Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Extends Lockdown To Curb Spread Of Coronavirus

Monday, April 13, 2020

President Buhari Extends Lockdown To Curb Spread Of Coronavirus

President Muhammadu Buhari has restated that lockdown to curtail the spread of coronavirus, otherwise known as COVI-19 in affected states is still on.

This was contained in the full text of his national broadcast Monday night.

The full text of his speech below.

He said: “Fellow Nigerians

“In my address on Sunday, 29th March, 2020, I asked the residents of Lagos and Ogun States as well as the Federal Capital Territory to stay at home for an initial period of fourteen days starting from Monday, 30th March 2020.

“Many State Governments also introduced similar restrictions.

“As your democratically elected leaders, we made this very difficult decision knowing fully well it will severely disrupt your livelihoods and bring undue hardship to you, your loved ones and your communities.

“However, such sacrifices are needed to limit the spread of COVID-19 in our country. They were necessary to save lives.

“Our objective was, and still remains, to contain the spread of the Coronavirus and to provide space, time and resources for an aggressive and collective action.

“The level of compliance to the COVID-19 guidelines issued has been generally good across the country. I wish to thank you all most sincerely for the great sacrifice you are making for each other at this critical time.

“I will take this opportunity to recognise the massive support from our traditional rulers, the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) and the Nigerian Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs (NSCIA) during this pandemic.

“I also acknowledge the support and contributions received from public spirited individuals, the business community and our international partners and friends.

“I must also thank the media houses, celebrities and other public figures for the great work they are doing in sensitizing our citizens on hygienic practices, social distancing and issues associated with social gatherings.

“As a result of the overwhelming support and cooperation received, we were able to achieve a lot during these 14 days of initial lockdown.

“We implemented comprehensive public health measures that intensified our case identification, testing, isolation and contact tracing capabilities.

“To date, we have identified 92% of all identified contacts while doubling the number of testing laboratories in the country and raising our testing capacity to 1,500 tests per day.

“We also trained over 7,000 Healthcare workers on infection prevention and control while deploying NCDC teams to 19 states of the federation.

“Lagos and Abuja today have the capacity to admit some 1,000 patients each across several treatment centres.

“Many State Governments have also made provisions for isolation wards and treatment centres. We will also build similar centers near our airports and land borders.

“Using our resources and those provided through donations, we will adequately equip and man these centres in the coming weeks. Already, health care workers across all the treatment centers have been provided with the personal protective equipment that they need to safely carry out the care they provide.

“Our hope and prayers are that we do not have to use all these centres. But we will be ready for all eventualities.

“At this point, I must recognise the incredible work being done by our healthcare workers and volunteers across the country especially in frontline areas of Lagos and Ogun States as well as the Federal Capital Territory.

“You are our heroes and as a nation, we will forever remain grateful for your sacrifice during this very difficult time. More measures to motivate our health care workers are being introduced which we will announce in the coming weeks.

“As a nation, we are on the right track to win the fight against COVID-19.

“However, I remain concerned about the increase in number of confirmed cases and deaths being reported across the world and in Nigeria specifically.

“On 30th March 2020, when we started our lockdown in conforming with medical and scientific advice, the total number of confirmed cases across the world was over 780,000.

“Yesterday, the number of confirmed COVID-19 cases globally was over one million, eight hundred and fifty thousand. This figure is more than double in two weeks!

“In the last fourteen days alone, over 70,000 people have died due to this disease.

“In the same period, we have seen the health system of even the most developed nations being overwhelmed by this virus.

“Here in Nigeria, we had 131 confirmed cases of COVID-19 in 12 States on 30th March 2020. We had two fatalities then.

“This morning, Nigeria had 323 confirmed cases in twenty States. Unfortunately we now have ten fatalities. Lagos State remains the center and accounts for 54% of the confirmed cases in Nigeria. When combined with the FCT, the two locations represent over 71% of the confirmed cases in Nigeria.

“Most of our efforts will continue to focus in these two locations.

“Majority of the confirmed cases in Lagos and the FCT are individuals with recent international travel history or those that came into contact with returnees from international trips.

“By closing our airports and land borders and putting strict conditions for seaport activities, we have reduced the impact of external factors on our country. However, the increase in the number of States with positive cases is alarming.

“The National Centre for Disease Control has informed me that, a large proportion of new infections are now occurring in our communities, through person-to-person contacts. So we must pay attention to the danger of close contact between person to person.

“At this point, I will remind all Nigerians to continue to take responsibility for the recommended measures to prevent transmission, including maintaining physical distancing, good personal hygiene and staying at home.

