Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Billionaire Benedict Peters Invests $1bn In Zimbabwe Platinum Mine

Wednesday, November 11, 2020

Nigerian Billionaire Benedict Peters Invests $1bn In Zimbabwe Platinum Mine

Bravura Holdings Ltd., owned by Nigerian billionaire Benedict Peters, has $1 billion available for the development of a platinum mine in Zimbabwe, its country manager said.

The 3,000 hectare (7,413-acre) concession where it plans to dig the mine is in Selous, 80 kilometers (50 miles) south of Zimbabwe’s capital Harare and close to existing platinum mines.

“From where we are now, we will go to resource definition, after that we will go to resource modeling, after mine development and then mine construction,” Lionel Mhlanga, Bravura’s manager in the southern African country, said in an interview at the mine on Nov. 6. “Those are all things that should happen in the next 18 months.”

Bravura is one of a number of little-known companies that have secured platinum concessions in Zimbabwe as the government seeks to kick start its stagnant economy. Still, established platinum miners haven’t announced plans to expand their operations. While Zimbabwe has the world’s third-largest platinum group metal reserves, investors have been deterred by frequent changes to mining laws and currency policies.

In addition to Bravura, Russian and Cypriot companies have announced plans to invest in Zimbabwean platinum mines.

Peters owns Aiteo Eastern E & P Company Ltd., Nigeria’s biggest domestic oil producer, but has little experience in mining.

Still, the group also intends to explore mining lithium, rare earth minerals and tin in Zimbabwe, Mhlanga said.

It’s also seeking to mine cobalt in the Democratic Republic of Congo, copper in Zambia, gold in Ghana and iron ore in Guinea, he said. Namibia and Botswana could also be options for the company, he said.

from bnnbloomberg.ca

14 comments:

1. Why is anyone "rich" in Nigeria either in oil, poli-tricks, yahoo or all combined?

2. Weldone Sir, keep soaring

3. $1billion of oil money "made in Nigeria" and invested "out of Nigeria". No problem oooo!!! But how many Nigerians will be employed there. There are too many unemployed graduates in Naija. These so called billionaires should think patriotism bcos if things go pear shaped here, that their ATM will be burnt to ashes

1. He should employ Zimbabweans not Nigerians. Cheaper labour as moving nigérians from here to there will mean more expenses to incure on flight, accommodation, feeding and local transportation.

2. Abeg leave the man to invest wherever he wants to.. this nonsense country that only knows how to destroy ones investment.
      If I was the one also I won't waste my time here.. please when you make you money you can burn it up here..
      If you have a good chartered accountant friend, tell him to explain to you how buying shares here in most Nigerian companies is a waste of resources as compared to buying in foreign companies ..

Take care

3. Thanks Dante.. Nigerian leaders doesn't act like people that needs investors in their domain.
      No sane business man will take because he is a Nigerian overlook the hostile environment this Buhari regime is posing on its business and investment community!

4. Great mind, great investment.

May I not miss my helper to my greatness, Amen.

5. Wow, this is a huge one.
    Oluwa bless me biko

6. Can someone fwd his nos? I want to ask him something 🙄

1. If you get dont be stingy babe🤣🤣🤣

2. Your comment made me laugh because I was about to say,Actress and celebrities will start following and stalking him now because this na real fish,as in nnykwu azu no na highsea🤣🤣!
      Zimbabwe go soon turn to Dubai for some of them!