Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Former Beauty Queen Regina Askia Explains To Her Teen Son Rudi Jnr Why She Divorced His Father Rudi Snr

Sunday, May 24, 2020

Former Beauty Queen Regina Askia Explains To Her Teen Son Rudi Jnr Why She Divorced His Father Rudi Snr

Former Beauty queen and former actress,Regina Askia (who is now a Registered Nurse in the US) took out time to explain to her son why she and his dad are no longer together, she also spoke to him about his Nigerian roots.....

The Conversation goes thus..........

Son
: How did you and dad get divorced?

Regina
: It was a very rough patch in our relationship because your dad was not really invested in the relationship. He wanted to be where he wanted to be. And it was not what I signed up for. We had quarrels, fights and some things that take real time to forget and forgive. So we decided to separate and go our different ways.

Son: You kinda told me you guys had issues, were they domestic ones like domestic violence?

Regina: That was a large part , I'm not gonna lie about that, we fought a lot, physically and verbally, even emotionally and then he resorted to using his hands and I cut him down with my mouth. Things didn't go well and the children were caught up in the middle. It wasn't a good family situation. So we separated.
But you see even through our separation, your father was always coming over, he was always there. (She laughs) You were always complaining that he was not in your life enough. You said he always comes, sees you and then he leaves.

Son: He does

Regina
: Does that bother you? 

Son
: No, I actually like it.

Regina
: Why ?cos you used to complain.

Son: Other kids had really present fathers who picked them up from school. He used to come and buy gifts, but he doesn't do that anymore. I think I should probably ask him more questions.

Regina: Like what?

Son: How to pick up hot chics ?(Regina playfully hits him and asks "Isn't it disrespectful to sit in front of your mum and ask your dad questions on how to pick up hot chics? )

Son: No.

Regina : Don't you know I am supposed to be the one and only hot chic in your dad's life?

Son: You know you had boyfriends when you weren't dating daddy.

Regina : So for the same reasons your dad won't be able to give you tips on how to pick up hot chics.

Son
: Why not?

Regina : That was a long time ago and he has forgotten. I just wished you had a closer relationship with your father, but then unfortunately we separated when you were just a baby and even when you grew through that, you don't seem interested in wanting to spend time with him (her son interrupts)

Son: These jokes are just really stale, you know.

Regina
: He works and there is so much you can learn from your father. Your father can take a house apart and put it back together. He is into computers and even though he is old school, you can take his old school knowledge and put it in the new school. Your father is a great resource for you, but you guys don't seem to see it, and you don't care.
 If I get posted to Africa, would you come with me? Because when you come to Africa, you would get a different perception of how the man...

Son: I am so sorry, but I really don't want to go to Africa. I might die and I really don't want to get in there. I know it sounds cold minded for me to say, but I am not interested in your culture whatsoever.

Regina
: That is your culture, and it's the only place in the world where you'll be treated as a first class citizen, recognized as a man in your own right and your own standard. Believe me. I don't want to poison your mind, but I want you to realise the reality of being a black man in America. You have to jump 

through hoops in order to prove yourself.......
In this culture, this American culture, we will forever be second class citizens.

You know what they call "White Privilege", ask Google "what is White Privilege?"

I don't want to poison your mind, but I would like you to know the reality of being a black man in America. We have to jump through hoops of fire and prove ourselves beyond any reasonable doubt, capabilities and beyond questions before we can get half as much, I kid you not.
So get out there, get your A-game on.

Son
: I can go to anywhere but Africa.

Regina : And after you have travelled and experienced how the world treats black people, nobody is gonna tell you to go back and get your house in order. My only concern is while you are learning, stay alive and position yourself on a level where people will respect you.
Your father tried his best, he doesn't want to come to Africa too.

*Nice conversation!!...Always let your kids hear it from you first and always tell them the truth.

80 comments:

1. Eh ya. America has gained another young man

1. She thinks she can wake up this morning and confuse us bah, is she celebrating her anniversary or she is telling us she is divorce. I no understand

2. Is she divorced again???

Seems regina is doing so much with social media

3. REGINA wants to be fully back in the naija celeb circle by fire by force

4. Anno and Tessbaby she is divorced on papers, she celebrated their 19th wedding anniversary yesterday, go to her page and understand more, she explained it there.

5. This thing called marriage. The temperament of the person u choose to marry is very very important. If from dating u guys are already fighting everyday. Just be ready for battle in marriage. Getting married to either a man/woman with anger problem is one of the greatest mistakes u cld make.
      Dated sm1 with anger problem and i started doubting myself. Met my husband and the difference was clear as day.......he hardly gets annoyed.

6. She didn't bring him home for visits so, how did she want him to jump for joy at going to Africa.

7. Why didn't she begin to take him to Africa, before this stage. He would have gotten used to it and looked forward to coming to Africa.

