Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Adventure Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver - 41

Saturday, September 12, 2020

Adventure Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver - 41

Oko Ashawo has a rant today.....LOL

My rant today is about the rude riders we often encounter who see Uber drivers as good for nothing people that they leash their frustrations on....

Last Sunday, I got a request from a man early in the morning from a location with very bad roads. I kept trying to call him as I drove to the pick up point. The call went through 5 minutes later and i greeted him like I usually do when I call my clients, he didn’t acknowledge my greeting. Instead, he shouted at me, telling me that I should have called him immediately I received his order.

I remained calm and told him on the phone that I tried reaching him immediately I received his request but it must have been a network issue. He told me to stop lying and hurry up to meet him since he was already running late for Church Service. 

I was very angry at this point and I thought about how I would deal with this rider but I still kept my cool, after all, na me dey hustle find money.

After navigating through the bad road, I got to his place in about 10 minutes. By this time, he was already waiting outside with his wife, 3 children and another young lady who I presumed to be a housemaid from the way she was dressed.

As he got closer to the car, he raised his voice at me reiterating that I am a liar, that it took me a whole 6 minutes to call him, saying all we Uber drivers are the same and it is my duty to call him after receiving the order. He then beckoned on his family to join him in the car.

Immediately, I used the central lock on all the doors of the car and told him calmly that he could have also called me because he has access to my number just as I have access to his. The next thing he said was what put me off finally. He said “my friend, shut up and open the door ... we are late”. I knew it was going to be a bad trip already because the car would be overloaded and driving out of that terrible area

More so, he had a bad attitude and may use more abusive words along the way, which will most likely end with a bad rating and comments at the end of the trip. Imagine all these on top how much? A trip of 700 Naira o ...

I took a good look at him, looked at my phone, cancelled the ride and told him to order for another one because his mouth is caustic. I went offline immediately and drove to another location to wait for my next order.

I had a good laugh imagining the look on his face and what he would tell his family.....Imagine someone going to Church with this attitude!

Uber drivers don suffer...I am thinking i will go back my days of picking only run babes and waiting for them in the car while they 'worked'..nah that one pay me pass,abi how una see am?

Meanwhile this month started with an increase in the price of fuel, which has drastically reduced profits since the major e-hailing companies like Uber and Bolt are yet to make an adjustment in the fares. Everything is on the increase and purchasing power is on the low, bringing frustration to the drivers and riders. 

As drivers, we have a lot to contend with including bad roads, high cost of vehicle maintenance, fake alerts from riders, rude riders and a host of other unpalatable experiences. In all of these, I still have reasons to be grateful because some others are having it really tough. 

*What do you mean a trip costs 700 naira?why so cheap?

32 comments:

1. If it happened as you told it, I’m in support of what you did to him. That’s very rude. Such a person will be quick to chastise another It fails to see his own sin.

1. Yeah!! I like the way he handled it. No need to stress yourself unnecessarily...

If I book bolt or Uber for any reason, I don't even wait for them to call me. I call to know where you are...

2. I have to go anonymous on this one

Stella, trips are charged according to distance and time. The man wasn't going far but the road to his destination is very bad. There are some short trips that are even 500 naira sef๐Ÿคจ

Oko A.

1. I normally take an uber whenever I'm going to the market and a ride from the market to my house is just 400 cause it's not far....
      You are charged based on the distance.

2. What's the essence of announcing you had to go anon ?
      Is it so we could guess who this is or it gives some kind of satisfaction?

3. Haters qualifiers PLC. People say it all the time. What's this anon's crime again.

4. The Anon is Oko ashawo himself, he doesn't want us to know his blog id, I think because of trolls

3. Ndo! I pray that God be kind to you

4. I jus feel for his wife and maid, na dem dey suffer pass fr d man hand. U did d right tin oko ashawo. Som ppl are rude and difficult sha

1. I was thinking same , I am imagining the kind of abuse the wife especially would be going through.
      If he could speak to a total stranger with so much disrespect .
      It's only in Nigeria that people look down on these drivers. Whereas in the real sense they're making a lot of money .
      A trip from my house to the airport is almost a €100 so imagine making this trip 5 times a day aside shorter trips.
      There is dignity in labour but some people have so much complex that they'd rather hail people with ill gotten wealth than people that actually work hard for their money .

