Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: June 13th Is International Albinism Awareness Day

Saturday, June 13, 2020

June 13th Is International Albinism Awareness Day

Are you an albino or you have one as child or sibling?or even as friends?Today is a day to celebrate yourself or them and educate others that being an Albino is not an illness or a crime....

Albinism is a rare, non-contagious, genetically inherited difference present at birth. In almost all types of albinism, both parents must carry the gene for it to be passed on, even if they do not have albinism themselves. The condition is found in both sexes regardless of ethnicity and in all countries of the world. Albinism results in a lack of pigmentation (melanin) in the hair, skin and eyes, causing vulnerability to the sun and bright light. As a result, almost all people with albinism are visually impaired and are prone to developing skin cancer. 

There is no cure for the absence of melanin that is central to albinism.

"Made To Shine" is the theme for this year's International Albinism Awareness Day. The theme was chosen to celebrate the achievements and successes of persons with albinism worldwide. 

It is also a call to stand in solidarity with people with albinism through their challenges. In this unprecedented time, people with albinism continue to suffer all types of human rights violations. Recently, in some countries, they have been branded “Corona” or “COVID-19” in an attempt to scapegoat them for the pandemic. Killings, attacks, bullying, dehumanizing stigma and discrimination continue against people with albinism. Yet on this day, we are reminded that in spite of these horrific practices, people with albinism continue to defy odds, overcome hurdles and face up to injustices with resilience. 

Today, we stand together with people with albinism all over the world in their fight to live a life that is free of stigma, discrimination, fear and violence. A world where they are made to shine.
(from un.org)

46 comments:

1. I once said a hurtful thing to an albino.
    I hope she forgives me wherever she is.
    I was just a kid and didn't know better.

1. Wait o, people discriminate albinos🀦‍♀️😲? Why? Not fair!

The albino up there is beautiful, she looks like someone I know, Chioma.

Melancholy

2. Me sha i love albinos i go out of my way to make friends with them. When i see them i go over to say hello. My husband keeps wondering. Even the children around i treat them extra special. Maybe cos my 2 neighbours growing up were albinos. We ate together played together and they have the best hearts. I also love stammerers.

2. Ndidi Anochie and Akarachi God bless you. Thank you for being good friends to me.

1. I dated like three of them my brothers and my sisters de go lash u scatter lol I m

4. I love this year's theme:
    MADE TO SHINE.

The last paragraph is everything,may the laws be changed to favor them because the job and marriage discrimination stunts are heartwrenching.Intelligent beings yet people don't employ nor marry,all they need is sexy medicated eye glasses,their skin is good without pepper in their foods.

As friends? Yes,plenty from our Benoni end in Benin that time,mostly from Ohijo and Ekpoma towns,kisses to Abieyuwa whose Dad was bleeeding rich that time,oh sweet memories through the breezy palms at Gapiona.
    Eromosele,Chinualumogu,,Ozoduwa,Echezona,Ozobialu,Odion and Akhere,I love you guys.
    Ozobialu remains my bestie,31years on.

As staff,yes one golden chic,as admin in our drycleaning services outfit,she is brutally honest. They always are.

They have many activities lined up for the day,thanks to Civil Rights Groups.

1. I almost married one cute albino guy last two years. They're very caring and romantic. I see them as normal human. I honestly don't know where the discrimination is coming from.

2. Ok ok,2 small assignments on the discrimination ish:
      1.Name one bank in Nigeria,banking hall,where you ever seen an albino as a staff on duty.

2.During the line up in the aisle during Holy Communion service,how many church members queue behind an albino.
      Thanks.

Will brb.

5. I am an Albino. I want to use this opportunity to say that people in Nigeria and allover the world continue to discriminate against Albinos. The colour of our blood, sweat and tears is same as yours.

It hurts badly when you reject us. It is the same way you feel when a white person treats you badly due to the colour of your skin and vice versa.
    If you know you have ridiculed, shamed, rejected, despised denied an Albino his or her rights in the past, now is the time to stop and think. If you are treated that way, will you like it?

Some have relied on myths from illiterate folks to tell them who an albino is, but I challenge you to educate yourself about Albinism. There is no excuse.

Stop the stigmatisation and discrimination. Do unto others what you want others to do unto you.

1. While growing up, I never saw albinos as different. It was as an adult that I knew people discriminated against them and I was really surprised. I was in university then. It still doesn't make sense to me why they discriminate against them.
      We all played together as children and it was very normal.

2. This is quite emotional πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

3. Do people really discriminate albinos?? I really don't understand. How? Why? Pls educate me cos I don't get. They get education, get jobs, get married and have kids. I think it depends on the individual. I know of one in my street, the guy is balling o, no dull moment with him. He's got a great job, married with kids. He is outspoken and very jovial. His personality alone will attract you to him. Very pleasant guy like that.

4. Try to live your beautiful life & turn a blind eye to the discrimination around you, Nigerians stigmatize alot... from tribe to religion, even the physically challenged isnt spared, they they'd join the US to scream Black lives matter!!

5. You will also discriminate if your skin was black.

6. πŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™‹πŸ˜πŸ˜

7. I'm hearing about this stigmatization of albinos for the first time. I've never done that rubbish in my life. While growing up we have them as friends,neighbours and even in my family we have one. Everybody relate with them the normal way. The one in my street is a brilliant medical doctor married and doing well. So who are the fools discriminating against them? Nawaaah ooh.

