Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Army Generals Reportedly Test Positive For COVID 19

Tuesday, December 15, 2020

Nigerian Army Generals Reportedly Test Positive For COVID 19

The Nigerian Army has disclosed that about 26 Nigerian Army Generals and other senior officers have so far tested positive for COVID-19

Four hundred and seventeen are undergoing COVID-19 test after the General Officer Commanding 6 Division Major General Johnson Olu Irefin, died from COVID-19 complications during the annual Chief of Army Staff Conference in Abuja.

Acting Director Army Public Relations Brigadier General Sagir Musa, in a statement disclosed that they now have, a total of 26 confirmed cases after 417 personnel were tested.

According to the statement, all officers and soldiers working at the Army Headquarters are being tested, while “COVID-19 protocols are being strictly enforced across all units and formations of the NA.”

He disclosed that the entire Army Headquarters complex “was thoroughly fumigated on Saturday 12 December 2020.

The affected senior army officers were attendees of the 2020 Chief of Army Staff Annual Conference at the Nigerian Army Resource Centre in Abuja.

They were said to have had contact with the late Maj-Gen Olu Irefin, who died from Covid-19-related complications last week.

Gen Irefin visited some of his colleagues at home before he attended the conference.

To curtail further spread of the virus, the NCDC directed all the officers who attended the conference and their family members who have been in contact with them to self-isolate for a week.

The army officers were mostly those who came from outside Abuja and have been tested by officials of the NCDC.

The venue of the aborted conference, the Nigerian Army Resource Centre in Asokoro, was decontaminated by health officials at the weekend.

Irefin, who was the General Officer Commanding (GOC) 6 Division of the Army in Port Harcourt, Rivers State, took ill at the 2020 Chief of Army Staff Conference last week and was taken to the hospital. He was tested and found positive for Covid-19. He died while receiving treatment.

from thewillnigeria

7 comments:

1. Since they refused to win bokoharam and keep the country safe, let them remain quarantine.

All of them should remain effected

2. Taking this news with a pinch of salt, there's a bigger picture for people of reasoning

1. Olodo reasoning like you

2. Anonymous 07:40 make sure you STAY SAFE. I do not know who are but do stay safe. COVID is on a full Rampage and killing more people. We have a bad government back home in Nigeria and we must take care of us because the government do not care. My first cousin tested positive and she had gone to visit her classmate who is a colonel in the Army, we are fervently praying for her recovery at home as the isolation centres are not taking in people back home in Abuja Nigeria. my cousin has been so terribly sick locked in her room upstairs, I heard her gasping for breath and screaming illness the phone, I was scared. What an illness. Stay safe.

3. Why are they holding a conference, during a pandemic indoors. They should have had it outside. Was it necessary? Could the COAS, have postponed that conference?? This was very preventable.We should remember that these guys do not drive themselves. They have Drivers, and other Military personnel attached to them. These persons in turn, have family and friends they got in contact with. May God help us.

4. WHO ORDERED THE SHOOTING IN LEKKI TOLL GATE .. Corona virus didn't affect your mouths.. you had better confess now before y'all die and go to hell๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„

1. Dante don rake o!!
      This guy nor follow na.
      He was in PH.
      Una guy de kwarantine.