Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Govt Raises Hate Speech Fine From N500,000 To 5 Million Naira.....

Tuesday, August 04, 2020

Nigerian Govt Raises Hate Speech Fine From N500,000 To 5 Million Naira.....

The Federal Government on Tuesday raised the fine for hate speech from N500,000 to 5 million naira.

The government also mandated broadcast stations to devote airtime for public education on emergencies such as the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Minister of Information, Lai Mohammed, made this known in Lagos on Tuesday while unveiling the Reviewed Broadcasting Code....

from Punch

33 comments:

1. Since it was 500k, how many people have they caught?
    Since the 14 years for gays, how many have they caught?
    Just churning out laws that bite only
    common people when caught.

1. Na here their eye go strong. Serious cases dey nor go talk pim!

2. This is a really tyrannical govt!

3. It's for conventional media o.

Read with your eyes open please.

NBC - National Broadcasting Commission!. The rule is for media houses!

Be enlightened!

4. How abt the fine for corruption from politicians.
      Shameless ppl.

5. What's d yardstick for determining what hate speech is and what it is not, considering our differences.

2. 5m from where. They think say na everybody dey pick money from ground like them abi?

1. Dem all crazy

2. Are you a media house?

Are you bound by the Nigerian Broadcasting Code?!

Hian!

3. Ehen, it is for media houses you keep shouting. Youu on't mind them trying to curb the objectivity of the media and gagging them?

3. Rubbish!!! Failed government

1. Educate yourself ooooo.

The National Broadcasting Commission which uses the Nigerian Broadcasting Code in regulating media houses has been established in 1992! Way before this government....

4. We can't stop criticizing this wicked, evil, callous government. Na ogun go kill of una finish.

5. Instead of them to debat on bill to provide more jobs. Security of life and properties. Good education and health care. The system need a total reform. They seat there debating on hate speech. There should be freedom of speech.

1. Don't mind the stupid leaders

2. Broadcast stations do not have free speech. Sorry.. You can't allow every bigot in Nigeria to mount the airwaves.

6. Useless govt! You will not see them put the same energy to enact a law on Capital punishment for stealing as it is done in China. Na only the common man their stupid law dey affect. Na ogun go kill all of una wey no make the masses enjoy the things wey God don bless us with.

7. They don't want to be criticize. Look at this people. Hate speech my foot.

8. Can you imagine... Misplaced priorities!

9. Please where is Oshiomole's wife Lara? Bloggers over to una.

10. Hate speech is not acceptable all over the world but we know that this one isn't about hate speech. The motive is to intimidate and silence people from speaking any form of truth or criticising the government.

11. Everyone of the APC party is guilty of hate speech

12. This one’s only know how to act when it’s to safeguard them. No interest in the opinion or lives of the common man. May God destroy all the selfish Tyrants in this country and raise a new generation of Leaders that will make this country flow with milk and honey in Jesus name Amen

13. This government has lost focus, misplaced priority. They are just looking for ways to make money .