Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Indian Couple Name Twin Babies Covid And Corona

Friday, April 03, 2020

Indian Couple Name Twin Babies Covid And Corona

For millions of people across the globe, the coronavirus pandemic has brought hardship and devastation. The mere mention of the words “coronavirus” or “COVID-19” evoke fear but this has not deterred a couple in India from naming their twin babies “Covid” and “Corona”.

According to the couple based in Raipur, the capital city of Chhattisgarh state in central India, the names would remind them about all the hardships they conquered amid the coronavirus lockdown, ahead of a successful delivery on the night of March 26-27 at a government hospital.

“I was blessed with the twins, a boy and a girl, in the early hours on March 27. We have named them Covid (boy) and Corona (girl) for now,” Preeti Verma, the 27-old mother of the newborns, said in a report by The Hindu.

“The delivery happened after facing several difficulties and therefore, I and my husband wanted to make the day memorable.”

On the night of March 26, Verma experienced severe labour pain. No movement was allowed as India had enforced a lockdown for its population of more than 1.3 billion on March 24.

However, her husband arranged for an ambulance. Verma said that they were stopped several times by the police but they let them go after they noticed her condition.

Giving reasons for the unusual name decision for their twins, Verma said;

“Indeed the virus is dangerous and life-threatening but its outbreak made people focus on sanitation, hygiene and inculcate other good habits. Thus, we thought about these names.
When the hospital staff also started calling the babies as Corona and Covid, we finally decided to name them after the pandemic”.
  from the guardian.ng

*Mama Covid and Corona...

29 comments:

1. So the hospital staff started with the names, then the parents followed suit...ok.

1. Corona actually means Crown and many Spanish people bear it

2. Corona is a spanish name, just like Guiness, Heineken are all peoples names, there is also a beer called Corona and a school.

2. But the name sweet for ear sha not what it stands for anyway.

3. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

4. Anything that makes them happy.

Nothing concerns me

5. They would have named them, Thypy and Malary

6. What won't I hear in this our generation 😏😏😏😏🙄🙄

7. wiered things only happen in India

8. I won't be surprised Naija copycats will show up;
    The name of my new dog is covid
    My new cat is corona
    My old goat is covid -19 😊😊
    And then, they come quarrel with them husbands...
    "Papa Deji, where you dey come from at this time of the night?"
    "since you don become policewoman, come and arrest me na..."
    "useless man, anu mpam, Ewu corona, toothpick he-goat, covid -20..." 😮😮😮
    Shuoooooooorrr...😮😮😮
    That time oga on top go release thunder slap ghozaaaaaa, and come yarn Naija Sisi with
    runny mouth...
    "that one na treatment for corona diarrhoea mouth..."
    Ahaaa, Chronicles go land ..."Stella, that useless beast said he slapped corona out of my mouth
    does anyone know any association that handles DV for corona slaps...?"
    Ajuju n'ese okwu oo 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

9. Ekwensu has really romanced mamiwater
    What kinda wahala is this??

1. 😂😂😂😂 l was just picturing Chiwetaluagu.

2. 😂😂😂 I can bet he would have an exclamation for this.

10. Like they said the Corona virus came with the good and bad.

1. Make Corona and Covid no kill these pikins. It's more or less like predicting death on the babies

11. Come to think of it, they are actually nice sounding names. It’s in remembrance of what happened during the pandemic of 2020

12. Corona is a good name but Covid, that I don't know.

I pray the boy won't turn out to be bad or wicked like the name implies.

13. No other names?? Chukwu aju.

14. My former security guard had two children. First one is envelope, second one computer. He said envelope was envelope sent from God. Computer is because landlord's son was always on the computer. According to him the next one will bear fox agent. He liked a movie with that title. To each their own.