Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Govt Unsure Of When To Reopen Universities Due To COVID 19

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

Nigerian Govt Unsure Of When To Reopen Universities Due To COVID 19

Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba has asked students across the nation to exercise more patience as Nigeria mulls the reopening of schools after months of forced closure due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The minister stated this during Monday’s briefing of the Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19, ChannelsTV reports.

Nwajiuba who praised the students for their patience since schools were shut down in the country, gave an assurance that the Federal Ministry of Education is working with stakeholders for the safe reopening of the education centres.

“I urge our students who have actually exercised a lot of patience along with their parents … I urge you to bear with us a little bit more. The rioting needs to stop; there is nothing to riot about".

9 comments:

1. Some universities are doing online classes.

1. Backward educational system.. the world has moved from classroom to digital block heads

2. How many parents can afford buying megabytes? These stupid politicians can allow elections and the rest but they won't allow students resume? It is well abeg

2. This whole strike boils down to the fact that the federal government has refused to pay the backlog of salaries they're owing the lecturers..

Pay these lecturers jor.

3. Naija is not ready for even the smallest of crisis. So, if this virus rages on, is that how schools will be closed for ever? When their mates in developed countries have resumed lectures via online study! Naija can't go online because basic infrastructure isn't in place. Where the Wi-Fi? Where are the computers? Meanwhile, these basic infrastructure should be available to our students even to the elementary level because we have the resources! But no! Na only belle infrastructure we Sabi! There was a country!!!!

4. I hope they resolve this soon.

5. I don't blame them glutton government officials in Nigeria, they steal and loot to send their children abroad to study, to a country they have worked hard to build a legacy.
    Shane in Nigeria government and shame on failed Nigeria education system.