2. Regina told her son the absolute truth

3. So why bring a family conversation about personal life to the internet?
    A spouse trying so hard to be justified in her actions before her sons and people? 😏🤐😏😏😏😏

1. Whoever you are, my sister or my brother, I am as surprised, confused and shocked as you are!
      I just don't get it anymore, must everything make it to social media?? Still can't wrap my head around the whole thing.

2. Seriously....shes doing too much these days

3. Nawaoh no more privacy .... everything on social media. Pls I'm not supporting domestic violence but bringing this discussion on social media is not funny to me.

4. Same thing I’m wondering. She probably made up the conversation. Or did she tape it?? Na wah o. Joblessness

5. You would think wisdom comes with age and experience. Unfortunately, some adults work so hard at being foolish.

If out of love, you even open their brain an engraft 'wisdom stem cell' , they will open it up again by themselves and take it out because their 'foolishness gene' will reject it as a foreign body.

4. Why not tell us Regina that the man had fulfilled his role of bringing you to the USA, enabling you get your papers and have kids?

1. I didn't know she was divorced.

2. Anno 13*08

As the Judge Jurry that you are nahhhh, if you got the opportunity like her, I bet you gonna do worst

3. The way you ppl talk abt dis US as if its heaven. Nobi say d man even get money o.
      Many women have sponsored and are still sponsoring themselves to the US. Shes a registered nurse,she wld have eventually gotten her papers or last last do contract marriage.

5. You mean she's no longer with that man up there?🖕wow!!when did this happen? someone fill me in pls

1. As in enh...just getting to know this?? Thought I saw them together in a picture recently. This thing called marriage enh..

2. I know they separated many years ago when she ran to shelter. Thought they got back together when she was showing pictures of family birthdays. Did they get back or were the pictures for show and they’ve just recently separated? Sad.

6. Didn't know she's divorced. Her girls are super cute.

7. I have this feeling that this lady is scheming to take the kids far away from their dad by relocating them to Nigeria.

1. There's nothing wrong in relocating them to Africa, if she's transferred to Africa.

All she needs to do is have a visitation agreement with her ex-husband.

2. @Ms. A
      "Transferred to Africa?" Who transfers a nurse to Africa from the USA?
      Or you and she mean if she relocates to Africa?

3. If she's working for some non governmental organizations as a nurse, she could be transferred to Africa.

And if she decides to relocate herself, she can relocate with her children and I see nothing wrong with that.

4. Kids dat are grown already. Only her son is a minor if im not mistaken.

5. To do what in Nigeria now?

8. Regina you did well . Great conversation!

9. Good to see parent discussing with their kid(s) like this...

10. I love how they both relate
    I never knew she had a son
    Btw, where is that her first daughter? The one she had at under 20yrs for a white man when she was a reigning queen in the late eighties or early nineties.
    I used to read her gists on pages of gossip magazines as a young girl then

11. Once they register as nurses, they register divorce. That is the nigerian ladies in the usa.

1. Because they realize how financially independent they are of their husbands. Many naija marriages won't exist If the women had more options, financial independence and a choice. Bitter truth

2. Very true my dear this money guys in Nigeria only bring to the table ll become nothing in the future as more ladies become financially independent. That's y they go marry this poor girls in the village so they can bully and control them then cry of lack of submission.

3. Anon 14:21, absolute truth!!! That's why I laugh when I see a husband lording it so much on his wife. Naija husbands, make una treat una wives better! Haba!!!!

4. ...AND WHY CANT THR MEN REGISTER AS NURSES TOO INSTEAD OF BEING COUCH POTATORS?

12. Heart to heart talk. So emotional to say. May God help little Rudi sense of reasoning.

13. Wow! Didn't know she was divorced.

14. I thought it was made up until I got to the boy refusing to travel home. You can't blame him with stories of lack of infrastructure and all.

A friend had his nephews and nieces visiting for the first time. The amount of money spent to fuel for generators (gen sets were being alternated) could start a good business.

Parents have the prerogative to keep telling them about home, actualize it and allow them make their choices other than what they read or friends tell them.

15. My love for Regina just skyrocketed. She was very honest with her son.

Her son look brainwashed with the negative things he see on TV and the ones he hears from his peers though.

Imagine saying he can go anywhere in the world but, Africa.

Its easier to be killed on the street of US than to be killed by an armed robber in Nigeria.

16. ‘I can go anywhere but Africa’. yet you will always have African heritage...Regina still as beautiful as ever.

1. Make him dey there we no need am

17. She divorced her husband long time ago. Didn't know, I thought they were still together. But why didn't they discuss it in private?

18. They have always had an off again on again type of relationship.If it isnt working we gat to tell ourselves the truth and move on

19. Wonderful conversation.... It's good to always remind children of their roots...
    If possible teach them the language too..