“In addition, I have signed the Quarantine Order in this regard and additional regulations to provide clarity in respect of the control measures for the COVID-19 pandemic which will be released soon.

“The public health response to COVID-19 is built on our ability to detect, test and admit cases as well as trace all their contacts. While I note some appreciable progress, we can achieve a lot more.

“Today, the cessation of movement, physical distancing measures and the prohibition of mass gatherings remain the most efficient and effective way of reducing the transmission of the virus. By sustaining these measures, combined with extensive testing and contact tracing, we can take control and limit the spread of the disease.

“Our approach to the virus remains in 2 steps – First, to protect the lives of our fellow Nigerians and residents living here and second, to preserve the livelihoods of workers and business owners.

“With this in mind and having carefully considered the briefings and Report from the Presidential Task Force and the various options offered, it has become necessary to extend the current restriction of movement in Lagos and Ogun States as well as the FCT for another 14 days effective from 11:59 pm on Monday, 13th of April, 2020. I am therefore once again asking you all to work with Government in this fight.

“This is not a joke. It is a matter of life and death. Mosques in Makkah and Madina have been closed. The Pope celebrated Mass on an empty St. Peter’s Square. The famous Notre Dame cathedral in Paris held Easter Mass with less than 10 people. India, Italy and France are in complete lockdown. Other countries are in the process of following suit. We can not be lax.

“The previously issued guidelines on exempted services shall remain.

“This is a difficult decision to take, but I am convinced that this is the right decision. The evidence is clear.

“The repercussions of any premature end to the lockdown action are unimaginable.

“We must not lose the gains achieved thus far. We must not allow a rapid increase in community transmission. We must endure a little longer.

“I will therefore take this opportunity to urge you all to notify the relevant authorities if you or your loved ones develop any symptoms. I will also ask our health care professionals to redouble their efforts to identify all suspected cases, bring them into care and prevent transmission to others.

“No country can afford the full impact of a sustained restriction of movement on its economy. I am fully aware of the great difficulties experienced especially by those who earn a daily wage such as traders, dayworkers, artisans and manual workers.

“For this group, their sustenance depends on their ability to go out. Their livelihoods depend on them mingling with others and about seeking work. But despite these realities we must not change the restrictions.

“In the past two weeks, we announced palliative measures such as food distribution, cash transfers and loans repayment waivers to ease the pains of our restrictive policies during this difficult time. These palliatives will be sustained.

“I have also directed that the current social register be expanded from 2.6 million households to 3.6 million households in the next two weeks. This means we will support an additional one million homes with our social investment programs. A technical committee is working on this and will submit a report to me by the end of this week.

“The Security Agencies have risen to the challenges posed by this unprecedented situation with gallantry and I commend them. I urge them to continue to maintain utmost vigilance, firmness as well as restraint in enforcing the restriction orders while not neglecting statutory security responsibilities.

“Fellow Nigerians, follow the instructions on social distancing. The irresponsibility of the few can lead to the death of the many. Your freedom ends where other people’s rights begin.

“The response of our State Governors has been particularly impressive, especially in aligning their policies and actions to those of the Federal Government.

“In the coming weeks, I want to assure you that the Federal Government, through the Presidential Task Force, will do whatever it takes to support you in this very difficult period. I have no doubt that, by working together and carefully following the rules, we shall get over this pandemic.

“I must also thank the Legislative arm of Government for all its support and donations in this very difficult period. This collaboration is critical to the short and long-term success of all the measures that we have instituted in response to the pandemic.

“As a result of this pandemic, the world as we know it has changed. The way we interact with each other, conduct our businesses and trade, travel, educate our children and earn our livelihoods will be different.

“To ensure our economy adapts to this new reality, I am directing the Ministers of Industry, Trade and Investment, Communication and Digital Economy, Science and Technology, Transportation, Aviation, Interior, Health, Works and Housing, Labour and Employment and Education to jointly develop a comprehensive policy for a “Nigerian economy functioning with COVID-19”.

“The Ministers will be supported by the Presidential Economic Advisory Council and Economic Sustainability Committee in executing this mandate.

“I am also directing the Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, the National Security Adviser, the Vice Chairman, National Food Security Council and the Chairman, Presidential Fertiliser Initiative to work with the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19 to ensure the impact of this pandemic on our 2020 farming season is minimized.

“Finally, I want to thank the members of the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19 for all their hard work so far. Indeed, the patriotism shown in your work is exemplary and highly commendable.

“Fellow Nigerians, I have no doubt that by working together and carefully following the rules, we shall get over this pandemic and emerge stronger in the end.

