Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

Tuesday, July 07, 2020

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

Na wah

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
UNABLE TO PRONOUNCE WORDS

Good afternoon BVs

Thank you Stella for creating this beautiful community.

I have an issue that is seriously bothering me. After reading the post about the bad habit of your partner. I decided to send this. 

I have a bad habit and that is, I find it hard to pronounce some words. I read a lot of Novels but yet I find it difficult to pronounce some words and even to write them. I know I am smart and speaks well too but I don't just know what the problem is.

I am married to a super intelligent doctor, He has tried to help me so many times but I just give up easily. I know my husband gets really pissed off about it sometimes especially when I pronounce a word wrongly in front of our kids...he never corrects me in their presence anyway. He's learning to live with it. we have been married for 7 years. I really want to become better.

I can remember when I was quite small I found it hard to pronounce "principle", can remember my siblings laughing 😁 at me because of it. I guess that was the beginning of my matter.

How can I help myself to learn and become better. (Hubby told me recently how he was ashamed when I pronounce a word wrongly during our night devotion...i felt for him and myself) We laughed about it but it is time to change.

Practical steps would be appreciated greatly.
Thank you lovely people ❤

*I think you have a medical condition oh....i am sure cos i have seen a documentary on something like this ...Your hubby is a doctor and should know!

103 comments:

1. This here just reminded me of a young lady yesterday pronouncing Pandemic as Pendemic. They had to correct her for over 7times but even at that,she still didn't master it.

I sincerely dont know what to advice than to say,keep practicing.

1. I've got the "H" factor and little problem pronouncing some small small words and my children enjoy it and it extremely cracks them up, so when I'm in a good mood they always ask me to pronounce words in Nigerian accent so they can laugh and fall off the chair or imitate me.
      Na dem sabi because I always claim to speak English before they were born and acknowledge the fact that I'm a graduate of a prestigious University in Nigeria called Unilag πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

2. I know someone that has this issue. No matter how you teach her. She cnt pronounce it especially with names.

3. Me I have a problem with the letter S, I pronounce it Sh. I don tire, what I do is anytime I want to pronounce a word with letter S, I calm down and say it silently.

4. Like shpirishual instead of spiritual.

5. 🀣🀣🀣 oh BB, why are you like this?

6. My ex used to say dettoi instead of dettol and compin instead of company and couldn't understand why..lolz

7. Lol @spiritual that's do funnyπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Same as my mum o... i used to think that it's just normal for some people... poster, you will be just fine

8. @BB...you...are...a madddddddd geh.....hahahahahahah! which kind pikin/wahala be this one now?dem don pursue me comot from meeting as i saw your comment o....hahaha!G!

9. Lolzzz @ BB they are much

See as Shee

10. @anonymous 19:14.. Why dem no go "purshue" you comot for meeting when be shay na matter wey no conshign you, you carry put for head πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

11. Well, jokes apart @Madam B.. I actually have a friend that pronounce "sh" instead of "s" too and we are used to it. And I don't think you should be bothered because it's actually more of a tongue thing. ❤️

12. You might be sightly dyslexic

2. Maybe you should try jolly phonics?pay someone to put you through if you can

1. Maybe try using simpler words cause u actually wrote very fine so u are still intelligent

2. Madam,enrol in a diction class.b4 u knw it u don perfect

3. It's another Chronicles.
    Dear poster, I understand your plight, like Stella said, you might have a medical condition, try talking about in this light to your husband, and encourage him to do some research on it, so that you guys would know the right step to take.

4. Enroll for diction classes.
    Next!

5. Medical conditions kwa for not pronouncing word properly, anyways we learn everyday

1. Maybe she has tongue tie. It's a medical issue.

She should use her phone. There are some apps for learning diction.

6. Who helped you write this chronicle?
    Maybe you should get a tutor who will take you down to elimentary level and start all over again. No shame in it.
    That's why it's good to give your kids good education. When you have a solid foundation, education wise, you are good to go.
    Don't let your kids start correcting your poor/wrong pronoucations before you do the needful.

Sluttychic.

1. You are so right about giving children quality education.
      Although I don’t blame my parents for sending me to Community Primary and Secondary school cos I was the one who willingly left classes and was playing under the mango trees, plucking cashews.. They no send me that one

2. Slutty,its *elementary.
      Poster,why not get an English/phonics tutor,that would really help.

3. Fan ehhh🀣🀣🀣🀣

4. Fan πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      Thank you dietitian.

Sluttychic.

