Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gov Ben Ayade Abolishes Produce Tax For Small Businesses + Breaks Down In Tears

Friday, May 22, 2020

Gov Ben Ayade Abolishes Produce Tax For Small Businesses + Breaks Down In Tears

The governor of Cross River State, Ben Ayade has taken the plight of the poor in the state into consideration and has abolished tax paying for small business owners.....

In a press meeting with the newly inaugurated team of Christian men and women to see this come to pass , he said;

''We implore you to know that your responsibility from today going forward is to put an end to illegal taxes on people. 

We have a tax law here that prescribes those who are exempted from tax, those categories of people and those that from time to time may be so announced by the governor, including every single hotel that has less than 50 rooms in Calabar and in the whole state, today are exempted from tax.

We have exempted all Okada riders, taxi drivers, airport taxi drivers. We have exempted small saloon owners, small catering and restaurant points, mama put , eatery points. All those small small basic survival people selling of products, struggling to eke a living, they have been exempted today from paying tax.

We have exempted them because it is better for me as a governor that I'ld rather tax my brain than to tax my people.

Great Cross Riverians, you have the right for anybody who comes before you to demand tax, you have the right to say "Stop!!! The governor has said we should not pay tax."

Why will a small person carry bananas from his farm to go and sell, and produce people are there taxing him for his products?
Why will someone carry groundnuts to go to the market and somebody is putting checkpoints on the road to collect money from a groundnut seller?

This is not Ben Ayade, this is not my nature, I am not wired for this insensitivity to a weaker person. I have abolished produce tax.
Let farmers earn their money, let them keep their money. Because you didn't give them fertilizers, you did not irrigate the soil, you did not prepare the soil for them. You did not do the land clearing for them, why do you want to tax them?

Why do you put pressure on that your small brother or sister whose situation is much worse? Why would we expect people who don't have scholarships for their children, people who don't have good schools, they struggle to pay, struggle with the uniform, struggle to have security in their schools, struggle to get water, with their generators and the government who is providing almost nothing to come back to those people and tax them.

I think this is the greatest injustice . I never knew that 5 years in two offices as governor, I would still find somebody who will live in a thatched house in Cross River state . I am almost crying because I knew how prepared I was, but it didn't end the way I had planned for the state.

And I just think that somewhere God will just help me because I really wish that I could really help, I really wish that I could really help (he breaks down in tears).

It's very painful truly. I can't put 5 years and I've not been able to achieve the change. I know of some small people whose businesses are closed because even after signing into law that they should stop collecting tax, I still find people giving political appointments for a completely different thing , then we see them move back to these same people and dragging them and taxing them.

If we have to pay tax, let me contact the anti-tax agency ,they give us a tax book of whether we fall under the category of those who pay tax or not.
So your vehicles, your public life, your telephone numbers will be in the public domain because everybody must call you to know whether they are to pay tax or not to pay tax.

And so I picked only men of God and women of God to serve here. I charge you that by the time you are done, let your agency be a world class example for other states and countries to emulate.
If God sees into my heart, let Him take every moment of my life if He can make every single Cross Riverian rich , if He can take every single Cross Riverian out of poverty, let Ben Ayade and the Ayades', let us be poor for Cross Riverians to be comfortable.

Let me see Calabar thrive again, and this is part of my post Covid-19 response.''

54 comments:

1. Deceitful Governor! Diverting attention of the citizens from the N900 Million local government funds he had illegally taken., in the name of fighting COVID-19. The govt officials that leaked the documents are being harassed and detained by the Police at the behest of this Governor. But he has been boasting with that young Commissioner of Health, that there is no patient in CRS. However a woman died ystday from covid-19 at the UCTH Isolation centre - brought from the General Hospital, Calabar. God help Nigeria with fake and untrustworthy leaders, shedding crocodile tears.

2. Politicians and their funny stunt.

Welcome o

3. The weeping governor, you see all these people that cry at the drop of a hat eh? I do not trust them at all, very tricky people!

Melancholy

4. I have only contempt for this man. He claims Cross Rivers state has no Covid-19, just like Yahaya Bello, he has led to the death of many innocent people, for reasons best known to his EVIL HEART.

2. Honestly,this is not bad at all!

3. Stella you can transcribe interviews eh. You are truly a journalist. Well done
    This is the difference between professional blogging and blogging for money.
    I wonder if I will ever have the patience to do something like this.

1. You took the words right out of my mouth. I was going to ask how she does it?
      Is it an app? But no app will recognize some of the Naija jargons she transcribes.
      Mehnnnn hats off Stella, you know your work 🙌🏾

4. Very good one, God bless him

5. The Original ShugarGirl22 May 2020 at 11:52

I felt like crying reading this. This is one of the many things we need basically.

The world be a better place if most people/(Africa) government shared some ideology rather than putting the next man who's got nothing through hell.

Most of us really need a heart. for now it's a rock we are carrying in our chest.

