Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Security Operatives Arrest #RevolutionNow Protesters In Lagos

Thursday, October 01, 2020

Security Operatives Arrest #RevolutionNow Protesters In Lagos

Hundreds of #RevolutionNow protesters stormed the streets of Lagos State on Thursday October 1st, to express their displeasure at the way Nigeria is being ruled...

They were seen chanting songs of solidarity and marched from the streets of Ojota to Maryland in Lagos.

The Punch reports that about 30 protesters were arrested arrested by security operatives.

24 comments:

1. Does this mean that peaceful protest is now a thing of the past? ๐Ÿ˜จ๐Ÿ˜ง

2. Which way naija??? #spotremover#

3. Why....

Isn't it a peaceful protest

4. LOL..
    Nigeria's don't know Wassup.. even the NLC are sellouts.. there was no light tariff reduction whatsoever, the only reason the strike was postponed is cos it would put the federal government in a bad light if Nigeria is on strike when they're supposed to be celebrating independence..

This country no be am at all, so long as some certain old men are still living .. Stop wasting your hope, channel it into something better

1. Only reason it was postponed was because salary was yet to be paid

5. Why arrest peaceful protesters instead of escorting them?
    Is this how Buhari has reduced Nigeria to a police state?

1. They are revolting not protesting. There is a huge difference. RevolutionNow is their battle cry.

6. All these nuisance that don't know anything are allowing a failed politician like Sowore to use them. Exactly what are they protesting about, you just wake up and call for protest. I bet Sowore will not go to any police station to bail them

I am not again citizens protesting, fighting for change. At least have a reason for protesting. The failed politician calls it a revolution. No government will watch you revolt and bring down the government. He contested the presidential election and polled 33,000 votes. Instead of waiting for the next election he has been ranting like a lunatic. I have told him severally on Twitter to go contest for the chairmanship of his local government in Ondo,if he performs well Nigerians may start taking him serious.

1. Abeg abeg abeg. How much exactly are they paying you to keep you brainwashed. How much exactly, let's see if we can find someone to pay u off and buy back ur sanity.

Geez!!!!!

Abi Eesah, did u change ID?

2. @Eka.. not trying to hold his brief but if you read what Alex wrote with an open mind maybe you'll understand better and won't be asking who is bankrolling him..

Sowere isn't a serious fellow.. when did this whole revolution now start? Immediately after ministerial appointments list was released and he wasn't assigned any portfolio bah.. he saw he has been used and dumped.

Make him go sit him ass down.. useless sellout.. if a messiah is going to lead Nigeria out of wilderness.. definitely not sowere..

3. I disagree with you TOTALLY Alexander.
      There's Freedom of Association, and people are free to associate with him Sowore, even IF he's a 'failed politician' according to you.

And secondly, theirs is a peaceful protest/walk, I am yet to hear that they were disruptive in anyway!

THIS is not how is it done in sane climes.
      The police and other law enforcement agencies should be monitoring them to make sure that it is peaceful not arresting people that are walking and protesting peacefully.
      It is not RIGHT!

4. Eka l have never insulted you on this blog and l will not insult you. It will amount to dancing in your filthy mud. I have the right to my views, l don't need your express permission to drop a comment here. You have never been a rational person and l don't expect changes. Only fools make assumptions like you.

Nobody pays me a kobo and nobody can afford to pay for my comments. Unlike you my sanity is intact. The pitiable thing about you is you don't have the capacity to read and understand and l wonder how your husband manages to relate with you. I guess people pay you peanuts to drop comments here and so you assume people are paying others. I have been following this blog for almost 9 years, l have never replied to mostly childish comments. Back off if you know what is good for you. You are too small to even attempt caging me.

5. Exceptional, outside students and labour protest, you inform the police about the protest and they will send policemen to protect the protesters and stop miscreants from hijacking the protest. Freedom is not absolute anywhere in the world. There is freedom of speech but there are things you will say that may land you in jail. Though there a court of appeal judgement that says Nigerians do not need police permission to protest but the police insist you must inform them . Even before having a political rally, you have to inform the police. Most times they allow the protest/rally except when there is a security report that is not favourable. We know the nature of our policemen, those youths who were arrested may part with money before they are released.Is Sowore going to pay the money on their behalf.

6. Just like I said yesterday, Sowore has the right to protest but one thing should be clear here. Sowore and activism shouldn't be in one sentence else they rubbish the meaning of activism. Does a politician becomes an activist over night? The same way Festus Keyamo was acting until he got his own national cake by being appointed as a minister.

I will never take Sowore too serious until he proves his worth over time. Nigerian at the moment lacks that figure of an activist. Most of them will sell out on the right amount being offered. Having said that, I am totally against the arrest but again, Nigeria isn't a sane cline.

7. Buhari & APC are funny set of people. They can’t take what they dished out to GEJ & PDP.

1. Ain't it so. The same social media they used to lambasted them and rustle up support they want to shut down. Now peaceful protectors they are arresting. Shameful mountain goats they are.

8. Policemen at every junction in Ikeja waiting for peaceful protesters to arrest. I weep for my country ๐Ÿ˜ญ

9. Phweee!!! I cant wait for this tranny government and whatever the represent be over.

1. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ @tranny government. Oh lordy๐Ÿ˜‚

10. Na wa oh
    I thought I heard protest of every kind was banned.