Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Couch Convo - Celebrating Divorce

Wednesday, August 19, 2020

Couch Convo - Celebrating Divorce

The same way people celebrate getting married is the same way some now celebrate getting divorced,especially when the Marriage was toxic........

Imagine celebrating a divorce!!!

Since i started hearing of people celebrating divorces,i have read about more women celebrating getting divorced than men...Why is this so?

53 comments:

1. They are free from mental, physical, phycological stress. Strength to move out is one thing most don't have.

1. Me, my problem is different. I feel my husband looks at girls too much even when we drive together, he says he doesn't look at them but only looking at the road as one who is driving. Or am I just insecure? I have never caught him cheating or has he given me any reason to suspect, just this. I am beautiful and get a lot of admirers but someone I still feel insecure. What do you think please?

2. I will celebrate mine eh!

Gosh, I’ve been through a lot.

3. let them feel free to celebrate, we don't know what they went through

2. Maybe the marriage was a prison, torment 0r torture for them. Some people jumped in blindly only for their eyes to clear when they enter.

1. Story of my life! Even after i had dreams that i was clearly entering a war zone....hmmn. May God deliver me.

3. I hate divorce says the Lord Malachi 2:16.
    And some humans say; "we love divorce and will celebrate it"

Isn't this apostasy?
    Isn't this an effrontery to the creator?
    Not only do humans desecrate his institution of matrimony but they now
    celebrate it? 😮😮😮😮
    Wow, this is like giving the Lord Jesus the mid finger.
    It is sad. It is not normal. It is despicable.
    It goes to show that those celebrants are not sincere. Same person that
    you told the "world" that you love?
    Why not be quiet, even a fool is thought wise, if she keeps quiet (Prov. 17:28)
    This is the (2 Tim. 3:1-8) godlessness in the last days
    😢😢😢😢🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️

1. Hmmm... aptly spoken.

Most people who celebrate divorce openly are just trying to hurt/spite the other party. They themselves need serious healing.

2. When people come here to quote scriptures, I don't like to tell my opinion especially if it's the opposite of what the person thinks.
      The Lord hates divorce, nobody likes divorce. But would u rather stay in a marriage that's taking away the things The Good Lord has given you?... I mean your peace, joy and happiness. Think!

3. Judge not that you may not be judged for measure you give is that which you receive. You hypocrite, why do you see the spec in your brothers eye but fail to see the log of wood in your own eye...
      ...If any of you is without sin, let him be the first to cast a stone...
      It is true God hates divorce but he doesn't hate the divorceei learnt that from this blog). Many suffer from various forms of violence in their marriages and you stand hear thinking its just about them?
      Have you thought about their kids? Kids grow up thinking violence is normal, rape is normal, having multiple partners is normal, kids grow with zero self esteem. They grow up with hate for their parent.
      Do you think then that this is what God loves, that this is what God intended marriage to be all about?
      My dear, look before you leap. All is not always black and white.

4. Thank u kokolet. Meanwhile it’s the scripture quoting ones that are usually the worst.

5. My dear... you must be very young, inexperienced or just closed minded with a one-track perspective. Learn to read beyond the Bible; acquire knowledge and be open to learn. Or just try and understand that Christianity is not the only religion practiced in Nigeria. So learn learn to respect other people's views and religion. Divorce is a fact of life. It isn't the ideal solution but it is necessary in some cases. Look up actual cases and then maybe you'll understand a little bit more. Or you could pray as Jesus did that their "pain" and "trial" come upon you that you may aid their suffering....

*I just hate to see comments from self righteous from religious bigots...

6. What God has put together let no man put asunder. First it has to be God who put it together. If not divorce is more than valid. Just because a pastor joined you together does not mean it’s from or of God.
      Thank God none of these self righteous people are not God. We’ve already seen what happens when the religious right have a place in government. Total chaos. Why do you think women all over the world are still fighting for their rights? Because of all sorts of social and religious oppression.
      Also, note that the law was not given for redemptiom, it was given to highlight sin, which why Jesus said if you look at a woman with lust, you have committed adultery.
      If you have ever in your heart separated from your husband/wife in your heart based on an issue or what they said, if you have ever regretted the union even for a second, if you’ve ever said - if I had known you were like this etc, you are guilty.
      Always think before you start condemning people.

7. Hmmm... It is true that God hates a divorce. But staying in a marriage that puts one's life and mental well being in danger is an insult to God, the Giver of life.

8. @Kokolet and co
      God hates divorce...he also gave an example of what can lead to a divorce.
      No one is denying that there can't be a divorce but the apostasy there is
      celebrating it...that is the topic of this discussion, let us not forget that.
      It is just like someone celebrating that she aborted a baby deemed to be sick.
      Divorce calls for mourning and not celebration.
      But please, "do not join the multitudes to do evil" (google this one and quote it to yourself.)
      😊😊😊😊😊

9. Goan siddoen ozoai they should enjoy physical and emotional abuse bah

4. maybe she went through hell in that marriage. may our homes never be void of peace.

5. It is wrong to openly celebrate divorce. I am divorced but I also wish the circumstances for my divorce did not prevail. I understand some people go through worse and terrible things but you send a bad message that u never cared about the marriage. This makes you toxic as well. God hates divorce not divorcees therefore why should you celebrate what makes God unhappy.