6. Wow.
    I’m glad someone in power have the interest of the low man at heart.
    I’m so glad.

7. GOD bless you Sir,Other Governors should please learn especially my state Governor ..Yaya Bello 🤣.
    # Receive JESUS today as your LORD and personal saviour#

1. You are lucky you have Yaya Bello. We will happily collect him from you, instead of this Ayade, with white elephant projects (super highway, bakassi port, cal-vegas resort, rice seedlings plantation etc), phantom youths employment and audio/crocodile tears.

2. @ Anon 🤣🤣🤣 But Yaya Bello is the worst governor of our time.

3. Can we have the audio Ben Ayade in exchange for our governor, at least he pays workers their salaries.

4. @Queen yes o my sister!

5. Which salary? Go and do proper investigations in the state before believing all you read in the newspapers. You are all being fooled. He pays a section of workers and owes others several months. Yaya Bello is better than Ayade. At least he doesn't lie about phantom projects and deceive youths about employing and paying them audio 30,000/month. Fraudster and scammer of a Governor

8. Nice stunt. .Long may it continue.

1. Is this all you could deduce from the post, a stunt?

2. You got it
      🤣🤣🤣

3. Audio, only if it will be done as he has said. May God grant our leaders the grace to move this country forward, we have all it takes, but no willing leaders.

9. "We have exempted them because it is better for me as a governor that I'ld rather tax my brain than to tax my people"👌. I wish all our leaders can think like this.

Nigeria is blessed with fertile lands and so many mineral resources. But after the emergance of crude oil, our leaders have failed to look beyond the oil. They are only interested in generating money through crude oil and tax from citizens. This is so sad

10. His points are very valid really. Taxes are meant to be paid to enjoy social services from the government. Yet, in Nigeria, all the government does is take from the people while the people create the means of survival themselves.
    I have always said it, it is selfishness and greed of our leaders that we are where we are. It doesn't take so much to better the lives of the people but just the heart and the willingness. I can only hope that it is implemented.

11. Drama 👑 King
    He takes the cap
    All talk and no action all of you awwwing and owwing I wish you a governor like Ayade

1. I watch it yesterday...Is he that bad?

2. Hahahahahahah I wonder why people are been fooled by his drama.

12. I pray it's a 'talk and do' something. Not just talk for show.

13. So the argument at my office now is that doing this,takes away the power of the people to probe or demand for better governance.

But me I'm saying that for all these years that we've been paying tax,have we been able to get good governance out of it?

Good roads,water,light,education,medicals,security etc are our basic rights as citizens and tax payers. But every election,you hear our greedy/selfish/callous politicians using these as their campaign promises.

You will pay your NEPA bills and still spend good money on fuel to run your generator set.
    You pay for tax and still pay double transportation(if you are lucky to get one) when it rains and our roads are flooded.
    ETC.....

I say it's a good one he's doing,till our tax can be accounted for,low income earners should not pay...

14. A man with a conscience.

15. Nice one governor,hope this will be a case of talk and do?

16. Honestly, I'd cry giving this kind of speech as well.

People are suffering and u still want to take from them.

All those agberos in Lagos disturbing ikorodu market women, I just hope Sanwo Olu does something like this too.

1. Sanwo-Olu won't do anything.
      The best he has and can do is what he did during this Covid.
      The only action Governor we had in Lagos was Fashola.
      Others are for show.

17. I hope those in charge of tax collection would make his words effective.

18. Hope he follows through.

19. Thank God that this politician thinks and reasons differently. May God touch the hearts of our other leaders to sincerely consider the plight of the masses

20. This is commendable.. Really.. God bless him

21. I hope he will implement it....o cos the tax those people pay eh its so outrageous plus those ndito ekpo in the name of tax force officers can so terrorize people eh

22. Yimu... Crocodile/Politician tears.. Awww at ur own discretion abeg .

23. Ayade, owo atam, be yarning all the time, just to seek attention, and be praised for doing absolutely nothing, attention seeker oshi. Calabar, infact the whole of Cross River State has lost its glory, ever since this man emerge as the governor of that state, Calabar is so dirty, and looks like a suburb, no infrastructure nothing, governor that is based in the UK, giving his brother so much power in the finances of the state, such a shame, Na only to de do press conference up and down, in order to deceive people. A Lai ni Kan se pa ni e

24. Akuko Mike eje agha...

Iyaaaaa, if I hear....

Emotional blackmail is the cheapest scam...

25. He won me over with this kind gesture of his.

26. Theatrics everywhere....if you know..you know!

27. Theatrics everywhere....if you know..you know!

28. Hmmm!! At the beginning of the video, I though he is genuine, but his LAST TWO STATEMENTS gave him away. This man can interpret his roles VERY WELL, Nollywood, oya oo.

29. BTW his statement that he chose men/women of God as members in this his anti-tax team is a no no for me because most of the issues we have in Nigeria today are fueled by wolves that claim to be 'men of God'. We have VERY MINUTE number of genuine men of God in Nigeria, and in Cross River in particular. I challenge them to abandon this anti-tax scam and save the many children that have been tagged witches from abuse and death.