Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mrs Dee's Corner - .Days Of Little Beginnings

Friday, September 04, 2020

Mrs Dee's Corner - .Days Of Little Beginnings

Most students who come from indigent and average homes have been faced with the task of having a source of income to supplement the meagre allowance from home.

While some parents are willing to cater for the major expenses like school and hostel fees for their child(ren), they leave the less important ones for them to sort out.

This in a way creates room for the development of entrepreneurial skills, honing their talents and gradually becoming financially Independent.

I used to engaged in kerosene business with any money left after I paid my school dues and it earned me little change to keep me going before the semester ended.

Transfer of airtime was very rampant then and whenever I was broke, I would call and beg uncles and aunts for recharge cards which I sold by knocking from door to door in the hostel and at reduced rates for quick cash.

Other students were not left out as some baked cakes and fried chinchin for birthday parties. Those who were good at hair making also put their skills to good use and the eloquent and funny students made money by being MC's at students' parties and occasions.

Some students bought beautiful okrika clothes from their base and sold to roommates, hostel mates and classmates, while others sold recharge cards, hair extensions and jewelry.

There was nothing apart from perishables that we couldn't buy from each other in the hostel. Ours was the real communal living.

Majority of students have taken these skills and talents a notch higher and have become established entrepreneurs with thriving businesses after graduation without waiting for white collar jobs and even those who have well paid jobs still do businesses on the side.

The little seed which was planted for the sole aim of keeping busy and earning peanuts has become a large tree shielding its owner from the scorching sun of lack and job deficiency.

*I used to make hair in school by the side to survive...

21 comments:

1. Beautiful innovative writing Mrs. Dee.
    Those were the blessed days when
    hard work was valued.
    But it looks like those days are gone. Today, a lot of girl will rather
    find "aristos," sugar daddies, become
    "toys" at political gatherings and
    night clubs for orgies and so on. Even some dudes, though fewer are
    into selling cucumber.

I was shocked to my bones in the quiet city where I once lived.
    A colleague's friend came in from US
    and found a night nude club right under our noses! 😮😮😮
    The colleague that drove him to the place saw lots of campus girls,
    some he knew and thought were responsible. It's a pity.
    Jesus said in Matt. 24:12 that in the last days,
    iniquity shall increase and the love of
    many will wax cold. Are you ready for him? 🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️

2. Wow, interesting read. Memories of my school days .Thank God for those days of small beginning.

3. Congratulations to the newly married couple.

4. I've always been a makeup person so I sold makeup products, hair extensions & sandals. Majority of my friends, hostel mates & course mates sold clothes, some organised tutorials, did assignments & school runs for a fee. All na hustle, make God bless us.

1. I sold eggs during school life to have other source of income.. I lived in school hostel all through, was a bit popular due to my play play nature.. Hehehe, called my eggs "eggs wey get nutrient".. Lol

Chai, old memories 😁😁

5. Seriously I want to raise my kids to learn hand work because that is what sustains one for this Naija area

6. I used to work part time as a bar staff and Barista

7. Mehnnnnn I miss my uni days ,Bayero University can't remember the hostel names ,I had roommates and hostel mates that made cool money doing business in school then,I tried I really tired to do a business but it didn't work,I'm not a business- oriented person maybe it's cause my mum didn't allow any of us to learn a skill because in her mind white collar jobs are ' better'a mistake I will surely correct with my children.

8. Hnnnnn interesting. I have an handwork but I'm just very used to been cater for and hate stressing myself. Besides, I'm a beautiful girl and I use my beauty well. I don't sleep around per se but no week passes by without atleast 10k alert to my account by toasters. It's a skill also I guess

1. No be lie😂😂😂
      That's a real skill if you don't get to sleep with them.
      I can relate

2. lol oh sweetie we’ve been there, it’s not a skill.

3. I just can't help but laugh at dis comment.Hmmmm fine girl dey disturb u.My dear e go tire u wen u go dey age as days dey go

A lot of babes are on dis table but it is better u find something doing cos na wetin u go hold on too wen d pay go stop to come cos definitely e go stop.Wat if u get married will u be on ur husband's house collecting dis wages u didn't work for frm dese men.wat explaination will u give to him then

4. Anon 16:32, read my statement well. I have an handwork and I practice once in a while, but I just hate stress, I fall sick after every job. So I try as much as possible to keep it low.
      I won't marry a poor man by the special grace of God

9. I had a business center where we typed and photocopied documents back in the University. Fortunately, I
    had the support of my parents

10. Hmmm... Old memories! I sold jewelries as side hustle when I was in school. Oh, I also taught too.

11. I used to make Chapman and punch them in school. It was way cheaper than buying drinks for birthday as you will have it in large quantity.
    I also used to do ushering jobs like no tomorrow.

12. Remember dose days before I got admission into d higher institution ,I used to sell for my mum (table mkt) but was just using it as an avenue to kill time in search of admission.The proceed was little shaa but better than nothing.

Back in school my aim was just to make good grades so I focused more on my education,even attending tutorials in d evenings.i had best results then,but most times I help my friends who are in d same dept wit me for friendship sake.Students including dose working begs me to sit for carry-overs and for normal exams especially for good money but afraid no gree me for fear of being caught.I too dey fear and i dnt knw why and that would ve been good business.I would ve made good money cos I can guarantee them good grades.D only thing I remembered doing was collecting money for sorting frm students for pass mark for one of my lecturers who loved me then even for marriage especially wen he knew I was good academically.He was like how can a beautiful girl like u still read,get good grades when ur mates flock around my office for sex just to pass dem.

13. Wow,school days ,I sold plain trousers as my side hutzle.They know me in Uniben with this.

14. I guess I was lucky. I never did any biz. My parents catered to all my needs. Anyway whichever way e no matter. Shebi now I am running a thriving business. I thank God for all our advances in life.