Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos Uncovers 119 With Coronavirus Symptoms In A 2 Day House To House Search

Wednesday, April 15, 2020

Lagos Uncovers 119 With Coronavirus Symptoms In A 2 Day House To House Search

The Lagos State Commissioner for Health, Prof. Akin Abayomi, at a press briefing on Tuesday said a total of 118,000 households had been reached and 119 people with COVID-19 symptoms have been identified in the state.

“We’ve embarked on an active case search in communities. The idea is to go to hot spots and go from door to door with our health personnel. So far, in the last two days, we’ve visited 118,000 households and we’re looking for the typical symptoms of COVID-19. We’ve identified about 119 people who have the symptoms that are suggestive of COVID-19.

“But let me remind you that COVID-19 is one of the viruses that can cause respiratory symptoms. There are many viruses. So, the idea is to take samples from these 119 and analyse them and that would give us an idea of how much COVID-19 activity is happening in the communities,” 

from punch

42 comments:

1. ๐Ÿ™†๐Ÿ™†๐Ÿ™†๐Ÿ™† this is no joke o.

2. Stella please don’t be alarmed. Trust most Nigerians have underlying health problems that they don’t know about or don’t go for treatment.
    I don’t know these people but by God’s grace it won’t be the virus.

1. I don't believe it either. Some are dying of other diseases and being passed off as covid19

2. Most of you can never believe anything, even if it's happening ight on your nose.
      To most of you, everything is a lie.

3. right on your nose kor. Always in a hurry to vile against other people's opinion.

4. Don, it’s ‘right under your nose’.
      If you choose to create panic as I have always noticed you do, take it somewhere else.
      What do you expect me to write? “oh our doom is near?” My husband is out there saving lives and I am here praying and hoping he comes back safe as well as everyone he treats to get better...So yes I will keep giving hope to everyone.

5. 12:01
      ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—your and yours would be safe, it shall not come neigh your household.
      It is well with you .

1. Cynthia, isn't that why they took samples? Try read the statement na

4. My goodness. This thing should end oh

1. Just don't have our usual cough and catarrh, the test kit will read positive. All I know is this shit won't survive here. Creating fear in People.

2. Anon 10:04 you are a bloody liar! It's people like you that put fear in the minds of people,causing them not to be tested till it's too late. You haven't been tested before yet you are giving out false information

5. ๐Ÿ™†๐Ÿ™†๐Ÿ™† speechless

6. I pray it's not the virus. How many of them go for routine medical checkup?

7. Chai. They all better be negative

8. Just symptoms.... I had sore throat, catarrh and cough the very first week this corona some thing became serious here.

God will help us

9. I don't believe this numbers, malaria symptoms is similar to corona virus. Infact almost all illness affecting Nigerians has similar symptoms..

1. It is just symptoms. They will still test them. That they have the symptoms of covid 19 doesn't mean that they are positive.

2. Thank you for explaining to them jessi. why e dey difficult for people to read and understand . To comment dey hungry people. Chai

3. We are all saying the same thing...

4. You ain't saying same thing, cause if you are then you won't be saying you doubt the numbers when they haven't confirmed that those people truly have the virus

10. Obey simple rules, no, they won't hear. Number is climbing up each day.
    No wahala sha

1. So if u are coughing now, it means you have it? These are just symptoms

11. If if they are positive, they will be cured. This is naija

12. I'm asthmatic...sometimes I cough and sneeze. Are these not symptoms? Does it mean I have it? Nigerians and their stupidity.

1. Olodo did they say all those people have it? Wonder the kind school una go. So they should not test those people to be sure of what they really have,knowing some symptoms are similar to that of covid-19?

13. I find this hard to believe. Alot of nigerian are recovering well and fast from this virus unlike other countries. I might be wrong but i think what we call covid -19 here is probably malaria related diseases. I dont think we have been able to detect this particular virus. I believe the virus is real and dangerous too. # healtheworld.

14. Kia it's well. God please come through for us

15. So Becos I'm asthmatic. Cough and sneeze from time to time it means I have it?

16. Govt tested 118,000 household in one day?? Abeg for which area? Them for tell us so we can confirm from people in that area, but this same govt don't know how to get palliative to the masses.... Dia ris God..

17. Hot spot na lekki, ajegunle, okoko, etc.

Abeg for where dem dey. They should give names of where they went so that we can confirm o

18. Really? So that they move from house to house to do community testing? Why are they finding it difficult to share Federal government palliatives to every household? Hmmmm, I smell rat

1. Its an elephant and an entire zoo of other animals

19. So, what did they do to the persons that are suspected of the virus?

20. God help us ur children
    We have no one to call upon