1. I feel u anon. I am about to file for divorce and while I am happy I will be free I don’t think it’s right celebrating it.

2. Exactly. Just move on with your live and leave out all the unnecessary drama. It leaves a bitter taste in the mouth. Kisses dear.

3. Well written 👏🏾

4. Stella, women feel more choked in marriages than men (if it is toxic) and they tend to heave a sigh of relief whenever they are "liberated" from such unions. Men on the other hand are usually angry, bitter and feel cheated after divorce (they do most off the spending in my own little opinion).

I recently came across a friend last week, she had been married for 10 years with 3 kids, and suddenly in the past one year, I noticed on all her social media handles that she was daily posting beautiful pictures of herself with "pepper-them-like" wordings, was now almost white in complexion (she used to be dark) and looked so trim and VERY good. When I saw her face to face she said she was done with marriage and was so happy because she felt it was toxic for her, and was not even remotely hoping to get back with the man.

Those SM pictures were her own way of celebrating her "freedom". Hmmmm.. to each his/her own jare.

5. Lmao ANG's why you come humble for your second comment. The lashing enter you? 😂

6. Well, I don't have a clue what she went through before the divorce that would warrant such celebration.. Someone like me will just lockup
    coz I wouldn't want strangers in my business.. To each his own.

7. Lol.
    Lets do a survey and statistics of battle of the sexes of who lives happily ever after the divorce.
    And then publish the results..

1. Hmmm... The men usually move on and get married faster than the women. It's especially harder for women with children. Some men even leave the bulk of childcare expenses for the women.

2. The women struggle in the beginning especially those who didn't have a source of income. But I've noticed that if their hands are clean, they eventually come off the winners. They may never remarry but you'll see that they have peace of mind.

3. The world judges by who moved on and remarries first and in most cases, it's usually the men.

But in actual facts, no be by like that o. That the man remarries and the woman didn't doesn't mean the man is happier. True story

8. simply attention...the men end up getting hitched and move on faster. No future DH wants to be treated same, hence they hover around the divorcee, for benefits and nothing cogent. Congrats to the divorced divas...mbok

9. My cousin celebrated her own divorce last year. Every one advised her to leave the marriage cause of domestic violence, but she was then so in love but when the scales fall off from her two eyes, she ran without telling us her family people. Only to invite us after some months that she is celebrating. We all went and drink with her. Thank God she is finally free and full of life now.

1. I hope she remains out o. That is how someone we were happy she had finally had the sense to leave her toxic marriage came back o. Tomorrow they will call those who advised her the devil that tried to break their marriage.

Abeg i mind my business

10. “Na only their eyes know werin them see inside the marriage”

Lol

11. I believe so much in marriage. My parents have a good one going and makes it look so simple. I never want to go this divorce path I want the forever kind of home. That's why friendship means more to me in this union thing.

Anyways, I'm surrounded by people whose marriages are doing well. They ve challenges even take breaks but they always work things out.

1. Just pray to God you marry someone with your mindset, who's willing and ready to make your marriage work. Many divorcees have parents who have a good marriage.

2. This our generation seem to divorce for the silliest of reasons. Couples are no longer willing to tolerate or put in efforts. Divorce is as simple now as bread and butter. DV and Infidelity are exceptions though.

12. My own is that my man is making me angry. Imagine that my phone camera no dey snap good pictures again. I told my man about it, he says no money right now, that he will buy in December. I need that camera for my business. His own spoilt last week and he wants to buy new one today . I bought my last phone. I need my man to do things for me to prove his love. I take care of myself. But this phone I want him to buy. Isn't this wickedness ?. He will buy his today while mine will wait till December. So also my business because I do business with that phone. I am very ready to end everything he didn't buy it

1. Darling, don't let pettiness steal your joy. Buy that phone and take his actions with a pinch of salt then your peace of mind and marriage is safe.

13. Divorce is too much sha

14. The kind of joy after my divorce was worth celebrating but I celebrated within myself, no need for all the party and pictures, it looks like trying too hard to look happy. It’s childish abeg

15. Marriage is covenant between two. God illustrated marriage with his kingdom alot. But truth is its old thing and you can only survive in it with olden days pattern. This generation don't want to be attached with old things but they wish to snap pictures and post about lovely things. Like traditional pictures wedding and all the shower shower things. This is what rains now so no one can change the breeds mindset. Always tell your self truth, marriage is old fashion and can't be handle with new fashion trends. Two acting old.

1. Anty Grandma you just yarned dust

2. Grand side dish you well sooo??
      I'm not understanding all that you wrote.

16. I don't believe in celebrating divorce, but there are some families you Marry into Stella, and it becomes a prison break for you when you leave! Stella the family I married into is so toxic, they appear to be happy but abhor peace,always looking for who to quarel with, criticize, it's really a long story, you only have to live with them for a day and you would be amazed at the kind of negativity emitting from them.. a long story!

1. My ex hubby’s family is an example, I had just 1 child and ran away, I didn’t want more children in that kind of terrible family and they hid themselves so well, tufiakwa

17. I think celebrating a divorce is childish irrespective of who was at fault.

18. Very childish something, trying so hard to appear happy.