Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Man Lands In Jail Over Facebook Post On Coronavirus

Tuesday, April 14, 2020

Man Lands In Jail Over Facebook Post On Coronavirus

A Magistrate Court in Osogbo, Osun State on Tuesday remanded one Akinloye Saheed in custodial centre over his post on Facebook concerning COVID-19 in the state. 

Akinloye was arrested by police over his comment on his Facebook page where he claimed that the state government imported COVID-19 patients into the state to get funds from the federal government.

The police prosecutor, Mr John ldoko, told the court that Akinloye’s post was with the intent to incite members of the public against the Osun State Government

He said the action of the accused person was in contravention with COVID-19 Laws of Osun State 2020 and thereby committed an offense contrary to and punishable under section 61 of the Criminal code Cap 34 Vol. II Laws of Osun State of Nigeria, 2002.

In his ruling, Magistrate Olusegun Ayilara ordered for the filing of written application for bail. He thereafter ordered the remand of the accused person in a custodial centre and adjourned the case to May 13.

From Daily Trust

38 comments:

1. E don happen🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢

2. common sense is indeed not common

3. People need to be careful on what they post on social media so that someone will not get punish.

4. When you think you are making sense you ended up being stupid, if you had written about the Governor diverted the fund meant for coronavirus victims then we go rally round and protest for you, guy you are on your own, only those who reason like you go dey bark

5. Teejay, take note.

6. Mind what you post online.
    I like this, it's going to serve as a deterrent others..

Don't say what you can't back up with fact.

1. Hey Don, this igbo people have started terrorizing Lagos Ogun and all Yoruba land! You know the one million boys? They are all igbo, after they will play victim!

7. He should be sentenced to 2 weeks in the isolation centre in Osun State where he can ascertain whether the state have any cases at all.

8. Excellent! We must begin to take responsibility for what we post.

9. They keep shutting them up it's the reason we have so many cowards in Nigeria. If you check nau what this said might be the truth they should face Bello El-Rufai that boy is acting like a demi-god. Some of you senseless lot will say why didn't I post with my ID truth is I don't have one.

10. If you must post trash, be like me, go undercover.

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

2. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

11. Wow,! I hope others will learn their lesson.

12. This is a clear example of "Facebook will kill you one day".

13. Very good. Every person go just dey post rubbish for social media

14. Hahaha.... Just had to laugh, Mr man Weldon sir

15. Hmm na wa .how can you e saying what you do not have prove of.

16. Wow Nigerians you lot really deserve what you are getting. Everyone is saying good for him, do you forget that this defeats the true meaning of democracy?
    Freedom of speech guys! God help you lot oh and most of you are stuck there

1. To put out unverified postulations at a time like this? This is encouraging people to not be careful and not take the virus serious. If he had FACTS we will take him serious.
      Let's be mindful of what we post at this times!!!!!!!

17. Pity with him, might end up with covid-19 infection right in confinement. God luck charlie!

18. What he has said must be true for the government to even take him serious

19. Amidst all these,he was totally wrong to mislead people,that could lead to unrest in the state

20. If he's in doubt, the govt of the state should clear his doubts as well as others and not put him behind bars.

21. They should take him to the covid 19 centre so he can enjoy his detention der.

22. See how some people can look for trouble.

23. People believe covid-19 is a scam by the govt., Some even say it's not in Nigeria, I just smh, how gullible. What he posted is what people are saying on the streets.