“I thank you all for listening and may God bless the Federal Republic of Nigeria.”

from dailzpost

81 comments:

1. Pls can I go to Surulere from Ikeja on Tuesday? R there police men disturbing??

1. Same here ooo, how can I leave Abuja where I am to kwara?๐Ÿ˜“

2. Within Lagos, it is quite possible just have enough money on you because you might have to take bike and the fees are crazy.

I don't know about inter states, sorry

3. Abuja to kwara.. That will be tough ooo.. Even to move from my house to shop self I still dey think am

4. I don't think you can, no bikes and police are mounting road blocks on the road.... You have to show them a 'Pass' before they allow you to move oooh!!

If you have a car, be prepared to explain tire as you pass through the different road blocks, have an ID card with you also.....

2. All l will say is.. It is well.

3. Odiegwu really! He didn't even address the issues people are facing in this situation

4. This lock down na die o. A debtor paid my money yesterday. Chai, see as I happy like I won #150m jackpot..

1. The joy๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

5. Kai, how will people survive

6. Hmm!! FG una want make people roast??? Another 14 days???? Some people don't have anything to eat again as we speak. How will they cope?? Even me wey get small don dey worry how we will cope for the next 14 days??

Hmm, hope one man businesses will not withhold salary for April under the guise of no work???
    I even know people who are yet to receive March salary before Coro lockdown start...

Will private schools pay teachers for April??? The hardship will be too much oo, with no palliative for people?? I hope suicide rate won't increase??

1. As a private school teacher, I haven't even gotten March salary.. All I get from the school is "we were not prepared before this lockdown hence no payment" they don't even care how we staffs are going to survive! Not to talk of expecting April pay.

Hearing this 14days extension, I'm kind of sad but all the same it's for the good of everyone! Good health comes first above all

2. My dear I never receive my March salary,and my oga told us that if we don't work in April, there will be no pay for April. So we are on our own for real. It's sad

3. We got a letter saying no salaries from March 2020 until the education sector is restored to normalcy. So I wonder and look up to God..

4. Where will d owner of d one man buisness get money to pay for d month of April when no income was generated cos no work was done?

5. Did you say April salary?,the school I teach has not paid march

6. I actually feel like crying now.it's no longer a joke.

7. How will people pay their house rent and shop rent because some landlord and landlady depends on this money

8. As sad as it is, it's necessary!!

7. Why do i feel they'll add to this 2 weeks again. Lord please heal the world

1. Let's be positive coz I don't even want to think this, I fit fall sick abeg ๐Ÿค’

2. This your comment is not funny o, house rent that I have been gathering since January. Finally spent part of it during the last 14days lockdown... Now that there's an extension I just hope I dont finish like half of it before this whole thing will be over. Nah the only money wey I get for now be that and man must chop.

So bikonu madam Liz , they should not extend this thing again o for my sake

3. Alright o,oloruko omo mi Omotadeola

4. Awww ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿค—.. Gbogbo e a daa by God's grace!

8. Oh Lord, we your children are in your hands. Please Lord, protect us.

9. For how long? The people are hungry... Robbery in on a high. What is the way forward? Lock down won't put food on the table. Crime has increased,until they start robbing and killing in board daylight before the government will do something? Is this man senile?

1. So you'll rather go out??

I pray they put a stop to the robberies!!

Maybe if we had taken this seriously from the beginning, we won't be here by now

10. Hearing the news of the lockdown extension is crazy but we have to obey so we can all be safe. I only hope food and other basic amenities will be provided for everyone so people don’t die from hunger too๐Ÿ˜“๐Ÿ˜ฉ

11. Na to enter farm remain. If not, hunger and armed robbery will be the order of the day

1. That robbery part is very disturbing cos many houses in my area was robbed last night.
      Learnt that one Estate was among.
      May God help us. People are suffering and hungry.

12. The next two weeks will be more difficult than the previous.

Baba God, we dey your hand o!

1. Its no gonna be hard, it will be more easier ma'am, just watch out. God is in control.

2. Seconded @ 21:34 In Jesus Name Amen.

The name of the lord is a strong tower, the righteous run to it and are saved. (Prov 18:10)

3. Stop being an alarmist please! It will be easy and bring relief in Jesus name. Amen

13. Lord please, it's enough:we acknowledge your supremacy. What are we going to eat?e gbami

14. Oh God of creation. How will i survive with my children. God how will it be again these next two weeks. Oluwa o. Anyone with information about where and who dey share food abeg post ooo...

15. Lord, please have mercy on us.

16. It is difficult but with this pandemic anything to curb it is welcomed.

17. Almighty God, please heal the world, we need our lives to go back to normalcy, we can not continue like this. Help us O Lord.

