Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Couch Convo - Traditions Broken In Nigeria...

Thursday, November 19, 2020

Couch Convo - Traditions Broken In Nigeria...

Nigeria is a Country with plenty groups and lots of traditions but in these present time,it is notable that some no longer respect tradition .....

For some,not respecting tradition anymore s good news.....

For example,In those days ,you dare not get married if your older ones are still single,now its different for some...

-You dare not stand and exchange greetings with some older family members but now ''hi'' or '' hello'' is OK....

- Married women now give their husbands Children that are not theirs to train as theirs,before they would have been scared of dying,now no fear at all...

Which other traditions do you know that have been broken or is no longer respected...

18 comments:

1. I remember when my sister wanted to fix her registry and her date was before mine, my mum was like, no oh, that shouldn’t happen.

Just asked her ‘why, for what reason’ and she was like, it is not done. I just told her to spare me all those archaic mindset abeg. She ended up getting married before me both trad and registry.

The tradition I can’t wait for them to stop is that totally unnecessary Oro festival in some parts of Yoruba land. It’s so annoying.

2. You dare not correct an elderly person, even if he/she is wrong. πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

3. EKPO NKAWO HAS BEEN BROKEN- ADULTERY THAT LEADS TO A DEATH OF A PARTNER IN SOME PART OF AKWAIBOM

4. I can't wait for them to abolish all this evil traditions against widows, orphans, girl child/ren and adopted kids.

1. @Troy II, big ups to you. I am with you on this one.

5. Women now inherit properties something that was very much unheard of in the past.

6. Lol..
    A lot of things still used to "chase clout" in this country has outlived it's usefulness..

1. Bride price- the bride used to be virgin maidens.. now, what do we have.. borehole everywhere 😞 mtcheew.. what are we now paying that long money and list for? For her to come give birth to kids that belongs to us both or for her to answer my name which of course most of them don't officially change again.. abeg.. it needs to be scraped.. except the said lady is a virgin or has really achieved some certain standards to warrant it.. I know of an akwa ibom girl who is a secondary school certificate holder with nothing tangible attached to her as regards career, but you should see the list her parents were giving to a suitor Ontop babe weh don fuck nonsense everywhere oh.. fraudsters πŸ˜‘

Another one, not related to culture but is becoming a tradition used to chase clout-

2. Girl child and women empowerment. This has outlived it's importance. Now everyone are being faced with the same challenges. Girls now go to school, women now hold high offices, women are doing great.. so what's with the girl child and women whatever abeg.. if men face men now and start doing boy child and men empowerment, wahala go dey. This is only now making ladies lazy and entitled feeling everyone owe them shii.. that's why you'll see them throwing tantrums when Stella doesn't pick them for data give away or when they feel the money sent to them is too small.. ode.. go and work for your money. You can't be asking for gender equality on one hand and refusing to change the status quo on things you feel favour you.

We also didn't come here to suffer.

Bye

1. You must really hate women sha. Sha no use frustration kill ur wife when u marry.

2. Your hate for women... abeg are you a virgin or did you marry as one.

7. Where have the traditions gotten us? They’re all just scare tactics to keep us all oppressed - youths, girls, married women, widows, orphans, osu - they are victims of patriachal inhumane and unnecessary traditions that help no one

8. Ima mmuo(ritual where by a young adult boy will be flog mercilessly before he stand before a masquerade or even become one without fear). Many years ago,my immediate elder bro wants to become a man and not be running away from masquerade like women, so he went and made necessary enquiries about what he needed to provide for the initiation or ritual. They have list of items which includes hot drink,garden egg,kolanut, alligator pepper and N200,The group of home based village boys would provide bunch of whips to deal with you to ascertain your pain threshold& masculinity, you are not expected to scream. So my bro sneaked out with our cousin ,after like 2hours he ran back screaming his lungs out,and group of boys including my cousin was laughing and running after him. Infact they really flogged the living day out him,we later found that he supposed to endure 50 lashes but ran out at 42nd,

1. This your narration got me in stiches 🀣🀣🀣🀣 your brother for endure am nau.

2. Hhahahahaha,your narrative wan tear my belle with laughter.

9. πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ see me laughing like mumu oooo

10. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.