Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Airport Officials Allegedly Collecting Money In Place Of COVID 19 Tests..

Thursday, August 13, 2020

Nigerian Airport Officials Allegedly Collecting Money In Place Of COVID 19 Tests..

What you are about to read may shock you into a faint,depends on your state of mind!

Officials at the Airport in Abuja have been accused of collecting monies in place  of carrying out Coronavirus test to those who are entering Nigeria from other Countries....

A Concerned Nigerian woman says....

''Stella our government has killed us!!!

in this coronavirus pandemic They are still putting money above the lives of the common man...
My brother in law just landed from Dubai on Wednesday night and they were routed to Abuja.
Before leaving Dubai,he had already been tested and he was negative,on getting to Naija,their passports were seized and they were told they would be on isolation for 2 weeks.

Can You believe that they gave them the option of paying to collect their passport and go without any form of tests or follow-up.
He paid 50k and he was allowed to go,some paid as high as 100 to 150k depending on if you know someone there.
As you are reading this,he has left Abuja and arrived Lagos....

Please take precautions and protect ourselves and loved ones since the government is doing absolutely nothing cos their greediness supersedes human life,COVID19 IS REAL''

75 comments:

1. Corruption has eaten us so deep and we see nothing wrong in it. We celebrate corruption as we celebrate birthday and parties. Poverty has made us to value money more than human life.

1. Nawa

Unfortunately almost every sector in this country is corrupt.

Shame on them!

That's how immigration people charge between 26k-36k for 5years passport; meanwhile federal government takes only 7000 from that money and absolutely NOBODY is complaining. We go in and pay it that way and go home. The silly people will still be asking you for lunch money.

Greed is terrible! Then placing it above human life? I cannot understand this one!

We are just lucky something somewhere in our weather is keeping us immune from this stuff. If not, people will be falling like mangoes on the road.

Mstchewww

2. Stella said "faint". I can't faint or bat an eyelid on any magnitude of corruption I see or hear of in this country. Yes, I am thoroughly desensitized to small and mighty corrupt realities in this country. Even on this report, absolutely nothing will be done about it instead the authorities will only up their games and so others authorities that were not aware will call for their share and institutionalize the act.

Stella is a German. She has no idea.

Faint kor, flip nii.

3. This has nothing to do with poverty and everything to do with greed! After all, countries like Rwanda have suffered immensely in this generation, yet we do not read of stories like this!

The "I better pass my neighbour" mentality is also a contributing factor. One always has to have one up on the next person...even if is by illegal means! Why do you think runs and fraud are the order of the day?

Nigerians are always in competition with one another! There is no "we" in Nigeria...just always "I". No one thinks of the collective - instead it's just about themselves and what they can gain.

4. Funny enough it's that same money they will take to church on Sunday as offerings.
      Like my Father in the Lord Dr Pst Paul Enenche will say,it's better you keep the proceeds of money gotten from ungodly means to yourself than bringing it to give in church. That's equal to you not just sinning but reporting yourself directly to God.

I just wish we can just all go back to the former normal

5. Stella Faint Ke for Nigeria case..Even Cartwheeling is not necessary however poster that shared this why did your brother pay the 50k..He is also part of the problem so he should not remove himself out of it..Stella please don't worry your pretty head..Human lives are not valued here..shebi person say its better to be a tree in the UK than being a human in Nigeria..Toor!

6. That passport office is something else o. They are all involved in the corruption. From the leadership to the cleaners. So bad and nobody is doing anything about it. You walk up to a suppose boss, expecting him give you the exact and right price, but you will be amazed he also will be singing the same song. Driver’s License Office is another bad case. It’s indeed sad. May God help us in this country. Amen

7. Corruption is now part of us, that most don't see anything wrong with it

8. How is it the government's fault. Is it not ordinary Nigerians that are collecting the money.
      Abeg we need help in this country fa

9. Is because this people put it in mind that, you come to work and you make not less than 100k as egunje to take home.
      Who said Passport is 28k, it’s 30 - 35k depending on your banging power lol

Or is it the Police character report that they collect 10-15k where by is about 1k -2k abi free self, the NIMC that is suppose to be free, do you know how much now??????? Up naija

10. Anon 9:27, that amount you mentioned is better na, my husband did his passport #45k some weeks ago at their Festac office. Corrupt has really eaten deep into our system, it will take God and personal decision before we can get it right.