5. And no, there's nothing wrong with your kids correcting your tenses. Especially in a loving way. Not disrespectfully.

6. Well said slutty.
      Fan🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

7. This lady named Fan ehn

8. Slutty I wrote it myself. I told you I am smart and intelligent. Just that I find it hard to spell some words/ pronounce them.

7. I have same issue, am 25 years old but cant spell or speak English fluently
    My handwriting is beautiful but i avoid big words too cause i cant pronounce it
    i downloaded this game WORD LEGEND, when am free i do play and click on definition to try and learn word meaning
    I tell people dont speak big grammar to me before i begin conversations,i get confused easily

I need help too

1. Awwww! You could type a word in Google and have it spelled out.
      Keep at it and you'll improve in no time darling

2. So Shooter can be sweet like this? 😊 Yeah Google will help a lot. Keep trying. With time you will improve. Same goes for the poster.

3. Kiks stopeet πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

4. Since you have beautiful handwriting use it to get into calligraphy. This could be a way for you to learn English and earn money at the same time. Download as many English language apps as you can and practice. Find videos on Youtube. You can do this!

8. Aww I wish I can hug now..I think you have dyslexia even the educated ones don't know about it..They have a support group that helps and they have a show on Inspiration Radio 92.3fm every saturday morning..It doesn't make you less intelligent..Again I want you to believe in yourself that you can overcome it..I believe you can..Make use of google audio to help you pronounce words you have difficulty in or as my dad would teach me then break your words into two like-Governor break it as Gov-Er-Nor..Take it step by step..I can't wait to hear of an improvement from you..You are intelligent and Smart..All the best...

1. Poster go with thisπŸ‘†
      It would be a thing of the past soonπŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

2. That definitely isn't dyslexia.

3. Classic symptoms of dyslexia. You've done well going through school undiagnosed. From your write up, it seems you have a mild case.

You can get help at dyslexianigeria.com. They are in Lagos. All the best, dear.

4. Dyslexia or dysarthria, which does the poster have @Phoenix.
      Ikwakwakwakwa

5. Anonymous 15:32 Please tell me what is it then? Anonymous 15:52 You must be tripping ba

6. Anon 15:52, for someone who Dyslexic, This makes it hard to recognize short, familiar words or to sound out longer words. It takes a lot of time for a person with dyslexia to sound out a word.
      But for Dysarthria is when there is difficulty in speaking caused by brain damage or brain changes later in life(which I do not think this poster has got). It is a nervous system disorders and conditions that cause facial paralysis (tongue or throat muscle weakness), and some certain medications also can cause it.

7. Dear poster ,I second this,you will testify

8. it is dysphasia

9. Poster, you have a speech problem. It could be speech apraxia. My 2nd son has it too but we are working on it theough a speech pathologist and he's improving seriously.

This problem is characterized by ones inability to pronounce certain letters thereby affecting your pronunciations.

If you can, find a pathologist and get professional help. Otherwise, read up on speech problems and follow some of the suggestions as it pertains to your case.

Good luck and keep your chin up.

10. I don't think is Dysphasia, because the poster does not have brain disease or damage.

11. Thank you beautiful people.
      Anon 17:29 I am going to read it up. Thank you.

Stella Mama Thank you too. Make I tell hubby it may be a medical issue ooo πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

12. OP, you have speech or verbal Dyspraxia. A good speech pathologist should be able to help you.

*Omo Iya Doctor*

9. How can your husband be a doctor and disgrace you like this? He should know this is a medical condition and it is against his ethics. I will suggest you look for a good speech therapist to help you.

1. Where did her husband disgrace her?

2. He didn't disgrace me oh. The guy loves me to bits. Just that it gets to him Atimes.

10. Poster don't force yourself. I think you re trying to measure to ur hubby's standard. Who English help. Abeg speak the thing and allow the kids say mummy it's not correct ooo. That's the joy of it. As long as you are not going for job interview or exam

1. Your advise is so wrong. Poster, ignore this rubbish

2. Poster please ignore this advice. Learning is a life long process. At the very least let your husband see that you are making an effort. It will also help your self esteem to do so. Also please don't let someone trample on you anyhow. He knew your English wasn't fluent when he married you.