20. Wow didn't know she'e divorced oo

21. Regina’s smart way of letting out d reality of ds old existing rumor to d world. We no dey there when it happened, so we have no choice than to believe why u guys separated. U don’t get ur papers ,so good riddance to “divorce”. I can’t forget her six months dalliance with Charles “Otokoto”.

1. Lol! She's 1 of those women who pass through that deadly cult man, wey no dey marry woman pass 24 hrs.
      It seems like it was Charles that funded her relocation to America & they soon parted ways after she don hook up & marry the Akata for papers.
      ..many naija women abroad jumping from frying pan into fire is like 5 & 6
      😳

2. Charles Okorie. He was the one that had a bet to get her at all cost, publicized their relationship, set a date for traditional wedding and never showed up. To think he was not even educated and Regina is a graduate of Microbiology and a beauty queen.

Women like her, please know your worth. Stop selling youselves short for money.

3. Charles Orie* not Okorie.

22. Missing super star status in Nigeria, so divorce and move back. It has become a trend. Venita, Sophie Alakija now madam Regin . We have missed you. Sha come back. Yimmu

1. Abeg, carry your poverty reasoning comot. Do you know how well paid RNs are in America? You think Nollywood can pay her like that?

23. So shocked to hear she is separated from her man

24. I love their conversation. It seems mature but shouldn't this be private? The Internet shouldn't have the privilege of housing everything.

1. she's putting her pussy back on the nigeria stock exchange. That gist with her son is her way of telling naija magas to come invest in her tohtoh

25. I'm shocked oh, divorced ke? I loved them together. And from this her conversation seems they've been divorced a long time. I don't believe the marriage was for any papers. Cos if she wanted papers she would have done contract but she lived with this man a long time. He's been her hubby since naa. Hmm How old is the boy?

26. You all commend such private family issues being on social media??? I am surprised. Those commending her should do same - let's read about yours. Nonsense!

27. I love her conversation with her son

Shows they have a great relationship.

Hopefully her son appreciates his roots

28. Mother and son convo..Nice!!!!!Marriages sha

29. For the indomie generation casting aspersions, Regina was living in VGC in the 90s when she met this guy and he came to Nigeria and she gave up all her fame and acting career to move to the US and be his wife. Unfortunately, she didn’t realise that realities of life in America mean a man can’t just drop an SUV and offer you all that lifestyle just like that. To top it all off, dude became very ill almost to the point of death. She had to sit herself down and reevaluate life. I think that’s when she realised she needed her own income and decided to work towards becoming a nurse. I think she made a great decision. Living the high life in Lagos is great but most women yearn for stability and all that comes with motherhood. Unfortunately all that happened put a huge strain on Regina’s marriage. I like her, she has grown as a person and has found her true identity beyond being the eyecandy or wealthy men, and a screen Goddess, in motherhood and her current career she has found fulfilment. God bless you beautiful Regina you’ve experienced it all!

1. Weldone writer come and finish her friend Victoria nyama story too

2. Anon 16:20 how much will you pay me? I no dey do soho-free, that one was free trial, you will need to pay for the full experience.

3. The guy actually came to naija to marry her but Regina was fine but with nasty character I think her beauty got into her head then

4. Regina Askia got married her husband because was running from the bad reputation she had built for herself. She didn't carry herself well as a beauty queen.
      It was a good thing she got married and left the country.
      Well, she knows why she brings her personal life to social media. Her choice. 🤷‍♀️

5. (typo) got married *to*

30. But she updated her page after this post saying 18years and still going strong I think those two cant really let each other go, their friendship is on another level and the thing about Pisces men sorry I had to bring zodiac signs into this but they really never let go of someone they love "we die there" is always their slogan.

31. Regina very sweet message,I want more. Please send us what you and your daughter discussed yesterday.

1. 16:22 sarcasm ain't got nothin' on you. 🤣

32. I kinda like how she explained what being a black man in a foreign land is to her son. It’s especially worse in some places in London.
    Never knew she was divorced.

33. Lovely conversation but must it be put in the internet....

Mother and son bonding lovely..

34. Regina met Ruddy Williams as a bouncer & a limo chauffeur driver , she had no option as per sharp babe looking for papers & of course , she got her papers after marriage. Right now, someone said d guy had an accident & confined to a wheelchair (don’t know how authentic), but time will surely tell, d truth can’t be hidden for too long. At 50, she knows what she wants.

1. Lol!🙊 Bouncer & limousine driver.. kwa??? 😂😀
      I thought regina made up story to say the man was a new york financial executive, stock broker..blah..blah
      then the man was wearing neck braces..forming disability. Seems like it's insurance fraud..scam things! Lol!

2. If she could date Charles Okorie (got engaged) and Ezego, don't you think Rudi is better than those two even as a bouncer and Limo chauffeur?

3. Orie* not Okorie. So confident you mentioned his name twice!

35. Transparent relationship between mother and son.. beautiful!