Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: ASUU Says Reopening Universities Now Would Be Suicidal

Tuesday, September 01, 2020

ASUU Says Reopening Universities Now Would Be Suicidal

The Academic Staff Union of Universities) AASU) has warned the Federal Government that attempts to reopen tertiary institutions without taking concrete steps to curb the spread of COVID-19 would be suicidal.

ASUU on Monday, raised the alarm that the federal government should be ready for any possible negative consequences following its plan to reopen tertiary institutions, Punch reports.

The Lagos Zone of ASUU said this while addressing journalists at a press conference held at the Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye, Ogun State.

The zonal coordinator of ASUU, Prof. Olusiji Sowande, lamented that the government made arrangements for special bailout funds for airline operators and other private entities but did not extend the same arrangement to public universities.

He cautioned that it is not enough to have the students back on the campuses but that the atmosphere and conditions must also be right.

"Accommodations are inadequate, no facility on the ground to carry out physical distancing in large and crowded classes. Water and electricity supply were not reliable in the universities".

"Years of neglect of both the education and health sectors in the country has resulted in inadequate infrastructure and lack of well equipped diagnostic, testing, treatment, and research laboratories in both sectors". He said.

Sowande added “The response of the public universities to the call by the National University Commission for their readiness to reopen indicated that public universities are not ready.

“Presently, hostel accommodations are inadequate, no facility on the ground to carry out physical distancing in large and crowded classes, water and electricity supply are not reliable, etc.

“Reopening tertiary institutions without taking concrete steps to address these issues would be suicidal. While the government made arrangements for special bailout funds for airline operators and other private entities, no such arrangement was made for public universities.

” Therefore, the government should be ready to take responsibility for any possible negative consequences after the reopening of universities.”

18 comments:

1. All will be well. Soon Corona will be history.

2. Na wa. They should reopen when they sure.

3. But it's safe for asuu staff to continue receiving salary

4. Corona virus has exposed the yansh of our government. Even before coro all governmental sector was never well equipped. Now is the time to see all the loopholes.

May God help us.

5. My spirit is willing for resumption but my body and sleep says no. Laziness no good.

6. Even if they open. Im not sending my only child into the wild because i want him to be educated in danger. Never. I am not tired of my child

1. Exactly. Their own children are safe wherever they are now they want to use mine as sacrificial lamb. Kò joó

7. Markets are opened. Why should schools not open. While at home, tell your children what is going on. let them know what corona is doing around the world and how to be careful and take care of themselves, buy them nose masks and hand sanitizers and let them know how to take care of themselves when in the midst of people. If you go to our markets today and see what is going on, you will know that not re-opening schools because of corona is just a waste of time.

8. Next year January is okay for school resumption

9. Sebi salaries will keep rolling in.

10. Asuu, have the settled you guys??
    Please safety first

11. ASUU and their wayo life,taking salary without working.Unless new lecture buildings are provided and that will be in 2023.

12. ASUU and their wayo life,taking salary without working.Unless new lecture buildings are provided and that will be in 2023.

13. They better reopen schools cos this Corona is not leaving soon.