2. Corana test turn money making. I just pray the right people look into this.

1. but why did those people pay the money?

We keep enabling corruption... both the officials and the people that paid are corrupt

2. Thank you for this. NCDC screens people and book them for a test after which they are to proceed to immigration and drop their passport which will be retrieved after 14 days with result of Covid test done in Nigeria. The immigration is meant to hold the passport as a means to let people remain in Abuja or Lagos where they entered the country through so they can self isolate. The person paid them because he wanted to be a law breaker. The test is free so he could have gone for his test and come back for his passport. The person would have signed an undertaken that they will remain in Abuja or Lagos depending on which airport the arrived through but the person chose to bribe immigration and that is on him not the goverment

3. It has always been money before life. I don't if I should even hope that the govt looks into it, cos what will they do about it?

4. Haaa!!This is serious.I know they will deny this but God dey.

5. Lord, I need a breakthrough that will my family and I from this "zoo". This country is so messed up.

6. Everything is government this government that. Please!!! It’s time for us as Nigerians to take some responsibility. Govt has put the guidelines, it’s someone’s father/mother/daughter/son that is collecting bribe. If your BIL was a responsible Nigerian, he would have left the passport there. Is the bribe going to Remita or the Ministers account?

1. Thank you Anon.

Change that we desire starts with you and I. Govt is failing and we as individuals are encouraging them. Why did your BIL pay and not stay for the two weeks quarantine period.

I'm not surprised though.

2. thanks for this comment anon 8:42

3. Thank you for the comment. The PTF on Covid gave the guideline and this person signed an undertaking to abide to the rule but decided to go and bribe immigration and they are now blaming the government

7. 🙆🙆🙆Kai, which kind country be this

8. Replies
    1. Am not, because madam we dey do ourselves.

Is it not fellow Nigerians that are there, committing this atrocity? 😐

9. What won't we see or hear in this country? Can't those returning insist in doing the right thing 🤷‍♀️🤷‍♀️

1. I'm telling you... they are all corrupt

10. Everything Government. How is this the government's fault? Government has given directives to follow, your fellow citizens including your brother flouted the rules and you are here screaming. The giver and taker of bribes are both culpable if you don't know. Even if the official made the offer, imagine the beauty of turning it down or reporting him?

And you're here shouting government???

Mtchew!!!

1. Thank you for this robust response. God bless you. We as the citizens of this country are even more of a problem than our leaders. We are selfish and selve serving. Always us before anyone. Like u said, if we refuse to give bribes, requesters will stop asking. Let us do things the right. Meanwhile, I am not sure how true this story is as there are different and excellent feedbacks elsewhere even on Twitter. Remember, we love sensationalism. Anything to seem like an informed political commentator or hang the govt. Not saying our govt is the best but what is our positive contribution to the advancement of this country?

2. You are right sha, but you be learner.

Do you know how bribery goes in this country? If he didn't pay, he will spend 14days in somewhere worse than boarding school. In this country, only yourself, family and friends matter. Every other person is like fowl.

Someone may want to rise up and get killed for 50 naira bribe.

Playing along and screaming on social media just may be his best bet for now. It's not right I know. But would you miss/Mr commenter have risen up to cater for his family that depends on him if he died speaking up for you? Of course NO

We are in a zoo and everyone is hustling for survival. Judge NOBODY! Bye

3. ano 9:38... nobody is judging anybody... just don't be an enabler of corruption and come out to start crying wolf...

You think fighting corruption is going to be an easy task? No... but we must be willing to pay the sacrifice for a better tomorrow

Btw, i'm not ano 8:46

4. ..and you said they would have taken them somewhere worse than a boarding school?... good, let them do that.. i believe they can make a video of the place, send to their family members and this woman can come out here to complain about it... tag every tagable on Instagram with the help of Stella and I'm sure there will be a positive change. Look what happened in police college lagos back then... please let's not enable corruption for no reason

5. Anon 08:46, you said nothing but the truth, she and her brother should better cover their faces with shame because they are enablers. Just because everyone is doing it does not make it right, after all, it takes two to tango.

6. 10:15, what are you waiting for then? Take your fight for corruption straight to isolation camp and video away. We will applaud you sincerely when you do.

Don't sit your ass at home, borrow hundred naira airtime and come here and ask a family's breadwinner to go risk his neck for you!

The country needs change, but you internet warriors should rise up and lead the pack.

