Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court Grants CBN’s Request To Freeze Bank Accounts Of #EndSARS Protesters

Saturday, November 07, 2020

Court Grants CBN’s Request To Freeze Bank Accounts Of #EndSARS Protesters

The Central Bank of Nigeria has obtained a court order freezing the accounts of 19 individuals and a public affairs company linked to the #EndSARS protests till January 2021.

The request, granted by Justice Ahmed Mohammed of the Federal High Court in Abuja, was filed by the CBN on October 20.

Some of the affected individuals include 

Bolatito Racheal Oduala, 
Chima David Ibebunjoh, 
Mary Doose Kpengwa, 
Saadat Temitope Bibi, 
Bassey Victor Israel, 
Wisdom Busaosowo Obi, 
Nicholas Ikhalea Osazele,
 Ebere Idibie, 
Akintomide Lanre Yusuf, 
Uhuo Ezenwanyi Promise
 Mosopefoluwa Odeseye, 
Adegoke Pamilerin Yusif.
 Umoh Grace Ekanem, 
Babatunde Victor Segun, 
Mulu Louis Teghenan, 
Mary Oshifowora, 
Winifred Akpevweoghene Jacob, 
Victor Solomon, Idunu A. Williams,
Gatefield Nigeria Limited. 

The banks where the accounts are domiciled include Access Bank, Guaranty Trust Bank, Fidelity Bank, First Bank, United Bank for Africa, and Zenith Bank.

The lawyers representing the CBN were led by a former Attorney-General of the Federation, Michael Aondoakaa (SAN).

“A mandatory order is made empowering the plaintiff/applicant to direct the head office of Access Bank of Nigeria Plc, Fidelity Bank Plc, First Bank of Nigeria Plc, Guaranty Trust Bank Plc, United Bank for Africa Plc and Zenith Bank Plc to freeze all transactions forthwith on the 20 bank accounts listed for 90 days pending the outcome of investigation and inquiry currently being conducted by the Central Bank of Nigeria.

“It is, however, directed that the 90-day freezing order, when it lapses, may be renewed upon good cause shown by the applicant.

“It is also directed that any person, whether artificial or natural, that is affected by this order may apply to the court to have his grievance or complaint heard by the court. The suit is adjourned till February 4, 2021,” 

from sahara reporters

36 comments:

1. What a terrible set of leaders!

1. Yes, when you demand for good governance, your accounts get frozen and your passports seized but if you buy a new butt and twerk on national TV, you get rewarded with the position of a Senior Special Assistant! Soro Soke!!

2. We need more than a saviour to redeem this country what kind of wickedness is this?

3. Ceaser posted it this morning and one goat thought making fun of him is the way to go. Please I don't understand this, is this a personal beef? Were they the only ones that protested? What right did they have freezing their accounts? Why aren't we speaking up?

1. I really don't know what went wrong with that boy tbvh. He started commenting on this blog with meekness and calmness, He was always on his lane( I actually thought him a female initially because of how soft his comments always come off) So he was pretending all the while?? Goes to show that a person must not be judged by a personality they display out here and that no matter how good you are as a pretender, The real you must alway find a way to shine through. Dear Nigerian youths, we have all seen it nau, It's official. We are clearly slaves in Nigeria, One word from you and you will be done for. It's a pity.

4. 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭 God please come already

5. And the looting politicians? I never read that their account was freezed.

6. The way they freeze this individuals account that protested peacefully can't the same federal government channel that same energy to those our politicians who loot our money away,and also freeze bank accounts of Boko Haram sponsors.This is totally wrong and unacceptable

1. "protested peacefully" which involved lying and inciting people to kill and burn down Lagos right? Issokay 😎

2. The same way they should enact laws to checkmate bad leadership and not only trying to clamp down on social media. There was indeed a country 😏

3. Eesah please avoid me today, what have you said concerning the chibok girls who are still in captivity with Boko Haram, what has been done with the unemployment growth,what have been done with the bandits and kidnappers, what have been done with the continuous killings in southern kaduna. Please make a valid reason where this administration has helped anyone of us.
      What is the exchange rate???

7. This is sunset at dawn,our democracy has been killed and buried by Buhari and his alleluia boys

8. What in God's name kinda country is this? Asong o

9. Whaaaaaat? This country is a mess! Smh!

10. What a country!
    What has their protest got to do with freezing their accounts.
    How many accounts of these shameless and corrupt politicians have been freezed?

11. God help us in this country, only in Nigeria will you speak on your rights and have your bank account frozen. I hope they sue the sh?t out of government for emotional stress and financial damage once they are done with this suit. What a jobless government.

1. Who is controlling the judicial arm. Is the judicial arm of government absolute in this country especially under this present dispensation.

12. Awesome. The accounts of all the IPOB induced EndSARSists should be frozen.

DJ Switch, Debo Macaroni, Aisha Yesufu should be top of that list 💪

13. Hmmm...CBN knows it can't freeze the accounts of the real spearheaders of #ENDSARS protests. They know there would be a very public outcry. So those celebs should not keep mute about these ones they have decided to use as experiment.

1. You're right. If they try with some people, there will be an uproar....

2. They can't. Some of the members of Femco are their kids. Why, OVIA, UTOMI, ADERINOKUN, ABUDU . So, the scapegoats have it.

14. What kind of country is this for goodness sake!!!
    Are we still in the era of democracy like this?
    This means people can't even protest peacefully in peace again.
    May God wipe all these useless tyrants from the surface of the earth since they've chosen to make themselves gods. What a shame!!

15. Nigeria why ? God please rise in your anger and let judgement be excited upon the wicked

16. This government is in total shambles. Confused idiots, on one hand your investigating someone and within the same government that same person is on the panel investigating the event that made you investigate him/her. Buhari should just die so our country can start trekking back from the wilderness to main road before we continue the journey to civility and development cos this government has seriously derailed

17. Nsogbu dikwa,wahala dey oo🤔🤔

18. We are very very far from democracy in this country....

19. Why didn't they freeze the account of the celebrities that protested, they know that'll cause war. Godwin Emefiele is being used by this stupid government. Like what Oby Ezekwesiri tweeted, citizens don't have tenure but administration do. Hope it sinks into cbn governor's ear.

20. Hmmmm, I don't even know what to say sef

21. These people listed above are the real citizens of Nigeria. I don't know, but can CBN also freeze account of the sponsors of BH too. Eye service everywhere.

22. When leaders acts without wisdom!!why freezer their account?where they fighting for what was wrong?
    Most times I look at this country and I remember what the bible says about men:he calls them WICKED AND UNREASONABLE MEN!..Nigeria is not just filled with wicked men,they are also unreasonable. And this actions proves it

23. And their necks shall be stiffened and broken beyond repair

24. Michael Aondoakaa is an unfortunate human being in my moat honest opinion. A man with no values, a parasite who would serve the sinister motives of anyone with a buck. From the days of YarAdua when he was presenting and defending documents signed by a president reportedly in a coma, you understand how wicked and desperate these parasites in power are. The same man claiming that a president can rule from anywhere is the one now caging the finances of those Willing to stand up for a better country.

25. We have been looking for the sponsors of boko haram but up till today CBN has not been able to identify the sponsors. God is watching all of una