people sleep shoulder to shoulder.

Many don't even have a refrigerator at home so you can imagine going without buying food for 7 days with no fridge or generator to store food.

Please pay a bit if you are owing them so they can purchase dry foods like garri before the markets are closed. I know times are difficult but I trust that helping to save lives has its own reward.

1. Anon 14.47 I paid my domestic staff today even when I had no salary for two months as a civil servant . I may not keep the staff after next month. It's better I lay off than owe . It is sad as jobs are lost

16. They said all markets will be closed, except for food and fruit markets. Hmm. Let's pray the virus doesn't spread too much beyond this because then, they might be forced to shut down everywhere.

For us, my hubby gives money weekly for food stuff and supplies. He can't afford more than that for now and he's an uber driver who has to balance the owner of the car weekly still. I will support with what I have saved. If it's not enough, or they shut down uber operators too, hmm, in God we trust.

1. It is well. Let us believe for the best. Please let him wear gloves and masks while doing Uber. We all need to stay safe. A testimony is loading 🙏.

17. I have been thinking of this since, i am scared of hunger God will not let me starve death.

No money to stock food at home, God please heal the world!

18. Oyingbo market was choked up this morning and I wonder how those market women and men will cope after the market closure,my village is trekkable aha😒,will just go n be catching fish and eating fish with my children😂

19. Simple there should be nothing like stay at home in Nigeria, the code should be "back to farm"

20. Prices of basic necessities have been inflated
    Salaries have not been paid
    How are we even supposed to cope with all this

And I saw a video of some Nigerians in church dancing about the whole thing

21. Oyingbo market no be joke today o. Crazy

22. God pls help us. I am tired of watching TV. Let the rapture place. I just pray hunger won't kill Nigerians bcus of COVID19. One thing must surely kill a man. Lord have mercy. I know d importance of going to work. I am just getting hungry for no reason. I just pray i won't turn iya ofiliganga before I get married.

23. Stella we put our hope in God Almighty. New business that I just started was just picking up and now this. I pray we don't finish the capital before the end of this endemic. My children will not go hungry in Jesus name.

24. This children dont even understand what is happening.. Every hr they are eating some thing .

25. My worst fear is the Isolation... I earn money daily... If the government decide to shut Ibadan... Hunger ll finish us ooo.. God should take control please

26. It's so scary. I went to my place of business today, only a few people came out to buy my cooked food. They are all rushing raw food stuff should in case they close markets and ask everyone to stay at home. Sadly, I shared the remaining food to some neighbours so it will not waste as I don't have refrigerator to store it. Even if I had, no stable electricity.
    I don't even know whether to go out tomorrow with a small quantity of food or sit at home, if I don't sell and sit at home and finish the foodstuff I use for business, we will all go hungry eventually.

1. You sell cooked food @Mrs gee? God is your muscle o. My husband suggested we eat out tonight like we do sometimes, quickly reminded him of the Koro palava in town, guy man quickly told me to make noodles instead. He said the fastest thing that kill is the one that enter the stomach direct