8. Be strong there darling πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ’–πŸ’–

I never really knew that people discrimate against Albinism in Nigeria like that.

I grew up with lots of them and there was nothing like fighting them nor using their skin colour to laugh at them.

9. Ok ok,2 small assignments on the discrimination ish:
      1.Name one bank in Nigeria,banking hall,where you ever seen an albino as a staff on duty.

2.During the line up in the aisle during Holy Communion service,how many church members queue behind an albino.
      Thanks.

Will brb.
      Sorry it posted up there.

10. Ms.A I am suprised too, na wa!

Melancholy

11. I had a classmate turned friend who was one. I only remember she is albino when people ask me about her. They were quite curious, as though they expected me to confirm all the myths about albinos were true. They are like you and me and it boils down to the person's personality not skin color.

6. Happy international albinism day! I don’t know any albino,but I celebrate you all! You are wonderfully and fearfully made. God bless you.

7. Reminds me of Lady Ibitoru greene. I hope she's ok now wherever she is.

8. Happy albinism Day to my Cousins 😁. The most senior one is a chic on another level.

9. When I was pregnant, an albino child came to me for food and I gave her, only for my neighbors to start avoiding me😧😧😧 according to them I will give birth to an albino child and won't come to greet me..I replied them that me wey don baff HIV patient before but unfortunately she died,na so since that day them dey fear me die nonsense

1. God those neighbours are vile!

2. @Bini, it was pure ignorance. Where I grew up, we had the same notion. It was so bad that even if an albino waves @ me, I will not only ignore the greeting, I will be so worried and scared for days.
      Thank God for enlightment.I really feel bad now thinking of how those people would have felt. Ha! And we were all children. They just wanted to be friends. I dont even know their names. Ha...i feel so sorry.

10. Omg anonymous 13:12 I am sending you love and light! Please know that you are beautiful and God has a purpose for your life. I’ve seen an albino lady with such beautiful skin omg I was almost jealous on how flawless and skin looked. Ps:anyone that discriminates because of the colour of their skin is bitter and sad!

11. I have never seen anyone discrimination an albino that I know Sha. Happy albino day to all the albinos out there.

12. I saw the most cruel thing done on an albino in Ibadan. The little girl had tribal marks πŸ˜ͺ

13. They truly are discriminated against. We once had a neighbour whose mum despised the guy she was dating because he was Albino. Gosh. Our neighbour loved that man silly. She paid no heed to the mother. Last I heard, they are married with kids now. We keep chanting black lives matter, but do we practice that as a people? I hope laws can be made to safeguard their rights.

14. The theme is sweet...

I have an albino living close to me. He is married to a very fair woman too. Come see sweet fairness on their four kids. Chai! Their kids are fair n beautiful like Bambino kids with flawless skin but none is albino

15. firstlady blessing13 June 2020 at 14:38

I celebrate all Albino, keep your heads up.

16. Made to shine... I love this year's theme. I don't know any albino personally but I celebrate you all on your day😘😘😘

17. I used to have a very beautiful course mate who was an albino. Blonde haired and looked like a doll. Glittering skin and all. But she had zero self esteem. Could never walk alone. We tried to tell her and show her how naturally beautiful she was but she never listened to us. She was smart too and always dressed to kill. Its only stupid people that discriminate. Its just skin color. Nothing else! Albinos should just live and forget silly people who lack understanding.

1. Hmmm but my own self esteem always made me walk alone or with just one person, or was I only trying to make myself believe I am confident? I am not an albino but I am physically challenged, I always try to put up a strong front but I am always crying when alone, they discriminate against me at job interviews, ask silly questions like how will you cope or do this even after reassuring them I won't be a burden and will be efficient just like everyone else ,if not better. How will I cope when no one wants to employ me and I don't have capital to start anything? So depressed. Even men thinks they are doing you a favour asking you out, so you shouldn't have a say in the relationship, well I don't allow that, I rather be on my own.

2. Awwww. This is so touching. What type of business are you interested in doing and how much will it cost to start? I may be able to help you with funds if it’s something I can afford at this time.

3. Come here πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€— I love your confidence. God got you always. Keep your head high and keep pushing. . I can imagine what you going through. My school daughter back in secondary school was discriminated against because she is albino. She was with me everywhere I went. I could feel her pain. Lol, fought her battles. Made enemies (glad I did because they weren’t worth it).

Don’t let anyone make you feel less. You are more than some people who are complete. Keep forging ahead πŸ€—.

4. Half hand, don't you ever feel bad or cry again, I won't pretend that i know how you feel,because i am not in your shoes, but please be strong and confident, don't let anyone take you for granted, always stand your ground but do not be rude, you are more than enough.πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

18. I celebrate all the people with Albinism todayπŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–.. I am not different from you and you are not different from me.

We were all created in His image and likeness

19. I never see where they discriminate Albino. My brother married one and she is a good woman.

20. my cousin children are albinos
    his father was an albino, so
    he passed the gene to them

21. I have one as my student,Mofe. Come and see skin like butter. She doesn't eat salt and she takes little pepper. If you see the pictures she snapped on the last colour week we had in the school,so beautiful and she always stand out in group pictures.

22. Albinos are beautiful I don't understand the discrimination ish....