Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Supreme Court Nullifies Orji Uzor Kalu’s Conviction

Friday, May 08, 2020

Supreme Court Nullifies Orji Uzor Kalu’s Conviction

The Supreme Court has nullified the judgment which convicted the former Governor of Abia State, Orji Uzor Kalu.

A seven-man panel of the apex court also set aside the judgment which convicted Ude Udeogu, a former Director of Finance and Account at the Abia State Government House.

The Supreme Court gave the judgement on Friday, more than one year after both men were convicted of corruption allegations levelled against them by the Federal Government.

Justice Mohammed Idris of the Federal High Court in Lagos had sentenced Senator Kalu to 12 years imprisonment in his judgement delivered on April 24, 2019.

He had also sentenced Mr Udeogu to 10 years imprisonment on the same day.

Displeased with the judgement of the Federal High Court, Kalu and Udeogu filed an appeal to challenge their sentencing at the Supreme Court.

The apex court, in a unanimous verdict on the appeal delivered by Justice Ejembi Eko, declared that the conviction of the appellants was null and void.

Justice Eko explained that the declaration was on the ground that Justice Mohammed Idris was already a Justice of the Court of Appeal, as at the time he delivered the judgment sentencing the appellants.

He held that a Justice of the Court of Appeal cannot operate as a judge of the Federal High Court.

The apex court, therefore, ordered the Chief Judge of the Federal High Court to reassign the case for trial.
from channels tv

*Nigeria we hail thee,............

34 comments:

1. The problem with our Judiciary is that it thrives on technicalities.

The Supreme Court didn't even bother delving into the merits of the suit. It simply looked for a technical issue to wriggle away from its responsibilities.

Now, it has ordered that the matter starts de-novo, all over again from the Federal High Court!

It will probably take another 5-8 years before the matter is concluded at the High Court.

Total waste of tax payers' money for cheap, dirty politics

1. It's tiring honestly speaking!!
      The judiciary needs a reform.

2. The supreme court under this dispensation has lost its value.

This is a tragedy.

Lovelace

3. One reason I hated practice in Nigeria. Told my parents law was not my calling as I always ended up very frustrated after attending court process.

Was just running around circles 5 solid years post call. Today, I am a secretary. Tomorrow I dey studio. Next day audition. Next week computer guru.

After 5yrs, my dad said no more pocket money for me. If I don't come up with anything tangible, he will marry me off let me go and be useful.

That was how I said I want to go for masters in USA. Hoping I will divert to nursing; at least make I dey count dollars.

They processed masters and I left. Oh well, you cannot finish the kain masters in Benjamin town without being serious.

That was how I started studying and going to court here. Something in me woke up and reminded me why I wanted the career in the first place.

Like play like play, I can now say again that I LOVE my career. The justice system in Nigeria almost killed this dream.

They are not a straight up ruler here though. But farrrrr better than Nigeria. The system works here and the take home is too refreshing that I don't even know if it is it that is making me cum* for my career eee 😅

My papa is proud again o😃

2. Politrical gymnastics. 🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️

3. In Nigeria anything goes, I mean what's this nonsense eeh?😯
    I'm not surprised sha

4. 🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️

5. 😂😂 this our country is a big joke that is not funny at all

we don’t practice democracy or a fair system of government....who are we? we are the corruption metal, the lieing lion country, the looters boski

6. I guess he must have gone and appeased the gods, and with Abba Kyari no longer in the picture, well....

7. The Zoo has done it again.

1. You see the very reason we hold strongly in our hearts that the Lugardian contraption called 'Nigeria' can't never ever be redeemed. Another credence to that assertion we have always known to be true.

8. When you are an APC member, all your sins are permanently forgiven and forgotten

9. Mstchewww when I said the law is trash in Nigeria they think I'm hating. Why will I hate on something I can relate to not just once,not twice smh.

10. I miss supreme court when it has the likes of Justice Nikki Tobi, Justice Oputa, Justice Nnamagu etc. Those days when the law cannot be used as an "engine of fraud".

1. Justice Nnaemeka-Agu

2. Thank you for the correction. You are right. I typed in a hurry.

11. Which way Nigeria

12. This country has a long way to go

13. Abi na Kyari jail am? Ds is bcoz when he was being tried , a pic of him & two other unknown people leaked , where they were on their knees in from of Kyari , begging him. I remember that, BVs were just mocking him for reducing himself to a beggar, not knowing that he was jail bound. Meanwhile, EFCC is not having his release from jail, that they will re-visit his trial .

14. Nigeria my country.