Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos State Governor Sanwo-Olu Gives Date For Lifting Of Ban On Religious Gathering

Friday, June 05, 2020

Lagos State Governor Sanwo-Olu Gives Date For Lifting Of Ban On Religious Gathering

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos state has lifted the ban on religious gathering effective from June 19th, 2020.

He announced this during a media briefing on Thursday, June 4th that he would allow churches and mosques to reopen based on strict compliance to the state's safety commission.

Mosques are allowed to reopen from June 19th, while churches would reopen on June 21st.

Noting that religious gatherings can increase Coronavirus cases, he said religious centres would only be allowed to operate at a maximum of 40% of their original capacity.

35 comments:

1. Hmmmmmmm
    Will people comply?
    I am not comfortable with these.

2. And some people that haven't seen each other in months will still hug and shake hands,neglecting the laid down rules. Please everyone let adhere to the rules.Stay safe everyone, your safety matters a lot.Kisses💋💋.

1. I will stay home and observe for now because of my kids, God is everywhere

4. I hope they comply with the 40%

5. So religious gathering is more important than school?

There's a big problem in Nigeria

1. Mrs A, welcome to Nigeria where religious people believe that you will pray for illiterate and miracle will happen he/she will be literate...

2. Not more important but I think they are still working on that of schools. It's really not easy to control kids and make them adhere to rules.

My church is not even allowing the 16 - 20yrs to come to church because of hugging and handshakes. Adults can avoid it but kids can't.

Someone told me that even if schools open that her kids won't go to school. They are about 7, 8 and 5yr old.

3. Is harder to control kids/children btw churches are not allow to do Children”s church for now

6. Hmmm I pray people will comply to the instructions given

7. Hmmmmm,I really don't think I will be going that very day of church resumption o,the crowd will be much,my church is a very large one.

8. I wont lie,since the ban on religious gatherings and events,I've been sleeping well at night without noise and during the day too..

1. Princess Sarah5 June 2020 at 08:29

Even me

2. Honestly Emerald, same here.

3. My dear...
      I'm kinda enjoying the peace and quiet.

9. Error, with the rate of increase in Lagos State? He shouldn't try it unless they are not telling us the truth

10. This won't work cos some churches have like 100 people.like winners now for example,40people can't worship because they have large crowd
    It is better Sanwolu should not allow churches n mosques to reopen o

1. Not 40 people,40percent of the congregation.
      Honestly, church leaders shouldn't have pressurize the government for reopening now unless those figures display by NCDC daily are false.
      Saliva on microphone from bro A to sis B,hmmmm.

11. I like this.

We need to learn how to live with the virus. People can't stay indoors for life.

Next is to open the economy. People are suffering.

My church workers had a meeting yesterday. We won't open immediately. No children or teenager is allowed to come to church. If you don't have anyone to leave them with, please watch online.

12. People won't adhere to instructions, the masks are no longer worn by many so what are we saying? God help us.

13. What of school..seems d fed government dnt really love education

14. Confused government! I still know that God will preserve us from this virus. Is it not better for us all to be allowed to go out? Confused people!

15. How successful will it be for the people to follow his guidelines? Education is not important to them,I can see that.

16. I wont go...o,will worship God from home..

1. Same here.

2. Me i get valid excuse sef. My children are below 10years so i no dey go anywhere.

17. Lagosians are waiting sir.

18. Hmmmm! Nigeria my country. Will people follow the guidelines?

19. Me, still observing with my 3d
    glasses.