18. As long as Saudi Arabia (Makka & Medina) remains locked down, Buhari will not call it off.

1. Imagine using other countries as yardstick๐Ÿ˜’

2. What a silly comment from a dumb individual.We are talking about a global pandemic shaking the whole world and you are passing this kind of comment.O ma se o.Please watch CNN for ten minutes,apart from those silly Nollyhood home videos you have been watching,so u can have an idea of the havoc that Virus has the capacity to cause if left uncurtailed.

19. Did he entertain questions from journalists abi press???

1. Questions ke, when it's not live broadcast.

20. It is well,how will I survive dis,no salary for dis month,landlord don dey talk about rent. I'm tired of eating only bread nd water every day
    Lord have mercy

21. This lock down no be here it's gonna be difficult ohhh with the robberies going on now no food to eat.. I hope for the best for all of us

22. How can families that are salary earners cope? Some were managing half salary that was paid last month, while majority will not be paid atall this month.

How I wish we travelled to east earlier, I wouldn't be having this constant headache resulting from sleepless nights.

Oh God do not forsake us!!! I pray we all see to the end.

23. God there'sno single food in this house for us to eat, am not sure where my next meal will come from but I trust you,pls God heal the world

24. Can all the pastors/alfas/spiritualists/prophets who are in d healing ministry come together and cast out this corona virus out of Nigeria. As this is d next best n fastest solution than this lockdown oo.

25. Does anybody know a genuine and legit stay at home job available this period? The bills are really increasing and this lockdown extension although for our collective good is not helping matters at all. Please help with information.

26. The bills are really increasing and this lockdown although for our collective good is not helping matters at all. Please anybody with information on genuine and legit online stay at home job available this period help out. I really need to do something.

27. God please take perfect control...it's for our good o...but this is real hunger o, how can i possibly explain to my neighbor who we have been reaching out to since this lockdown and has been flashing me since that we also ate once today,,how do I explain to her that we are only reaching out to them bc we blv that our situation is still better than theirs,will she blv that my husband already locked his bar since Lagos State started social distancing and sars were harassing customers before federal governments lockdown and that we are already out of cash..The husband lost his job and he acquired a commuter bus on higher purchase but the lockdown has really affected them, before the total lockdown the bus had been faulty,he hasnt used it to work for,more than 3days after repair that the total lockdown was announced,God have mercy o,after all my proprietress had refused to pay March salary

1. Better explain to her and don't do more than your power!!

28. You guys know the Lockdown is not the problem right? The virus spreading and killing people is. Let pray for a breakthrough the fight against the virus so things can go back to status quo. God have mercy.

29. To even think that am due in few weeks scares me Lord please save me and this baby because I know it has been you all along

1. You will deliver safely in God's name.Don't be scared,you need to gather enough courage cos of the baby. XOXO๐Ÿ˜˜

2. Sis...Do not be afraid. He has brought you this far not to abandon you. Just cover yourself and the baby with the blood of Jesus. Lay your pregnancy at the alter he will provide doctors and help along the way and no weapon formed against you and baby shall prosper. Again, do not be afraid. He is in control. God bless.

3. My neighbour jus put to bed this evening.God will do even better for you.

30. God please protect and provide for your children.

31. It is well sha, I know its fir our own good but what plans are they making to contain this virus? Are they testing people like the ought to? What about relief materials? Hunger will kill and drive people into robbery. What about NEPA?? I cooked food that will last us for days in this lockdown period but NEPA struck now food is bad!! How do we deal with this hunger everywhere?? May God have mercy as we don't have a caring Goverment.

32. Basically April salary is no more sure for most People

33. Maybe herd immunity is better for Nigeria. In this case everyone returns to business as usual. You go back to work, social gather infect one another and then plenty people will die. The ones that survive Corona can live and can no longer be infected. That way hunger will not kill you people and you can continue your daily lives. Just know many will be killed with this method but at least your daily lives will no longer be interrupted.

1. There is no immunity o. Previous infection doesn’t offer immunity. U can be reinfected as many times as you are exposed

34. Father lord na your hand my family Dey ooo, provide for all our needs.Amen.

35. Lord pls rescue Nigeria
    I see real hunger staring at us. Who do I call? Father, have mercy pls

36. In my own company we have not been paid since January. We where hoping they will pay two months by march ending only for schools to lockdown. God have Mercy

37. May God see us through in this hard time ๐Ÿ™

38. This is no longer funny. Hunger will kill us before covid one nine. I don't even have what I will eat today. To make matters worse, all my bulbs got burnt at once. I can't replace 1. This morning my only fan has stopped working,in this gwagwalada heat. No be who chop go repair fan. I'm even indebted and I dunno what I'll do. God help us all