Did you cast a vote in the last election? I guess not! Probably hiding not to get killed.

What you won't stand up boldly and do, I repeat; you and your cohorts shouldn't dare JUDGE anybody!

People die for nothing in this country. As they have reported, follow up with your own investigations and reports. We will clap for you!

7. The change starts with you and I, every single person, the mechanic, the pepper seller, the gate man, the banker etc.

The only thing that worries me about Nigeria is how we like to cut corners in every thing. I am yet to hear about any employee or airport staff requesting for bribe any where in the world but it has to be my beloved country Nigeria.

Those airport officials will harass you when you are travelling out, ransack your luggage and request for staggering sums, they will harass you when you are returning into the country, they will torment you with wetin you bring for us? Do weekend for us. Then get outside, another set of people will follow you to your car with all manner of begging.

Who did we offend in Nigeria? We are too corrupt, It is disgraceful.

8. They are meant to self isolate in their homes and only people who do not come in with tests are taking to a hotel where they will pay and stay till they do their test. He did not have to pay but he chose to and big shame on him

11. Just imagine this useless people..smh

12. This country sha. God will help us

13. Nigeria is so neck deep in corruption, you will cry when you become a victim.

The task force section of the police in Lagos are busy extorting commercial drivers in these crazy times.

Any danfo bus or cars seized will be taken to Alausa and the driver mandated to pay a minimum of N20K before it's released.

They don't even issue receipts, they give you a piece of paper as evidence to retrieve the seized bus.
    They make so much money from this and none is remitted to the government.

An old man was seriously crying there yesterday because they seized his bus two days ago and he was forced to pay 20K only for them to impound the same bus yesterday and he was pleading that he had only N11,500 but no one was willing to listen to him.

After a while if the owners of these cars and buses don't pay fast enough, they'll auction it and buy it for themselves.

Sanwo-Olu please investigate this, people are barely managing to get by and police task force are only interested in their pockets.

1. Dear twin squared, honestly when I see Danfo drivers arrested i usually I’m happy because those people drive like they have no regards for human lives. I wish there is a way they can be eradicated and other means of transport is introduced.
      After trailers, danfo drivers are the second threat on the road. Most of these danfo drivers don’t drive with license, they don’t have their papers. For Christ sake most of their buses are damaged. They know their buses isn’t serviceable but cause of greed they would still drive it like that, without care of passengers. So I’m sorry I don’t pity them. Don’t even get me started on when they scratch your car and drive away. It’s especially worse when they see you are a woman driving.
      Now about this officials collecting money and all that, Some weeks ago I was stopped by lastma and was charged, didn’t know one of my break light isn’t working anymore, I was being hassled by these men and of course they wanted a bribe. Unfortunately or fortunately that day I was in a bad mood before I was stopped so I was adamant I wasn’t going to give them a bribe of 3k. They proceeded to charge me for my offense. Guess how much the charge was? Just a mere 2500. I went on and kept looking for prices of other offenses and I was shocked to find out these charges are even less than what people give these men on the road for quick bribe. While they took my driver’s license as a collateral I went to pay the fine in a bank and in less than an hour I was done.
      They didn’t even bother to check if I had fixed my break light before coming back.
      My point is, at times most of us don’t even know our rights and we get rided on simple things.
      it’s quite unfortunate that some people lost their lives or possession in situations like this and that now is Based on how they give stupid people uniform to wear as an official.

14. This country is so messed up.

15. Poster this has nothing to do with the government. Your brother , other passengers and the officials at the airport are to blame.
    The government gave guidelines and your brother and his gang refused to follow it.
    I will only blame the government if they see this post and did not arrest your brother and his gang and quarantine all of them and also fine them.

I have said it and will keep saying it that corruption has eaten deep into 98% of Nigerians. So it is not only government thing.

16. I'm not surprised. The irresponsibility of not only the people in power but also the masses. What will it take to protect you and your loved ones that you have to pay your way through? Tomorrow all those paying to buy their way out will also call the government corrupt when they are also as corrupt as the government. I'm vexed!

17. So anyone entering thus country will be isolated? And tested ,I thought they've stopped that o

18. Not surprised.

I'm just tired of this country, make I no lie!

19. I don’t understand what this has to do with Nigeria government. This is an individual stuff.
    I will keep saying this, Nigeria’s problem isn’t our government but Nigerians themselves.
    Rate yourself on a scale of 10, how good of a citizen are you? Dignity is something they have to be teaching in schools these days cause lots of Nigerians lack it.

