Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Former Eagles Attacker Obasi Says Refusal To 'Settle' Cost Him 2014 World Cup

Saturday, May 09, 2020

Former Eagles Attacker Obasi Says Refusal To 'Settle' Cost Him 2014 World Cup

Former Super Eagles attacker, Chinedu Obasi, has revealed why he wasn’t part of the national team that represented Nigeria at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, despite being offered the chance to make the team.

The former Schalke 04 man in a shocking revelation in a live Instagram chat on Friday said officials asked him to pay a bribe to be included in the squad but refused because he felt it wasn’t the right thing to do.

The 33-year-old, who was part of the Eagles team that attended 2010 World Cup in South Africa and also silver-winning Flying Eagles squad at the 2005 U-20 World Cup said he felt very heartbroken because he got injured when he was supposed to move from Hoffenheim to England while playing at the 2010 World Cup for Nigeria and nobody contacted him to know how he was doing after the incident.

He said then two days before the list for 2014 World Cup came out, he was contacted and asked to pay some money if he wanted to be on the team despite not being a new player and having paid his dues in the team, but failure to pay the bribe made the officials drop him from the 2014 World Cup squad.

So all those who make the team to any competition representing Nigeria pay a sum?WOW

12 comments:

1. Corrupt practices didn't start today in naija. It is well.

2. ...'He is chosen', comrades thought at school
    He must grow a famous man.
    He thought the same and lived by rule.
    All his twenties crammed with toil.
    'What then?' sang Plato's ghost, 'what then?'

(What then by W.B Yeats)

After walking the straight and narrow, Mr Obasi, what then?
    🌚

3. I would love to know who demanded the money and how much was demanded.

4. I don't believe him. Stephen Keshi was in charge for the 2014 World cup and he wasn't ever known
    to be a corrupt coach. Whichever official wouldn't have been able to influence a Stephen Keshi's
    list.

1. Don't defend people you don't know like that!

Nigerian football Association is very well known for its bribery and corruption.

2. You say???πŸ™„

Please never vouch for anyone but yourself.

3. Then you never really knew Keshi. It is 'tradition' in Nigeria football that your skill can be overlooked if you refuse to offer bribe.

5. Except those officials wanted to scam him and tell him that "sorry" Keshi did not accept to include you.

6. Na their way na,not new..Useless people

7. reading this is so annoying , similar thing happened to my brother, that was the reason he stop playing. people that are suppose to help bring the cup home will be rejected bcos of bribe.

8. There are three sides to every story, my side, your side and the TRUTH.

9. Keshi was well known to be greedy. In fact he even competed with players for endorsement deals, & any deal you got as a player he took his cut from it