11. Mine is I can read and write but I can't speak well to talk of be fluently. I have tried many things, read novels ,watch English speaking movies. I can't come out publicly because of it. I have testimony to render last Sunday but due to it I did not give it.someone should help me especially how to face congregation. Thanks

1. Me and you are same. I am so shy to face congregation.

2. See my people, abeg make una help us

3. Start with your mirror at home. Stand and stare boldly at the mirror as if you are facing a crowd. Make that speech like a boss lady. Practice it everyday and make it a point of duty to look people in the eyes while addressing them.. Go girlπŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺ🌟🌟🌟

4. you can go and document your testimony.

5. πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ’―

6. I couldn't face congregation too few years ago.. Hmm, nysc changed the narrative for me since I had to teach (this gave me the confidence to attend interviews and calmly answer questions and even ask the interviewer smart questions in return) and becoming a teacher in a secondary school too improved me so well! The way I speak, my composure, body language while at it everything changed.

I think you should start with your mirror at home or have your siblings or kids or anyone sit and try giving a speech. One, two... Three, etc you would definitely see a change.

12. Poster I think you should download a dictionary that has audio, and can pronounce the words for you.

13. Do you speak with a lisp or have mother tongue interference,that should explain the issue?
    I know someone whose tongue is not properly detached from that line that holds the tongue to the mouth and it affects her speech.

14. Poster;you can go to your store on your device and download "Oxford Dictionary"..

It has pronunciation which is audio as you search any word;Use it to practice every word and you will be good with time..

@MARTINS

15. You and your husband are not serious.

16. I commend your hubby for not correcting you, in front of your kids������. You not pronouncing words the right way, have you tried the voice part of an online dictionary, that's using the speaker part tbat pronounces words. It helps me sometimes. Well, that's if your condition isn't a medical issue. All the best. ������

17. YOU ARE DYSLEXIC. iTS A CONDITION WHERE YOU ARE DEFECTIVE IN pHENOMES. iT DOES NOT MEAN YOU ARE STUPID. rICHARD BRANSON, JENNIFER ANISTON, DANNY GLOVER, JAY LENO AND MANY OTHER CELEBRITIES HAVE DYSLEXIA. WINSTON CHURCHILL, THOMAS EDISON AND ALBERT EINSTEIN AND LEORNARDO DAVINCI MAY HAVE HAD DYSLEXIA. iTS NOT A BADTHING AS IT DOES NOT MEAN YOU ARE STUPID. there are things you can do to help your condition. just google dyslexia

1. You had to type in caps and lows? Who’s your mate here that “ya shating” on🀣🀣

18. Poster you might be suffering from tongue-tie called Ankyloglossia. People with this medical condition find it difficult pronouncing words properly. Your husband should know better and learn to live with it. He should stop those unnecessary corrections and accept you for who you're. His constant corrections and disgust at your pronunciations can lead you to develop low self esteem. Nobody is perfect. As it is now there's nothing you can do about it than to learn to live with your conditions and people around you should show you more love instead of constantly pulling you down claiming they're correcting you.

1. Yeah. Don’t correct harshly.
      My mom is like the poster. At first we thought she was pronouncing words wrong to be funny but eventually we found out she wasn’t trying to be funny. She’s literate.
      We Eventually stopped correcting her cause well.... we understand what she’s trying to say. But she herself started correcting her words by talking slowly when it gets to words she finds hard pronouncing.

19. Martins have said what came to my mind... Just take this advice it may be helpful...

20. I pray you find the help you seek..I love the fact that you are ready to change and improve too..

All the best

21. If you can pronounce it in your dialect please don’t even bother yourself cos you are not alone.
    Often times I switch to Igbo were my English has hanged cos I cannot kee myself mbok! Whenever my hubby comes to show himself I remind him that he too cannot speak Igbo fluently cos unfortunately for him, he’s one of those “Mummy anyi si we are Ibos”..
    Poster go home and sleep jor, onyibo biala abia mehn

1. Gbam! I can’t kill myself....🎡🎢

2. Mahd ooooo
      πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

3. Fan fan🀣🀣🀣🀣

4. This advice is like telling the poster not to treat the headache stressing her because her husband might be suffering from stomach pain. Nawaoooo

5. you are so funny, poster take this one.