2. Uber drivers make a pittance in Nigeria.

3. Cup cake aw u take know? As lb was reading the story all l was just thinking is how is this man's wife and children coping? Horrible person

5. My experience with taxify drivers hasn't been great either I'm pushed to give a bad rating and comment most times but i just let it slide..

Can you imagine one had the nerve to purposely enlongate a trip when he found out it wasn't such a short trip even after i had directed him he noticed i was on a call and took a longer route and i was late.. and after the trip he had the nerve to ask for a five star which i Still gave sha but i told him to desist from such tricks as not many people will take it easy with him....

Another experience was after my sartuday shopping last week i called one the first red flag of which i should have ended the trip then was was while we were liasing trying to locate each other due to the busy nature of the location he made a comment "na wa which kin suffer be this" when i finally located him instead of him to help me with my load seeing i was struggling with a baby and load he was shouting madam abeg hurry up๐Ÿ˜ณ i entered and greeted him he ignored hmmmmm i still left him a 5 star sha I'm not the cause of his woes in life..

1. Why still rate them 5 star? I usually give 1 star and leave a comment if I encounter a rude driver. I always give it to them hot hot, trust me na.
      Ordinary driver wants to now insult me. You must be fucking mad

2. Ur mouth like ordinary driver, u lack common sense. There is dignity in labour,mind the phrase u use. U sound arrogant, some of this drivers are graduate.u just pissed me off

3. Don't mind her. These drivers own the vehicles. And most of these cars are clean. While some of these passengers doesn't even have battery. ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

4. So I should be disrespected just because... You are sick!
      Fyi, I'm generous to them when treated with respect. Gtfoh you fools

5. Why are u so bitter, take some honey gal.

6. It's better not to leave any rating than to give a driver with bad attitude 5 stars. Just lose the app and not rate the driver than lie they delivered great service when they didn't.

7. Shooter u comments shows the kind of mentality you have. Seems you are the type who regard people based on what u think they are worth. Odinary driver? Some of them have jobs and do this by the way. Some have more than one car on the road. They are family men with wives you will greet good day ma If you encounter them. Easy.

6. That's disgusting. People think Uber drivers are their personal drivers they can treat anyhow. I don't know why the Nigerian mentality is always to berate and belittle people they think are below them. If a rider is rude and nasty, you shouldn't hesitate to tell them to get the hell out of your car and cancel their trip. I have seen a lot of YT videos where oyinbo Uber divers do not accept any form of shit from riders and do not hesitate to kick them out for things as little as touching their aux cords/ AC switch without permission or being general ass holes.
    It doesn't cost anything to be a respectful and decent human being.

1. 3Amigos Bread @ 6 Okesalu St, Ikotun. 0813851632812 September 2020 at 18:26

You’re right about “the Nigerian mentality of berating and belittling people they think are below them”...some become automatically rude and nasty to people they feel are beneath them. And, they look stupid doing it. Such a disgusting attitude. It costs nothing to be courteous and respectful to people.

2. Even the oyibo drivers that are your pacesetters also have to abide by rules or get sanctioned.

7. 700 naira trip and he carry his batallion family and being Rude on top.. Oko Ashawo you do well jaweee..

8. This is a very honest report from oko ashawo,the sense of entitlement of some people that can't even afford what they feel they are entitled to is mind blowing.Life is a teacher,we live and learn.

9. Treat people the way you want to be treated. Why look down on drivers either personal or uber. I treat people with respect even danfo drivers and conductor. But don't pass ur boundary for my side ooo. I will give u hot hot Loni gbigbona felifeli.

10. Treat people the way you want to be treated. Why look down on drivers either personal or uber. I treat people with respect even danfo drivers and conductor. But don't pass ur boundary for my side ooo. I will give u hot hot Loni gbigbona felifeli.

11. That man is not a Christian. He may be going to church quite alright.
    And the maid that is "because of the way she dressed" tells me that
    this family do not know the Word of God. ๐Ÿ˜–๐Ÿ˜–๐Ÿ˜–๐Ÿ˜–

1. 3Amigos Bread @ 6 Okesalu St, Ikotun. 0813851632812 September 2020 at 18:28

The description of the how the “maid” was dressed got to me, yet they’re on their way to church. Like, what does it cost to be kind to another.

12. Interesting read.... I can imagine the frustrations drivers go through. I will not lie, some drivers are very rude though it cuts both ways. Some riders are mad with a very bad attitude, meanwhile Dem no get motor o๐Ÿ˜