Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos State Govt Begins Distribution Of Food Packs To Those Hit By COVID19 Economic Downturn

Saturday, March 28, 2020

Lagos State Govt Begins Distribution Of Food Packs To Those Hit By COVID19 Economic Downturn

The governor of Lagos state Babajide Sanwo Olu is up and about making sure that everything in Lagos works at this time of coronavirus Pandemic....

His recent move will just make your heart melt.....

The governor says

''In a bid to reduce the burden of the temporary economic downturn on the vulnerable in the society, we are introducing an economic stimulus package to help our residents cushion the effects of our stay at home directive to stop the spread of the COVID-19 disease.

The Lagos State Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives has commenced the daily distribution of food packs to susceptible communities and households.

The stimulus package will contain bags of rice, beans, garri, bread, dry pepper, drinking water and vitamins. We want each ration to last for 14 days as we continue to evaluate the impact of the disease on our businesses and way of life.

This first stage is targeting 200,000 households at an estimation of 6 people per household, and the indigents who depend on daily wages to survive, would be given priority. We hope to ramp it up ASAP''.

Gosh i love this man,he does not just talks,it comes with actions..been long Nigeria had a governor like this!!!

35 comments:

1. Way to go.....he used the 20billion well

2. Wow... kudos to Pointus Pilate

3. Tax payers money...nothing to praise him about. That's just the right thing to do at this trying time.

1. Madam no vex abeg, I go like know your state of origin.pls

2. But we still have to praise him cos others haven’t done it before

3. For the fact that he is doing it, he should be praised. Many other Governors knows the right thing to do but they ain't doing it

4. Will it get to people in okoko and Agbara? I think they should start sharing from extremely poor neighborhood first.

1. So who told you okoko and agbara are extremely poor neighbourhood?

5. Most Lagos governors are actually like this especially Fashola. Commendable, yes. Our right, yes too. Government should a call to serve. If you cant serve, you shouldnt be in a leadership post.

6. must they bring everything to do media, making it seem as if its been done with their money

7. Naija politics... if he has 10m for this project he will use like 5m and pocket the remaining 5m...Now those to purchase with the 5m will use like 3m and pocket 2m..Now those sharing will share like half and hide the remaining half.. The masses has no choice than he grateful for any that reaches them...

1. People like you NEVER EVER see anything good in a situation, you must pick holes.

2. When will this damaged mentality leave you? Pessimists always see problem in every solution. SHAME!

@AGELESS T

8. This man has shown situational leadership. Some leaders are at their best during a crisis and he seems to be one of those.

9. It's not been that long. BRF did same. But kudos Mr Sanwolu.

Let's be honest, whoever Tinubu picks performs once he is allowed to work with them.

1. Truth be told, Tinubu may be overbearing, but he has a laid down plan for Lagos, and yes Nigeria. He mentors his men and put them where necessary.

10. I want to see the ordinary Lagosians holding those food packs and eating in their homes.

1. Beesvoguebeauty28 March 2020 at 17:31

I swear me too..

2. A friend got it. She said a truck was distributing it. But you have to be in front of your house or street to get it.

11. Thank you Sanwo,how to manage the distribution is another challenge.
    I pray few group of people won't corner it all. Please, make it get to us o. Hunger kills too

12. Where's d venue?

13. Sanwolu for president2023....

Come to think of it, Some of are so impossible and ingrate that you will never see any good one does without complain.... If is it tax payers money, is it only lagosians that pay tax? What about other states governors that received tax, bailout fund, allocations and what have you but refuse to do the needful? You people should apply common sense in ur comments at times.... People like you guys always bite the fingers that once feed them....
    I dislikes ungrateful people gosh!

14. Anybody that is looking at contesting with this man in 2023 will not come out now and do something. Later they will come and be speaking rubbish. Sanwo-Olu is a good man.

1. He is doing what he should as a governor who promised to work for the people hence we can call him a 'good governor'.

15. God bless the governor for being so kind and thoughtful, very commendable.

16. Sanwo Olu, is a 'talk and do man'. I bet he hasn't slept since this virus arrived Lagos