1. Thank you!!! This is why Nigerians go abroad and still create a mess! She is here screaming government, when her BIL is just as corrupt!! People need to stop pointing the fingers at the government and look inwardly! The average Nigerian mentality is greatly flawed!! If people are not re-programmed, the country will only get worse!!

20. Nigeria is a big joke, so nothing surprises me
    about this country.

21. Toolz has said it all. When they are ready, we'd start a new country. What!! Collecting bribe in placement of conducting COVID19 test?? Dear Lord, keep protecting me and mines, Amen. Ike ogonogo okwu adiro m.

1. What! Paying bribe because you don't want to be quarantined?

22. This is Na waooo... Nigeria Corruption
    l

23. And why are you crying foul? He would have demanded to be tested or go in for the two weeks isolation thing.
    You and I are government. That change you seek begins with YOU.

24. I'm not even shocked at this news, this is Nigeria afterall, where money has to be exchanged for everything.

25. corruption is ever eating deep into every sector.As it is,no sector can be used as a good example for other sectors.After they will open the mouth they use in eating ogiri and okpeghi to accuse the government of being corrupt.

1. Why didn't poster's brother in-law and other passengers make a video of the corrupt immigration officers right there , post it on social media and tag NCDC, Minister of Health, VP Prof Osinbajo, PMB?
      We have seen other countries use the social media platform to fight injustice. Most Nigerians are always in a hurry...hurrying to where?!

Yesterday, a staff of the power company tried to swindle a security man of N5,000 by giving him a receipt marked "Statutory" WITHOUT loading the pre-paid meter card❗
      Unfortunately, he wrongly assumed because the security, as'Aboki' was not educated to notice. The security man noticed and told him if the prepaid meter Energy Units does not increase he will be back.

Guess what? The 'Aboki' was right and the Card was not loaded by that staff.
      He went back same yesterday and that staff immediately loaded that prepaid meter card with 213.74 Units and gave him another receipt marked "Approved".

Some Nigerians are corrupt!

*Lecturers stealing TET FUND
      *Warders stealing prisoners' allocation and provisions
      *IDP coordinators stealing funds and food meant for displaced persons
      *Staff inflating invoices.....
      THE LIST IS ENDLESS! 😓😓😓

2. 12:20,

Enough said!!! Thank you very much.

Poster wrote that the Nigerian government has killed us.

How?

Your brother in law is as guilty as the bribe seeking official. And it bothers me that poster shared this story without mentioning the part played by the inlaw.

We break the laws, and pay our way through, then run to social media to talk about how corrupt others are. We clearly do not know that both the giver and receiver are liable.

We are a lawless set of people. Period!

26. Confirmed gist Stella. Very very true

27. There is no longer a requirement to go to isolation centre you go home and isolate and come back in 2 weeks with another covid negative test to collect your passport..Nigerians felt its too much hassle and offer bribe instead

28. Now that we are here as a failed nation, what do we do?
    Revolution is key. All government officials and politicians should be removed and a new movement established with strict laws and enforcement.
    Nigerians are naturally stubborn and need iron hand.

29. This is so true.
    A family friend came back last night from dubai. He paid 30k

30. @ BV Marvel, you are right, in my work place, the company owners (they are whites) will give bags of rice to workers at the end of the year, like 1 bag should go to two people, guess what the HR will take more than half of the bags of rice, so bad that 6 people will end up sharing 1 bag. This man will take the ones he stole to his church and be doing rice giveaways, my question is, will God accept this kind of charity? Stealing the reward of other people sweat and taking it to the church, but he is getting stronger by the day in his evil ways.

31. This is not government this is the average Nigerian not caring about the common good. Everything is not about the government. When you say the govt is not protecting us, they have tried to put in policies to protect us, but guess what - the people implementing are you and i the average Nigerian, but what do you do? you sacrifice the country on a altar of money. This is a lesson to everyone, if you are in the position to impact the common good of Nigeria, what will you do? will your first action be about money or safeguarding your beloved country. So its not about the government but the mentality of the average Nigerian

32. The ist anon that said her hubby paid 36k for passport, my dear i paid 45k o February to collect mine after all the stress I passed tru,the day I was to collect it,they were begging me to dash them money ontop the one I have paid already.

You can see how corrupt all the government officials are,people that receives better salary more than i. Corruption has eaten deeep down 😭