22. I'm glad u have a supportive partner who understands that u ain't perfect.. I'd advice that u enroll in online pronunciation classes, get a good headset, listen to each words, download Merriam-Webster dictionary, search for words u find dificult to pronounce, click on the audio and listen to the pronunciation, do a lot of practicing and I'm sure u will be fine in no time..

23. Verbatically verbose

24. You're probably dyslexic. It's not an obvious disability most times. All you need is a little therapy. It's nothing to be embarrassed about

25. Ehenn, medical condition? I am going to Google it.

26. Should I be bothered too?
    My 4years old daughter pronounce some of her words wrongly.
    Cake - tate
    Car_ tar
    Cup-tup
    Gun- dun
    She has issues with pronouncing the sound /g/ and /c/
    Is it to early to be worried?

27. Poster, listen to english articles with accompanying mp3 on The VOA or BBC site or app. When you listen and read at the same time try to repeat after the reader whispering or not too loud at first. You can control the speed if they are too fast. Do this till you are comfortable to read out loud on your own according to what you heard. This technique is called shadowing.

Repeat the exercise for 90 of articles that please you to read for over 4 months to 1 year and beyond (with less training if you wish). You should read out loud 2 articles at least 3 times each day. Use your drive time, breakfast time etc don't wait for a special time the articles are just 3 mins or so. Also change the articles after 6 months.

This is a targeted approach at retraining your tongue to pronounce all words including those you know how to pronounce. It is better this way cos after a year you will notice once you open your mouth to speak your brain's default words pronunciation will sound like that of those BBC readers that pronounce words correctly. You won't have to conciously speak correctly.

Ada.

28. You may try Speech and Language therapy or get someone to train you in elocution

29. I used to have this problem and still make the mistake sometimes. Just download a speaking dictionary. It will take time but u will be alright.

30. i think it was our up bringing, i find it hard to pronounce some words well. My children will pronounce everything for me. Poster do not kill yourself because of English, what matters s making money and becoming a successful person. Make una no come for me.

31. I am incredibly smart and currently on my PhD. I studied up to my first degree in Nigeria but I had always had trouble with spelling. It was when started my Masters in the UK it got discovered that I was dyslexic. All I knew was that it had always taken me much longer to read and write because I had to put in extra effort. You should look up "specific learning disorders" online.

32. My own problem is that I cannot pronounce "R". I pronounce it in between "W" and "V". Rat is rat or vat. Romance is Vomance. Ruler is wuler. Rural area Wuwal area.
    I purposely avoided making my kids with any name that starts with R. Imagine calling my son "Vichard" or "Wichard" instead of "Richard", and my daughter "Whema" instead of "Rhema", when she's not even the owner.Wema Bank.

1. Wat*
      Wuwal awea*
      Naming*
      Owner of*

2. I'm with you on this, I can write perfectly well, but pronunciation is my problem, words like poverty I call pooverty,dial I call it Dias. E plenty shame dey always catch me to speak English a times, but I can speak yoruba🀣🀣

3. Me too, I pronounce my R as W. A very simple problem that would have been solved with a speech therapist but Nigeria was backward in the 80s. I've learned to talk fast so people don't notice. Only my family knows.

33. Poster as u said u find it hard to write the words I think u are dyslexic. Dyslexia is a learning disorder that involves difficulty reading due to problems identifying speech sounds and learning how they relate to letters and words (decoding). U need professional health. They will give u some tips and help u out and also teach ur husband how to treat u. Good luck.

34. I one of my friend in secondary school usually argue with me that is Albert instead of Advert.I will ask her to pronounce it fully she will say albertizement instead of advertisement.

35. Poster, I bet you watch ZeeWorld and other useless entertainment that doesn't improve you as a person and you wonder why you can't pronounce certain words. Not to be harsh but apply yourself and focus on things that build your skill set. You don't even have to spend money, there are videos on YouTube teaching pronunciation. Watch and practice until your practice makes perfect.
    Your husband has been patient great, do your part and continue to build and reinvent yourself for you and your family.

1. Your first sentence is rubbish!!! Ignorance isn't an excuse to sound dumb......

Did you read her Chronicles at all?? Shior!!

36. I never knew this kind of disorder or should I call it challenge exists.

I have a friend who turns me off with the way he pronounces words.
    Very good guy, well schooled but speaks in a very irritating way.

Now I know better, I need to be more patient and help him work this out.